We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay at Villa Calla”
Review of Villa Calla

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Calla
Ranked #22 of 43 Umhlanga Rocks B&B and Inns
Sharjah, Sharjah, United Arab Emirates
1 review
“Our stay at Villa Calla”
Reviewed 6 June 2012

What a great place to stay and relax for a few days! Our hosts were wonderful. Very genuine people who were always willing to make our stay a truly memorable experience. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    10
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
23
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2012

A superb venue before and after our Comrades experience. Well appointed rooms, great breakfast, nice pool and excellent location are some of the main selling points. However, the best aspect of Villa Calla is the wonderful hospitality of Janelle (the boss) and Calla (the husband) who make the stay special. Traditional hospitality, friendly service and an "open house" approach mean that guests are welcomed warmly. Its great value as well.

Highly recommended for all.

Paul Williams

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

First time to South Africa, to participate in the Comrades. We were made to feel very welcome and part of the family, great facilities, beautiful surroundings and location. Quiet, comfortable and relaxing and just a few minutes walk into Umlangha. It exceeded our expectations and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone who is looking to visit the area. Calla and Janelle great hosts and friends we will be visiting again. Thank you for your hospitality and for such a warm and welcoming experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soccerfit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

This bed and breakfast is very nice. first it is located in Umhlanga, which is on of the nicest neighborhoods around, 10 minutes walk to an amazing beach and to plenty of restaurants and cafes (on Chartwell drive)
the place itself is lovely, i loved all the small hotel-like touches (miniature shampoo, shower gel, body cream, soap), laundry bag in the closet, shower robes, welcome chocolates on the pillow :)
breakfast was good. It has a lovely pool, garden and braai area.
they also have free wifi.
the owner, Janelle, is really welcoming, friendly and lovely.
the only downside for me though, is that the rooms are not very well insulated. we were rather shocked when we were told that some people complained about us being noisy, as we're not the loud type at all! and just the day after, i could hear, from our room, people walking up and down the corridor, keys turning and doors opening and closing, sounds in the kitchen, the clatter of dishes and silverware, people talking, the phone ringing in the reception..., which is fine by me, but this shows that the rooms need better insulation!
and those old keys and locks could really use some renovation!
but other than that, it was a very pleasant stay :)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank DZohni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
215 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

In a pleasant part of town, easy & safe to walk to the beach & some great bars and restaurants. Well appointed b&b with friendly owner. Good breakfasts. Nice quiet garden & pool to chill out. Good value. Gay friendly.

If you are staying in Durban, seriously consider staying in Umhlanga - its a happier & safer place to be & easy to get in to town by car or taxi. Our time here was much nicer than when we stayed in Durban.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen-London-N16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2012

I chose Villa Calla, after a family member recommended it for its "amazing place", access & proximity to shops, the beach & all amenities & it looked great on the website. I used to live in Umhlanga but had never been to Villa Calla..It was EVERYTHING I was told it was. Janelle(a superb & warm owner),her husband Calla & their team were nothing short of a really warm welcome, helpful, a beautifully appointed room & superb breakfasts. It was a fantastic 10 days & I would recommend it to anyone visiting Umhlanga. Thank you one & all at Villa Calla.

Room Tip: I was in room 4, at the end of the passage. Large, well appointed and quiet with access to the garde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Umhlangababe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Cave, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2011

Villa Calla is in an excellent position for walking access to the town and driving access to major routes.
Janelle is a wonderful hostess who looked after us extremely well. The rooms with separate access to the very attractive garden and pool are airy and well equipped. Good to have air conditioning as it was hot & humid during our stay.
Breakfasts are generous with a lovely selection of delicious things to eat.
Pool area very attractive and beautifully maintained as was every area of the B & B.
A must if we come back to this area. Perfect!!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillandhugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban ...
#12 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,726 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
1.0 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Calla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Calla

Property: Villa Calla
Address: 36 Stanley Grace Crescent | 157 Ridge Road, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Calla 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Calla is a beautifully decorated home situated within a safe 5 minute walk from shops, restaurants and Umhlanga's Blue Flag beaches. All rooms have their own patio, air-conditioning, ceiling fans, safes, hairdriers, DSTV, tea/coffee facilities, toiletries, beach/pool towels and are serviced daily. Breakfast is served in the sunny dining area overlooking a sparkling pool. Calla and Janelle have a passion for people and will bend over backwards to assist guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Calla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing