We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice guesthouse with a warm guest”
Review of Villa Calla

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Calla
Ranked #24 of 43 Umhlanga Rocks B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 February 2010

We have spent our last South African night in Umhlanga Rocks. We were looking for a nice guest house for our last day. After some visits, we have stopped our quest in Villa Calla. Janelle welcomes us warmly and the villa was just perfect (beautiful, clean, spacious...). Many thanks to Janelle who help us to spend a great last night and day. It was exactly what we needed.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fabelou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
There are newer reviews for Villa Calla
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2010

We stayed at Villa Calla and highly recommend this lovely B & B for any travellers.

We often travel overseas and the wonderful way the hosts, Janelle, Calla & Carl treat us was fantastic. The rooms are very neat and spacious and the staff members very helpful & friendly. Janelle and her staff really bend backwards for their clients.

If you ever go to Umhlanga Rocks, Villa Calla is defenately the place to stay!!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouiseKwaZulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2010

Awesome service, very nice rooms and great food. A home away from home.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DalisuDube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2010

This is just an e-mail to everyone that made our stay at VIlla Calla pleasant. It felt like home-away-from-home. Your fantastic hospitality made us feel as if we were part of your family.

The facilities were superb and could honestly not find a fault with anything. The location of the bed & breakfast is great. Within walking distance to the beach, shops and restaurants.

Please tell all the ladies that prepared our breakfast with love and care every morning that they are truly amazing. Even though we all came back with a few extra kilos around our bellies.

Good luck with the year ahead, we wish you and your family everything your heart desires.

We will definitely tell all our family and friends about your stunning place.

Love to you all and till we meet again.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NAD3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2009

Having travelled quite a lot (leisure as well as business) ranging from basic to five star accommodations the welcome in Villa Calla was the worst we ever experienced.

We stayed only for one night. When we arrived we were welcomed by (apparently) the manager of Villa Calla. We were fully overpowered by his extreme rudeness and impatience. Before we had any time to get out of the car he was hitting on the boot of our car and pushing us to get out. He gave us no time to take the luggage out of our car (‘…you won’t need that for one night…’). In 2 minutes he showed us our room and the house. When we asked for early breakfast (confirmed by email in advance), he said nothing to know about that. After he disappeared we heard him fulminating in the house. Apparently he was in a very bad mood. However, to our opinion it is fully unacceptable to express this to the guests in such a manner.

The rooms are clean and well equipped. However, the house is rather thin-walled and the airco dripped continuously into the shower. Although located in a quiet area with a nice garden and swimming pool, the distance from the house to the restaurant area of Umhlanga is a bit far for a safe walk by night.

In the morning we met the owner Janelle, she had arranged our early breakfast without any problem. She was really warm and friendly.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank enjoy2travel42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2009

Couldn't wish for a better place to stay. Janelle, family and staff are so helpful nothing too much trouble. Rooms are clean ,well equipped with lovely patios over looking the garden and pool, which guests can use.
The breakfast room well laid out and plenty of choice from continental to a full English breakfast. A well stocked bar for guests and t.v. lounge if you would rather mingle
Villa Calla is only a short stroll from the excellent varied restaurants, shops and beach of Umlhanga, I personally would not at night walk alone to the restaurants but again Janelle has helped us out with a lift. but there is ample parking in the secure grounds.We have stayed with Janelle many times and when we're back in the Durban area Villa Calla is where we will be staying.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dianamfullwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2009

I have stayed very often in Villa Calla and highly recommend this B&B for any travellers.
Janelle, Calla and Carl always looked very well after me and their hospitality is just fantastic.
Carls` Bar is a great meeting point with other travellers and the place to get lots of great informations for your travels and holidays.
Villa Calla is perfectly located in a quiet street in short walking distance to pubs, restaurants, shops and the beach of Umhlanga Rocks.
For me the best B&B in South Africa !

Gerhard

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharky21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.7 mi away
Coastlands Umhlanga
Coastlands Umhlanga
#8 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
347 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Square Boutique Hotel & Spa
The Square Boutique Hotel & Spa
#14 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
219 reviews
0.2 mi away
Anchor's Rest
Anchor's Rest
#1 of 43 in Umhlanga Rocks
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tesorino B&B
Tesorino B&B
#11 of 43 in Umhlanga Rocks
107 reviews
0.9 mi away
Manaar House
Manaar House
#3 of 43 in Umhlanga Rocks
243 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sylvan Grove Guest House
Sylvan Grove Guest House
#9 of 43 in Umhlanga Rocks
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Calla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Calla

Address: 36 Stanley Grace Crescent | 157 Ridge Road, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range: £92 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Calla 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Calla is a beautifully decorated home situated within a safe 5 minute walk from shops, restaurants and Umhlanga's Blue Flag beaches. All rooms have their own patio, air-conditioning, ceiling fans, safes, hairdriers, DSTV, tea/coffee facilities, toiletries, beach/pool towels and are serviced daily. Breakfast is served in the sunny dining area overlooking a sparkling pool. Calla and Janelle have a passion for people and will bend over backwards to assist guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Calla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing