We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food”
Review of Angelos

Angelos
Ranked #24 of 135 Restaurants in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Outstanding service and excellent food although a little pricey. During peak periods best to book ahead as they do get very full

Thank RobynGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre d, Owner at Angelos, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Thank you for the review - much appreciated. Regards, Pierre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

177 - 181 of 213 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2013

We were in Umhlanga and I was looking for a nice restaurant to go and have dinner. Based on the reviews here I decided to make a reservation at Angelo's. I am so glad we did. It is a lovely restaurant with a lot of character and a good ambiance. The service provided by Jaime was very good and he was attentive without being obtrusive. The mussel soup we had for starters was absolutely superb and a good portion for a starter. My wife opted for the baby peri peri chicken and just loved how spicy it was in comparison to many other places she has eaten peri peri chicken. I had the line fish with pesto which was wonderful with an interesting combination of flavors. I am often wary of ordering fish at non seafood restaurants as i often find the fish overcooked but the fish here was cooked to perfection and absolutely melted in the mouth. Our 9 year old son ordered the spinach and ricotta canneloni which is made with fresh lasagne sheets. As they do not offer half portions i ordered the full portion expecting that we would take home some for the next day. Not a chance he loved it so much he ate the whole portion.

I really recommend this restaurant for the quality of the food and attentive service. The only negative comment I can make is that they do not have a kids menu so portion sizes may be large for kids with smaller appetities.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank C0llin69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre d, Owner at Angelos, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Thank you for the review - much appreciated. Regards, Pierre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

I was not sure, having been once for pizza/pasta whether other dishes could be also good , but every thing we tried was actually very good . and an amazing peri-peri flat chicken . really bravo, in an area with many excellent restaurants , for sure a solid reference

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nicolas s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre d, Owner at Angelos, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Thank you for the review - much appreciated. Regards, Pierre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

service very friendly at all times; mgmt tries hard also when no reservations made in advance they will always find to accomodate you

Thank Wolfgang T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre d, Owner at Angelos, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

Thank you for your review - much appreciated. Looking forward to seeing you again. Regards, Pierre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Angelo's Restaurant in Umhlanga Rocks is by far the best Italian restaurant that there is. The food is always excellent, the wine list good and the service superb. There is a great atmosphere both inside and on the outside eating area. The staff will always try and accommodate any special needs or requirements and regulars are welcomed back warmly. You will need to book as the restaurant is usually full. You simply can't go wrong at Angelo's.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cilla R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre d, Owner at Angelos, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

Thank you for your review - much appreciated. Looking forward to seeing you again. Regards, Pierre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Angelos also viewed

Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Angelos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing