We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'm not able to review the food as I couldn't get in”
Review of Angelos

Angelos
Ranked #24 of 131 Restaurants in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Durban, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“I'm not able to review the food as I couldn't get in”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I don't think that this restaurant caters for non-whites. deeply dissapointed that the waiters made it quiet clear that non-whites were not preferred.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mg12034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre d, Owner at Angelos, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
After being in business for more than 20 years, with guests from a every ethnic heritage both locally and internationally, your comment is offensive, slanderous and inappropriate, and does not warrant any further response. Pierre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    77
    18
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“An old favourite”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

This is one of those restaurants where each patron gets familiar with the one or two dishes they most love and stick to it. It is good old Italian comfort food at its best.
The restaurant is conveniently located with ample parking. The service is friendly and attentive. The food speaks for itself.
My personal favourites have to be the seafood risotto and the porcini mushroom risotto.
Elegantly executed dishes that always delight !

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre d, Owner at Angelos, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Thank you for the review - much appreciated. Regards, Pierre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Outstanding service and excellent food although a little pricey. During peak periods best to book ahead as they do get very full

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank RobynGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre d, Owner at Angelos, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Thank you for the review - much appreciated. Regards, Pierre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
“A Little Gem in Umhlanga”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We were in Umhlanga and I was looking for a nice restaurant to go and have dinner. Based on the reviews here I decided to make a reservation at Angelo's. I am so glad we did. It is a lovely restaurant with a lot of character and a good ambiance. The service provided by Jaime was very good and he was attentive without being obtrusive. The mussel soup we had for starters was absolutely superb and a good portion for a starter. My wife opted for the baby peri peri chicken and just loved how spicy it was in comparison to many other places she has eaten peri peri chicken. I had the line fish with pesto which was wonderful with an interesting combination of flavors. I am often wary of ordering fish at non seafood restaurants as i often find the fish overcooked but the fish here was cooked to perfection and absolutely melted in the mouth. Our 9 year old son ordered the spinach and ricotta canneloni which is made with fresh lasagne sheets. As they do not offer half portions i ordered the full portion expecting that we would take home some for the next day. Not a chance he loved it so much he ate the whole portion.

I really recommend this restaurant for the quality of the food and attentive service. The only negative comment I can make is that they do not have a kids menu so portion sizes may be large for kids with smaller appetities.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank C0llin69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre d, Owner at Angelos, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Thank you for the review - much appreciated. Regards, Pierre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
1,384 reviews
915 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 456 helpful votes
“very good lunch, not just pasta also peri peri chicken”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

I was not sure, having been once for pizza/pasta whether other dishes could be also good , but every thing we tried was actually very good . and an amazing peri-peri flat chicken . really bravo, in an area with many excellent restaurants , for sure a solid reference

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nicolas s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre d, Owner at Angelos, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Thank you for the review - much appreciated. Regards, Pierre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Angelos also viewed

Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Angelos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing