We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant”
Review of Angelos

Angelos
Ranked #24 of 131 Restaurants in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My partner and I have been living in Umhlanga for 4 months and we really rate this restaurant. We find that many of the Umhlanga restaurants lack atmosphere, which Angelo's has in bucket loads. We've never had a bad meal and the seafood risotto is one of our fave dishes, loads of really tasty seafood and a delicious sauce - my only complaint is it is so fab I always end up finishing the huge portion and suffering from the over indulgence! And for a bit of fun and English reminiscing try the Knicker Bocker Glory - it won't disappoint! Overall good food, friendly service and a lovely vibe.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemaki1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre d, Owner at Angelos, responded to this review, 25 September 2014
Thank you for your great review !!

Kind regards,

Pierre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    78
    19
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Jhb
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Another little gem in Umhlanga”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The food here for us has always been great and although it has been around for some time, the meals we have had have been pretty consistent. I am not one for kids running around at a restaurant but on a perfect summers night, the kids get a chance to play in the courtyard and at least get customers to enjoy a meal without kids moaning at the table :-)

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre d, Owner at Angelos, responded to this review, 25 September 2014
Hi Tina,

Thank you for your great review.

Kind regards,

Pierre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umhlanga Rocks, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not worth it”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We visited this restuarant on Friday evening 23 May, and the experience was not exactly memorable. Starter shared of peri peri chicken liver was not peri peri, and the additional bread requested was plain as opposed to toasted. Our pizza ordered was tasteless, full of tomatoe and not pleasant.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anver B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre d, Owner at Angelos, responded to this review, 25 September 2014
Dear Anver,

Thank you for your review.

I am disappointed that you did not enjoy your meal and that our hostess or my manager on the evening was not aware, as we would have rectified your dishes right away.

Nevertheless I hope you do try us again.

Regards,
Pierre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Tasty food & good staff”
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Had eaten here once before and not loved it, but had heard such good reviews, we decided to give it another chance. I'm glad we did. I think maybe we were just grumpy last time, as this visit Angelos was fab. Tasty food (great pasta recommended by our waiter). My husband had a delicious pizza (the house one). The waiter was good, and the place was very busy. We will be back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Icklesar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre d, Owner at Angelos, responded to this review, 25 September 2014
Thank you for your review.

I'm pleased you decided to give us another try and had a good meal.

Kind regards,

Pierre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The best peri peri chicken in the world!”
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Been going to this restaurant for many years. The service is great, atmosphere warm and welcoming and the prices are fair.

I've never been overly impressed with their pizzas but their meat dishes and wine selection are great.

The best thing on the menu is their peri peri baby chicken. Mouthwatering!!!!

Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre d, Owner at Angelos, responded to this review, 25 September 2014
Thank you for your review David

Very pleased you enjoy our Peri Peri Chicken.

Kind regards,
Pierre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Angelos also viewed

Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Angelos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing