We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely weekend get-away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Umbrella Tree House
Ranked #11 of 43 Umhlanga Rocks B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Spent one night as a couple at the Umbrella Tree House in Umhlanga. The owner Lesley, was a wonderful dynamic host and personally cooked the breakfasts. Room was very comfortable with Satellite television and a balcony with lovely sea views. I can definitely recommend a stay at this establishment as it is close to Gateway Theater of Shopping, and bathing beaches.
Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheLubbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LesPats, Owner at Umbrella Tree House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2013

Thanks so much for the review! It was lovely having you. All the best with the little newcomer :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2013

Comfortable and pleasant rooms opening onto a balcony and lovely views over Umhlanga Rocks and the sea beyond. A short drive down to the beach and shorefront promenades. The hosts are friendly and efficient. Price includes a delicious breakfast with fresh fruit and good coffee!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jeanette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

I recently attended a conference in Umhlanga and stayed overnight at Umbrella tree. What a treat. I was just sorry the visit was so short . Lesley as very friendly and had a delicious brekkie. The view from the rooms was amazing with a lovely sunrise. Close to all needs. Even managed a walk along the promenade. Must visit again. But on a holiday.........Excellent directions.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Hayley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LesPats, Owner at Umbrella Tree House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2013

Thanks so much for the lovely review. Next time you will have to come for longer :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Whenever people form our company travel, Umbrella Tree house is always the first choice. The location is ideal and the owner, Lesley, always ensures that everyone is at ease and enjoying the stay. We will most certainly check in at Umbrella Tree house when next we travel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank cornedejager1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LesPats, Owner at Umbrella Tree House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2013

Thank you so much for the lovely review - my first corporate review, so that's great! I have so many corporate regulars and it's lovely now to have a review from one of my regulars. It's always a pleasure to have you guys - you are lovely easy guests :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Umbrella Tree House, because we were welcomed and shown our room in a friendly and personal way.
The room was neat, clean and cozy. The bedding was grand.
We liked the balcony, to watch the sunrise and the lovely breakfast on the deck.
We only stayed one night, but it was a lovely experience. Thanks!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Thomas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LesPats, Owner at Umbrella Tree House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2013

I am so glad you had a 'lovely experience'. It's what I like to hear from my guests :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Great view, stunning room, Lovely host! We had the best time. The Umbrella Tree House really made us feel at home (in a good way). Very cosy, comfortable, modern and unique. Thank you for having us Lesley! xx


  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank TarynC626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LesPats, Owner at Umbrella Tree House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2013

Thanks so much for the review. It was a pleasure having you! Do come again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

A wonderful retreat into the suburbs of Umhlanga Rocks, Durban, SA
Exceptional service: being personally looked after by the owner, always a recipe for success!
Stunning views over the ocean from all the rooms all of which have balconies
Our unit was in tip-top condition, clean and neat, nice comfy bed.
5 min by car to the beach and amenities. Huge shopping centre (Gateway) 10 min away)
Only 1 minor hassle (not the owner's fault): security parking has steep, difficult access

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MikeO568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LesPats, Owner at Umbrella Tree House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2013

Thanks so much for your lovely review. I am really happy that you enjoyed your stay. I loved having you guys stay here and thoroughly enjoyed the company. We had some wonderful chats :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
0.9 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
380 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,920 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,157 reviews
0.1 mi away
HoneyPot B&B
HoneyPot B&B
#6 of 43 in Umhlanga Rocks
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Umbrella Tree House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umbrella Tree House

Address: 37 Hilken Drive, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range: £44 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Umbrella Tree House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely self-contained B&B, separate from main house. We offer a clean, comfortable and relaxed stay in the heart of Umhlanga. Close to all main attractions and business areas. All three en-suite bedrooms have beautiful sea views, TV, aircon and ceiling fans. Other perks include swimming pool, DSTV, laundry service, tea & coffee, secure parking, internet access, wireless hotspot. Delicious full breakfasts served. Separate 1 roomed suite has its own kitchen and en-suite bathroom with separate bath and walk-in shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Umbrella Tree House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing