We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Umbrella Tree House
Ranked #12 of 43 Umhlanga Rocks B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2014

it was great, lovely breakfast, amazing scenery, Owner was a lovely host, checked up on each of the guests, made sure everything was running smoothly and she was very proffessional....
Im sure i will be going back there again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank TsepoM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LesPats, Owner at Umbrella Tree House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Thanks for the lovely review Tsepo, I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Really wonderful to know that guests have a good time :) Come again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed here for three nights as part of a little tour of SA. Even from the initial booking, at short notice, Lesley was so helpful in making sure everything was sorted for us, as we were travelling with a young baby. We were going self catering, and the from we had was fantastic. As soon as we entered we were in a nice, light, airy room which was big, with nice decor and a huge bathroom and lovely little kitchen. The room was just right for a hot coastal type location, and what was even more impressive, was that there were no rough edges. No little broken things, not dirt, mould, chipped tiles, just clean and well decorated, and we felt like home from home. As people say it is close to Umhlanga and is definitely within walking distance. I've not tried Lesley's breakfasts, but if they're half as good as her hospitality then they should be good. Can't praise Lesley or this place highly enough, a perfect stop for our first visit to Umhlanga. Will definitely return one day!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John_England78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LesPats, Owner at Umbrella Tree House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

What lovely feedback, thank you so much John, for taking the time and trouble to do a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much - I didn't see much of you guys and wasn't sure, but it's really good to hear that you were happy. I would love to see you here again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Umbrella Tree House was the best i fell inlove all over again with the love of my life, the service was Excellent i really have no complains ...Thanks again Lesley and Janine you guys really Rock.......

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lucinda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LesPats, Owner at Umbrella Tree House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

How great to hear that you had such a wonderful experience of falling in love again while staying here! We must be doing something right :) It was lovely having you Lucinda, hope to see you again some day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

A very nice B&B with nice spacious rooms, excellent breakfast en service and a nice garden.
If you come by car you can park it in the garage.
Owners are very helpfull with bookings of trips and restaurants for dinner.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Alex P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LesPats, Owner at Umbrella Tree House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Hi Alex, Thanks for the review, hope we see you again someday :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Very pleasant room with a small kitchen attached which we didn't expect to have . Close to the village and the sea, so good for restaurants and being able to walk the beach. Breakfast was good ,with nice fruit and then a cooked breakfast should you want . Lesley and Neil were great hosts, and good to talk to, and offer recommendations on where to eat etc,

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank joybelle21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LesPats, Owner at Umbrella Tree House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thanks Joy for your lovely review. I really enjoyed having you and John stay here. Loved the chats and I really do hope we see you again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

This is the only B & B I've returned to, despite there being several others at pretty much the same location. The main reason - the hostess. Ever so helpful, ever so easy to chat to. Great.

On the practical side of things, it does have walking distance to shops, reasturants and beach, the least noisy A/C I encountered on this trip, and decently thick drapes/curtains to keep the light out after sunup.
Nice view from the balcony on each room.
The room was clean and in good condition, but then again they usually are, so that's tough to compete with. Breakfast service was also good, with maybe a tad better choice of fruit than usual. I happily stuffed my face each morning.

The only weak spot I can come up with is that parking is at a bit of a slope, so if your parking brake is weak, things might get interesting. But I'm fully convinced that Lesley would find a way to make that work as well.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LesPats, Owner at Umbrella Tree House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

David, thank you for such a lovely review! I am always delighted to have our overseas guests coming back because I know that the choice is vast and most people would like a different experience. So it 's a great compliment that you enjoyed your first stay enough to come back. And I'm delighted that you enjoyed your second stay too!! I love the chatting, as I'm sure you know. And, haha, yes, that driveway - I've thought of putting in posts so that people can just rest their cars against them without worrying. Maybe we will still do that. Of course, to us the driveway is quite a gentle slope - you should see some of them in Durban :) Hope we see you again one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights and we felt us very good. The view over Umhlanga
was stunning. We enjoyed the breakfast and the walk down to the village. So we
didn't use the car, when we went out at night.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank brumar21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LesPats, Owner at Umbrella Tree House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Thanks for the review Marlise - very happy that you enjoyed your stay :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
0.9 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
365 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
413 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,119 reviews
0.9 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Umbrella Tree House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umbrella Tree House

Address: 37 Hilken Drive, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range: £46 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Umbrella Tree House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely self-contained B&B, separate from main house. We offer a clean, comfortable and relaxed stay in the heart of Umhlanga. Close to all main attractions and business areas. All three en-suite bedrooms have beautiful sea views, TV, aircon and ceiling fans. Other perks include swimming pool, DSTV, laundry service, tea & coffee, secure parking, internet access, wireless hotspot. Delicious full breakfasts served. Separate 1 roomed suite has its own kitchen and en-suite bathroom with separate bath and walk-in shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Umbrella Tree House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing