We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Amazian Mountain River Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$97
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$396
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$173
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$167
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Brahman Hills Hotel & Spa(Nottingham Road)
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveller rating
45
13
5
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
45
13
5
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsa great place to stay whenoutstanding foodoxtailbrentpasssaniriverdrakensberg
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 67 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Amazian is an exquisite couple's retreat, I would recommend it to anyone; the food is out of this word; be sure to sign up for the wine pairing lunch at the cellar it's a lovely informative yet relaxed experience.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MphoLerato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Dear Trudie and Brent.
I just want to thank you for the wonderful stay my family and I had at the end of September last year. We were a group of Norwegians celebrating my 80-years birthday with a tour round South-Africa arranged by Get Africa Travel. We enjoyed every minute of the Drakensberg experience. The calm and beautiful landscape that surrounded Amazian Mountain River Lodge, along with excellent food and wine, the warm welcome and utmost care from you and your staff gave us all everlasting good memories. Our trip to Lesotho took us through breathtaking scenery, and the people there, in their stonehuts, showed us a very different way of life. Apart from their modern clothing, their life could be compared to the way Norwegian farmers lived in the 16th. century. Although the Norwegians lived in the valleys and the lowland, not "on top of the world". I can speak on behalf of the whole group, we were all delighted with your warmth and hospitality. And, it is a pity your wine gallery is so far away! The bottle of dessertwine you presented me with, has been perfect for Christmas.

I wish you a Happy and prosperous New Year.

Ragnhild Lavik and the Norwegian Group.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ragnhild L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

What a great long weekend spent in beautiful surroundings. Amazing view and excellent food. So peaceful. Friendly hosts. Had a very professional massage as well. Unforgettable experience. Ideal couples breakaway destination as no kids are allowed.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brents874, Owner at Amazian Mountain River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2013

Dear Michelle and Leon

Lovely having you folks here, thanks for the great comments and enjoy your wine

Regards

Brent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

What more can one ask for in weekend accommodation , the very first thing that comes to mind thinking back to our weekend at Amazian Mountain River Lodge must be the exquisite FOOD and of course the great selection of wines . Our hosts and owners of the lodge are greatly people's people and very good company , especially at dinner time . We sincerely can not wait for our next stay over and will refer Amazian to anyone whom is looking for a relaxing , no noisy children , good food and wine get away . Thank you guys , we really enjoyed our selfs .

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adele Wicus F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

A disappointing stay. Although the food was delicious the rates are very overpriced for what you get. The rooms are clean but average. Bats in the roof that squeak most of the night make it difficult to get a good night's sleep. The snacks provided for purchase in the room were expired. Friendly hosts, however better value for money can be found elsewhere. Not the luxurious treat we were expecting.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank anonymous143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brents874, Owner at Amazian Mountain River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2013

Dear Sir

Thank you for taking the time to review your one night stay at Amazian Lodge. As a young couple we do understand the constraints of having a limit budget.
As you are aware our pricing of approx $ 100 per person per night including dinner, bed and breakfast is very much market related. As discussed we are not able to offer the same accommodation at $50 per person and we do understand that it is very important to carefully read quotations received.

Your Sincerely

Brent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews