We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amazian Mountain River Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Amazian Mountain River Lodge
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Had a wonderful stay at Amazian for 2 nights, it is a beautiful place, clean and neat, very well kept!. Trudie cooks 5 stars and Brent is a great host, we climbed the Sani Pass with our car and drove Nothingham Road, great nature with breathtaking views, sure a place to come back!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank oanejansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brents874, Owner at Amazian Mountain River Lodge, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Oâne and Baukje


Lovely meeting you folks and thank you for the wonderful feedback

Kind Regards

Brent and Trudie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    12
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
2
44
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

The accommodation (and food!) highlight of our 8 day Drakensberg Escape was definitely our stay at Amazian Mountain River Lodge and meeting Trudie and Brent. We were spoiled with excellent food and lovely company.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KMlovetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brents874, Owner at Amazian Mountain River Lodge, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Karen

Thanks you for giving us such a great review, hope you folks enjoyed the rest of your holiday. Hope you had a good trip through the cape wine routes

Kind Regards


Brent and Trudie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

We booked a last minute weekend away to relax and unwind. Amazian far surpassed all expectations. The food was delicious, every evening being a three course meal paired with tasty wines and every morning a different breakfast. Baked goodies and snacks were always tempting us in the dining area along with tea and coffee, beautiful views and plenty of space to relax. Our room was lovely and clean, complete with spa bath and thoughtful bits and pieces to ensure that we wanted for nothing. The wine pairing lunch was a huge highlight and besides thoroughly enjoying the experience, we learnt a great deal as we were guided through how and why to pair certain wines with certain foods. We had a wonderful time with some of the other guests, just chatting and relaxing at the main lodge area. Most notable though was the hospitality of our hosts Brent and Trudie. They go out of their way to make each couple's stay personalised so, should you have the pleasure of staying at Amazian, be sure to engage in some fascinating conversation with these awesome people. Thank you guys for a great weekend, it was just what we needed and we were sad to say goodbye so soon!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KeriThomson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brents874, Owner at Amazian Mountain River Lodge, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Dear Keri and Barry

Really great meeting you folks and thank you for such a fantastic review, its so appreciated

Kind Regards

Brent and Trudie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Amazian is an exquisite couple's retreat, I would recommend it to anyone; the food is out of this word; be sure to sign up for the wine pairing lunch at the cellar it's a lovely informative yet relaxed experience.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MphoLerato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandvika, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Dear Trudie and Brent.
I just want to thank you for the wonderful stay my family and I had at the end of September last year. We were a group of Norwegians celebrating my 80-years birthday with a tour round South-Africa arranged by Get Africa Travel. We enjoyed every minute of the Drakensberg experience. The calm and beautiful landscape that surrounded Amazian Mountain River Lodge, along with excellent food and wine, the warm welcome and utmost care from you and your staff gave us all everlasting good memories. Our trip to Lesotho took us through breathtaking scenery, and the people there, in their stonehuts, showed us a very different way of life. Apart from their modern clothing, their life could be compared to the way Norwegian farmers lived in the 16th. century. Although the Norwegians lived in the valleys and the lowland, not "on top of the world". I can speak on behalf of the whole group, we were all delighted with your warmth and hospitality. And, it is a pity your wine gallery is so far away! The bottle of dessertwine you presented me with, has been perfect for Christmas.

I wish you a Happy and prosperous New Year.

Ragnhild Lavik and the Norwegian Group.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ragnhild L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

What a great long weekend spent in beautiful surroundings. Amazing view and excellent food. So peaceful. Friendly hosts. Had a very professional massage as well. Unforgettable experience. Ideal couples breakaway destination as no kids are allowed.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brents874, Owner at Amazian Mountain River Lodge, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Dear Michelle and Leon

Lovely having you folks here, thanks for the great comments and enjoy your wine

Regards

Brent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richards Bay, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

What more can one ask for in weekend accommodation , the very first thing that comes to mind thinking back to our weekend at Amazian Mountain River Lodge must be the exquisite FOOD and of course the great selection of wines . Our hosts and owners of the lodge are greatly people's people and very good company , especially at dinner time . We sincerely can not wait for our next stay over and will refer Amazian to anyone whom is looking for a relaxing , no noisy children , good food and wine get away . Thank you guys , we really enjoyed our selfs .

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adele Wicus F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Underberg
15.8 mi away
Sani Valley Lodge and Hotel
22.0 mi away
Gooderson Drakensberg Gardens Golf & Spa Resort
0.5 mi away
Umzimkulu River Lodge
Umzimkulu River Lodge
#2 of 18 in Underberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
Lake Naverone Holiday Cottages
12.7 mi away
Khotso Adventure Farm
Khotso Adventure Farm
#3 of 18 in Underberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
20.8 mi away
Bushmans Nek Berg & Trout Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amazian Mountain River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amazian Mountain River Lodge

Property: Amazian Mountain River Lodge
Address: Coleford Road, Underberg, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Underberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Underberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Amazian Mountain River Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Break away to Amazian Mountain River lodge in a Malaria free area, escape from the hustle and bustle of the city life and get pampered with personalized service in the ultimate tranquil surroundings at Amazian Mountain River Lodge. Amazian Mountain River Lodge is a privately owned lodge situated in the Southern Drakensberg, near the uKhahlamba World Heritage Site and Sanis Pass. the lodge is situated on the Umzimkulu river in a pristine valley Amazian Mountain River Lodge has a soft unobtrusive African theme taking rustic to the luxury levels. We pamper and spoil you. Amazian is the perfect place for a romantic Honeymoon. Escape to be de-stressed and recharged. We don't allow children, as this is a haven in order to rekindle your relationship with your partner or to just have a romantic "Spoil Yourself" break-away. Become one with nature and take timeout for yourself! Amazian Mountain River Lodge has seven rooms with ensuite spa baths The lodge in conjunction with its partners offers tours up the Legendary Sani Pass Have fun at night by meeting on our deck for sun downers. Amazian Mountain River Lodge offers a variety of activities from Aromatherapy Treatments, Romantic Horse Riding excursions, Quad Bike Picnics, hiking trails, walks and tubing on 4 KM river frontage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Amazian Mountain River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amazian Mountain River Lodge South Africa/Underberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing