We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful, relaxing holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pennygum Country Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pennygum Country Cottages
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A wonderful, relaxing holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

The beautiful scenery and surrounds of the Southern Berg are only surpassed by the wonderfully warm welcome we received from Paul and Sarah. We spent 3 nights in the African Dreams Cottage in July and felt completely relaxed and rested on our return home. The cottage was well appointed, with the spare linen and electric blanket making a big difference for the cold nights. The fireplace was an absolute treat and warmed up the main room unbelievably well! The huge welcome and warm hospitality added the final touch to a must stay in this beautiful part of the world!

Room Tip: Not sure about the rest, but the African Dreams Cottage is certainly a nice option for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berwynllangollen, Owner at Pennygum Country Cottages, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Delighted you both had a lovely time - we really enjoyed meeting you and hope you will come back again soon! Glad you enjoyed a cosy fire!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    10
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
25
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glenwood, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

My husband and I have been to Pennygum a few times and we always enjoy our stay thoroughly. Everyone is always so friendly and helpful. The cottages are beautifully decorated and all so unique. Every effort is made to assure that your stay is a good one. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Lavender is an amazing cottage with the most enormous Victorian bath. Fantastic choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roxanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pennygum-cottages, Owner at Pennygum Country Cottages, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
So delighted you enjoy visiting us! We love having you! see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013

My girlfriend and i stayed hear for 3 nights in early May, and what a wonderful place to stay. The views from the African Dreams lodge are amazing. The hosts Sarah and Paul were very helpful and pleasant to chat to. Admittedly it was cold, but the logs for the fire certainly helped!! It was weird having frosts in the morning and then sun-bathing in the afternoon. If you want to do the Sani Pass tour they can organise this for you. A great place to relax for a few days, i would highly recommend staying here.
William & Sarah (United Kingdom)

Room Tip: African Dreams is ideal to stay in, if a little dated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pennygum-cottages, Owner at Pennygum Country Cottages, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
So pleased you enjoyed your stay - we loved having you - hope you will be back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

My husband and I stayed in the African Dreams cottage last weekend and enjoyed it immensely. We were met with a big hug from our hosts Paul and Sarah who could not have been more helpful or accommodating and gave us great advice re places to visit and local restaurants that would welcome our little dogs. The surrounding views were absolutely stunning, what a beautiful part of the world. Perfect for a little weekend getaway!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katy D D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grahamstown, Eastern Cape
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

After a terrible couple of days on the road! The big hug from Sarah on arrival and the beautiful view of the Berg, made our holiday finally feel real! What an amazing little family cottage we stayed in, the view WOW, it was cozy, lovely decorated and just close enough to town if we needed supplies! Thank you for an awesome stay, next time we will come for longer!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ulovane1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kfar-Saba, Israel
Level Contributor
207 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in Pennygum cottage. It's the beginning of the winter and it happened that our two nights were cold and raining. Paul and Sara welcomed us and they are lovely people. The cottage is quite nice and spacious. A bed room, living room, kitchen and two bath rooms. Very convenient.
With that, since it was very cold outside, it was freezing inside. There is a fire place, but it hardly warms a limited radius around it. The bed room and the bath rooms are freezing. There is kind of a plate on the wall in the bed room that is supposed to warm, but you would not even notice that it is turned on.
After the first night when we told Paul that it was freezing he told us that there is an electrical blanket in the bad. We could not have known it ourselves and I wished they would have told us about it when we arrived, anyhow it does not help when you want to take a shower and the room is very cold.
We went to the near shop and bought warm cloths to sleep in at night and that helped a bit.
It would have been logical to expect that there will be some heating device in the bathroom and in the bed room that will help dealing with the cold.
So from our point of view, there is no doubt that the place is nice, Paul and Sara are lovely, very helpful and welcoming, the view is beautiful but.... For us, it was a chilling experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iritv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pennygum-cottages, Owner at Pennygum Country Cottages, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
So lovely to meet you and so very sorry you picked probably one of the only really cold and wet weekends of the year - there was a gas fire you could have borrowed as indicated in our welcome pack but it was such a shame you couldn't get out into the beautiful countryside because of the weather- hope you had a lovely rest of your holiday
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torremolinos, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

The welcome we recieved from Paul & Sarah was wondeful, location accomodation views & most important hosts perfect, cottages spotless, also plenty to do & see in the area with lots of good places to go out to eat, White water rafting & tubing available at pennygum ,loads of fun for all the family,Paul & Sarah will also arrange other trips for you if you request them including a trip up the Sani pass.We were only able to stay 4 nights but we will be back for another visit asap. Pennygum is a must visit location on your trip to South Africa.

Room Tip: E mail Paul & Sarah & they will sort out accomodation to suit your needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Underberg
15.8 mi away
Sani Valley Lodge and Hotel
1.7 mi away
Gooderson Drakensberg Gardens Golf & Spa Resort
3.2 mi away
Lake Naverone Holiday Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
The Old Hatchery
The Old Hatchery
#2 of 12 in Underberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
12.8 mi away
Khotso Adventure Farm
Khotso Adventure Farm
#3 of 18 in Underberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
24.0 mi away
Umzimkulu River Lodge
Umzimkulu River Lodge
#2 of 18 in Underberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pennygum Country Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pennygum Country Cottages

Property: Pennygum Country Cottages
Address: Off Drakensberg Gardens Road, Underberg 3257, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Underberg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Underberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pennygum Country Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pennygum Cottages are a fabulous base to explore the Southern Drakensberg Mountains in South Africa. Our 4 cottages are set in beautiful gardens and apple orchards in 10 acres of land with stunning views of the berg from each cottage. The cottages are well equipped for self catering - our African Dreams is a thatched rondavel 'honeymoon cottage' which sleeps 2-4, our Lavender Cottage sleeps 4 and 2 children, Apple sleeps 6-8 and our Family Cottage set in its own garden with a private drive sleeps 10. All have braai areas and sitting out areas. Most cottages have fireplaces for cold winter nights and also all have DVD players with complementary DVDs. There is a splash pool in Summer and also rafting and tubing on site in season. There is a small children's play area and daily maid service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pennygum Country Cottages South Africa/Underberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing