We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hospitality with service to match!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pile-Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 12 Underberg B&B and Inns
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hospitality with service to match!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2010

Lovely home style lodging with excellent service, hospitality and cheerfull fireplace, including the best duvet's! Thanks Sue and Ian for a lovely holiday.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank isiisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    10
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
11
28
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Den Bosch
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2010

We felt really at home in Ian and Sues house. Ian and Sue gave us a lot of good tips to see and do in the neighbourhood. The delicious breakfast and the time they took for us, made us feel like friends.

Jozette and Peter

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo-zet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2010

Unfortunately, we were only able to stay with Ian and Sue for one night, but from the moment we pulled into the driveway and were greeted with warm and friendly greetings, we knew it was the right place to be. The accommodations for the adults and children was wonderful - it felt like being at home! Wish we would have had more time in the area, as it is a wonderful base location to see the beautiful Underberg (Southern Drakensberg) and Sani Pass/Lesotho area. Many thanks again! Hope to return someday down the road - but this time stay longer!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Worldtravellers_05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2010

We used the Pile-Inn as a base for exploring the Southern Drakensberg and travelling over the Sani Pass into Lesotho. We found it excellent value for money. Our 2 night stay was part of a road trip across SA. Pile-Inn was clearly the best value for money from all the places we stayed in. The room was extremely comfortable, the hosts tended to our every need.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank desiganCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2009

The Pile-Inn B&B is a wonderful place to stay when visiting Underberg in the Drakensberg region. A warm welcome at a very early time in the morning. Our room already available and the comfort of a loverly dinner in the evening. A charming hostess and a pleasant room. We enjoyed the verandah at sunset and the nice garden around. A place to come back to.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tunis59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Surrey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2009

We stayed for two nights at Pile Inn. The room was very comfortable, the bathroom was spacious and had a good strong shower. The decor was that of an expensive "boutique" hotel and the food was presented besutifully and tasted just as good.
We would recommend the establishment to anyone travelling to the area.
We thought Underberg was the most relaxing and chilled town we visited in SA.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhD999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2009

I found the Pile-Inn online and was delighted that it more than matched the website. The view was magnificent, the room lovely, the great room (heated in mid-winter) was gracious. The hosts were wonderfully accommodating. I will recommend it to friends both Canadian and American.

Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank 2009Canadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Underberg
8.6 mi away
Sani Valley Lodge and Hotel
15.8 mi away
Gooderson Drakensberg Gardens Golf & Spa Resort
17.5 mi away
Khotso Adventure Farm
Khotso Adventure Farm
#4 of 19 in Underberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Old Hatchery
The Old Hatchery
#2 of 12 in Underberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.9 mi away
No photo provided
Douglas Drift Cottages
#9 of 12 in Underberg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
4.3 mi away
Malachite Manor
Malachite Manor
#3 of 19 in Underberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pile-Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pile-Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Pile-Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 27 Old Main Road, Underberg 3257, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Underberg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Underberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pile-Inn Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pile-Inn achieved AA Awards, Semi Finalist, based purely on guest comments. Perfectly situated on the outskirts of Underberg, we ensure a memorable and relaxed stay. Tours into Lesotho now available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Pile-Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pile-Inn Bed And Breakfast South Africa/Underberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing