We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fairways @ Drakensberg Gardens Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gooderson Drakensberg Gardens Golf & Spa Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Underberg
Reviewed 15 May 2014

The timeshare apartment at Fairways was excellent. Well appointed, kitchen included a washing machine plus a tumble drier, and the furnishings had been recently updated. Our unit overlooked the immaculate golf course ... and of course, those magnificent mountains! Although we walked around the hotel and looked at the restaurants on site, we didn't use those facilities. We did, however, take advantage of a "special" which was offered at the Spa, and we received far more than we had expected, so came out of there feeling totally pampered and mellow. The walks in the area are stunning, especially walking to Hippo Pools, and through the forest and along the riverside. Although we did not have children with us, we were pleasantly surprised at how well families are catered for on the resort. Also, since last there, they appear to be giving the bowling green a little more TLC, as it had been in quite a state on our last visit. Fairways is a place to escape to and breathe in the beautiful mountain air ... good for the soul !

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Val B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 271 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2014

We have been coming to this resort for many years and we own a week of timeshare at Fairways which is always great. Although money has been spent on the hotel in recent years and the changes in e.g putt putt and the cycle tracks are great, the hotel needs a pick me up! The staff, as always are great. Special mention needs to be made of Reggie up at Glengary, who is always pleasant and really makes an effort! We also found it disappointing that the restaurants are not always open when you want to make a booking. We stayed a week and were unable to get into the Bergview restaurant at the pool because it only opens on a Monday evening and because of its size, was fully booked! Fairways Timeshare units could also do with a bit of a revamp - the TVs are old and the furniture is looking a bit tired! Still a great getaway though!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny-Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Our getaway was suppose to be relaxing but turned out to be everything except. It was firstly a battle to get confirmation of our booking from Seshnie. Upon our arrival we could not check in as the worker with the key was on lunch. Beauty did not know what a mountain facing room was which is advertised on the website. I cringed when I looked at the carpet in our room which was filthy and was the headboard covered in dust. We were met by a grumpy barman at the Buck and Trout who clearly did not enjoy his job. We slept in room M01 and was woken the next morning by moving chairs on the terrace right above us and could we not sleep in. Whilst having breakfast we had to listen to the phone in reception ringing constantly which no one attempted to pick it up. We later returned to a untidy room and were told that it was not cleaned because we had the only key. The heated pool was cold as were the jacuzzis. We played bowls but were not given chalk and a duster to keep score with.The person who took us horse riding was just as miserable and was the intermediate class a beginner class. Whilst packing, I found someone's underwear under the bed. The only good experience we had was checking out

Room Tip: Do not believe what you see on line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank chantel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

It is a very nice place, especially for the families with young kids. we stayed in a very close room to the reception. Our room was very clean but the furniture was old. Floor was heated. We enjoyed the dinner, many options and delicious. Kids had so much fun at mini golf, pony ride. we also hired a boat but there was no kiddies life jacket. We really liked our stay and recommend you visit this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darla_76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

What a really disappointing visit and we were really looking forward to enjoying my wife's celebratory Big 50 Birthday here.
We stayed at Giants Castle prior to this for 3 nights which was absolute bliss, in a self-catering chalet, and now looked forward to being spoilt and served in one of the restaurants advertised on their website.
On booking in, the Receptionist seemed very confused with our booking which we had secured and paid for via otel.com - who I highly recommend. I found my booking vouchers which I had printed out so I was able to confirm all arrangements.

We were also booked in for 3 nights here, Saturday, Sunday and Monday. Saturday was a little busy with weekend family groups but this all fizzled around 9pm. Sunday had most weekend family groups checking out and it was lovely and quiet. Monday evening right through to 3:45 am was absolutely disastrous. The Hotel had been booked out for a "Spar conference/party" which was created so much noise pollution in what should have been a peaceful nature/mountain setting. Music rocked from the main building till approx. 3am and then the shuttle service in golf cars continued for a good half hour after that.

I was asked to fill in a form the following morning at Reception and I noted my dissatisfaction and to date I have not been contacted by concerned Management. I place the responsibility fair and square on managements shoulders for this very distasteful and non-caring attitude. It would have been so simple to have avoided unhappy guests (and I know for a fact that we were not the only unhappy guests) by advising the Hotel Reservations that this conference/party was taking place and not to take couples (young or old) bookings as noise will be a problem for those people hoping to spend some quality time away from the hustle and bustle of City life.

Apart from this the only place on the property to have meals was the main restaurant which has no ambiance and the food is very plain and nothing to write home about. The room too was very basic and only had a door that opened onto a small balcony for ventilation - the only other window was a small bathroom fan window, so there was no airflow in the room and we were forced to sleep with the door open as there are no aircons in any of the rooms (according to Front of Office staff) and there was not even a fan provided.

Never again will we return to this Hotel nor will we recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HappyChappie2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

There were so many activities to choose from that every member of the family had something to keep them happy for the full 7 days, which was great because my planned activity for the week was avoid the family and get some much needed relaxation. Thank goodness for the staff who were superb, from the cleaners who were friendly and efficient, (aka I did not have a lift a finger) to Nicholas (carvery chef) and James (head of food and beverage) who went out of their way to help a fussy 4 year old with his favorite dinner (2 tantrums avoided). Then there was Jo who made us all feel welcome in the shop and more importantly kept me in a steady supply of chocolate. Last but not least, Gareth, who was brilliant, he is kindergarten for husbands and teenagers. Both had equally great time and both were thoroughly entertained and both were out of my hair. I would highly recommend you visit this hotel. Well done to management for putting such a great team together.

Room Tip: The hotel has timeshare and you can pick up some really great deals searching to web. We were in Mou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vanessa_Durban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed here for two nights as part of a tour of South Africa with Thompsons Africa. We were in Riverside Room 93 which was some distance from reception and the restaurant. The bedroom was spacious with a balcony and the views from the room beautiful. The furniture is old and dated and the hospitality tray poor. No water was provided for guests. The bathroom was spacious with plenty of toiletries, but the shower was poor with water dribbling out and water just tepid. The water was discoloured brown and had to run for 10 minutes before it cleared. We had two buffet dinners during our stay, food was very good but it was like a scrum accessing it. The bar area was good, with excellent service and reasonably priced drinks.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CumbriaChevalier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Underberg
14.3 mi away
Sani Valley Lodge and Hotel
16.4 mi away
Premier Resort Sani Pass
Premier Resort Sani Pass
#2 of 2 in Himeville
90 reviews
6.5 mi away
Bushmans Nek Berg & Trout Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Lake Naverone Holiday Cottages
1.7 mi away
Fairways Gold Crown Resort
Fairways Gold Crown Resort
#2 of 13 in Underberg
57 reviews
8.1 mi away
Penwarn Country Lodge
Penwarn Country Lodge
#5 of 19 in Underberg
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gooderson Drakensberg Gardens Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gooderson Drakensberg Gardens Golf & Spa Resort

Address: Drakensberg Gardens Road, Underberg 3257, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Underberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Underberg
Price Range: £77 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gooderson Drakensberg Gardens Golf & Spa Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Resort in the Drakensberg mountains with breathtaking views, set on 860Ha in a World Heritage Site, our aim is to ensure there is always something to do. Activities include an 18 hole NGU rated golf course, full Wellness Centre and Spa, Mountain biking trail and BMX tracks, horse riding, hiking, bowls, tennis, squash, Adventure golf, Discovery Park and flyfishing. Our Entertainment program runs all year round, day and night, for all age groups, from facepainting to bowls competitions, to quizzes and karaoke. The 5 restaurants open at various times, giving you options from light Bistro meals, to A la Carte variety and buffet/carvery Dinners. The bars range from sports type with big screens, to epic golfing views over the dam and mountains, and relaxed cocktail lounge experiences. We have 3 Conference venues, and beautiful gazebos or venues to plan that Wedding in the berg, a memorable location. Recently built is a zipline, Archery range and adventure park for all ages. A waterslide for the kids and a heated pool, "The Cove" provides extra swimming facilities all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Gooderson Drakensberg Gardens Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drakensberg Gardens Golf And Leisure Resort
Drakensberg Gardens Golf & Leisure Hotel Underberg
Drakensberg Gardens Hotel Leisure
Gooderson Drakensberg Gardens Golf & Spa Resort South Africa/Underberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing