We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money - all in all very good”
Review of Village Inn

Village Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wilderness
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Village Inn
Ranked #48 of 60 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Summary:
Currently an excellent budget option with very nice and clean rooms.
With a bit of painting in the entrance area ​​the hotel could even become an overall excellent option.
We wanted to stay for one night and ultimately stayed for three nights.

Details:
Now off season it is a very quiet place.
The manager (Marie) is therefore not always on site and it is recommended to call her shortly beforehand.

The Village Inn is very well located in Wilderness.
1 minute walk to all restaurants and gas station, 2-3 minutes walk to the lakeside boardwalk and shopping center, 3-5 minutes walking to the beach

The entrance might look better quickly with some fresh paint, new signs and one or two pictures. Maybe in time for the summer season ...
But overall the hotel is clean and well maintained.

The rooms are almost all newly renovated and decorated.
Offered are quite different rooms, all at very reasonable prices.
There are rooms up to 6 beds, also a family suite, rooms overlooking the sea or the mountain side, with or without own terrace, on ground floor or first floor.

Between the sea and the hotel unfortunately runs the main road N2.
The road can be heard in the small rooms with sea views.
Therefore I would recommend the family suite (6 beds) with sea view in first floor.
We had this suite as evening-walk-in-winter-special for 500 Rand.
(with balcony, 2 bed rooms, separate sitting area, huge bath tub, as well as a safe, refridgerator, water-cooker, coffee, tea and milk)

The very helpful and friendly manager Marie gave us excellent advice on what we can do in the area, was patient with our extra needs and short-term plan changes. We have reached her easily by phone and text message during the day.

Room Tip: The suite is perfect: newly renovated, sea-view, balcony and sitting area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sven_on_trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (12)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 12 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2013

I recently booked 2 rooms for 4 of us travelling to Cape Town for the Argus to break the trip. The Village Inn looked very good online and was quite centrally located in Wilderness.

I initially struggled to get hold of the manager and had to make my booking with one of the cleaning ladies via telephone. Upon arriving, I was initially surprised at the dirty state of the parking area and entrance to the B&B. Dirt and leaves covered the entrance. When I reached the gate, there was nobody to let me in. Eventually a handyman working on the property let me in. Again I was greeted by a filthy environment. There was nobody at reception to assist me and when I finally found the same cleaning lady, she informed me the manager wasn't around. On top of that she wanted to know who I was and what I wanted. She seemed surprised when i told her that I had booked 2 rooms for the night. After being shown various rooms to choose which I wanted, I decided to leave. The B&B was dirty and untidy, as if nobody had stayed there or cleaned there for months. The appearance looked dramatically different to the pictures online and I can only assume that the positive reviews it has received are a mistake.

Thank goodness I was not asked to pay a deposit before arriving! Definitely not worthy of the 3-star rating stuck on the gate to the entrance.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Would have to be the the best place we stayed in South Africa. After planning to stay for one night we ended up there for 3. Great people with plenty of knowledge, (places to eat,things to do, etc.) Value for money and perfect location, would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Earle29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2010

We stayed only the one night heading east. The accommodation is centrally located to the shops/restaurants and only a short drive to Wilderness NP. Rooms were a good size with good ensuite bathroom.

The rooms were very good value but on a room only basis, however they also owned the Wilderness Grill below where you got a discount on breakfast and other purchases.

The only down side was backs onto a main road which meant as it was a hot day you didn't want the windows open, due to the noise, but there was a ceiling fan to keep you cool.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DLF12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2010

Thanks for the warm welcome. Claudine and Jeremy did everything to make us feel like at home. We have a very plaisant stay.
The family room is simply huge, and we slept very very well.
Our kids enjoy the see which is very near from Village in.

A place to stay: When you are in, no needs of car. Restaurant, Pharmacy, Food shops, Sea, everything is near by walk.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank majesio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2008

We plucked the Village Inn out of the Lonely Planet Guide and got directions from the Tourist Information Bureau in Wilderness who telephoned ahead for us to check availability.
What a place! It has been recently refurbished and the rooms are out of this world! Not only are they huge (perfect for familys, with bunkbeds and seperate lounges) but they are so luxurious its wonderful! Our room also had an enclosed carpeted and furnished balcony with sliding patio doors which looked out over the road and then to the sea (we could see dolphins), we thought that the road might be noisy but the double glazing is so good that you don't hear a thing, great nights sleep, the bed was like lying in a huge cloud - wonderful. Bathroom had big corner bath and shower, all spotless!
The rooms sit above and behind a bar & grill with an extensive menu and judging by how busy it was all the time, very popular - however we weren't disturbed by it at all.
Staff are very friendly and couldn't do enough for us at breakfast, which was excellent.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeastieBeastie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Mig3es
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
2.3 mi away
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
415 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#3 of 5 in Wilderness
756 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cloverleigh Guest House
Cloverleigh Guest House
#26 of 60 in Wilderness
72 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beach Villa Wilderness
Beach Villa Wilderness
#3 of 60 in Wilderness
331 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilltop Country Lodge
Hilltop Country Lodge
#4 of 5 in Wilderness
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Inn

Address: 197 George Road | Garden Route, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range: £43 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and relax in our beach house style Guesthouse, with 10 sea-facing and non sea-facing rooms. All rooms are en-suite with DSTV, heater, fan, tea/coffee tray and a digital safe. Enjoy a hearty farmhouse breakfast every morning in our dining room (vegetarians catered for also). Whale watching in season from our private patio is a must. GPS co-ordinates: 33º59'39.35"S and 22º34'33.85"E ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing