We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“South African Gem”
Review of Serendipity

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Serendipity
Ranked #11 of 56 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Henderson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“South African Gem”
Reviewed 26 August 2012

If you have not been to South Africa, you should know that guest house standards are generally very high. I am pleased to say that the Serendipity Guest House raises that bar even higher! I have stayed there on several previous occasions and traveled with American friends again in March. Serendipity is centrally located for exploring the Garden Route. I am also comforted knowing several world class golf resorts are nearby. Host's, Elsabe & Phillip Kuypers, are very involved with guests and can always point you in the right direction. A delightful bonus is the five star restaurant , of the same name, located on the ground floor of the Guest House. The award winning chef is none other than the Kuypers daughter, Lizelle, who owns the restaurant with her husband, Rudolph. If your interests lie with deep sea fishing, diving or gourmet dining, you have to stay at Serendity!

Room Tip: There are four rooms and all have good views over the lagoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baileybobbitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    28
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
13
159
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

The tour of South Africa would not have been fully complete without a 2 night stay at this excellent establishment. It combines good accommodation with excellent food and very friendly service. It is also very well located to allow sightseeing to local places of interest and also for good beaches for swimming (or even just relaxing). Don't overlook the canoe option on the adjoining lake to build up an appetite for dinner!! The pre-dinner reception with the "maitre-de" and the opportunity to chat during the meal with the star chef add to the entire experience. We will return.

Room Tip: No real difference. Slight noise from restaurant if you retire early and have not eaten there that e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrevLangley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We rocked up into Wilderness with no pre-booked accommodation, but I knew a few B&B names and followed the signs Serendipity due to reviews on TA.

I am so glad I did, it was truly wonderful. From the little fountain in front of the house, which the birds use as a bath, to the canoes we were allowed to use, the library, every physical aspect was well designed, thought out, bright and clean. The rooms are fabulously light, airy and have access to a deck to look out over the lagoon. Welcoming drinks are a lovely touch, especially after an hour or two in the car on a hot day.

The breakfasts are just great, such attention to details, home baked scones or pancakes, and all served with a warm smile.

The host and hostess are absolutely lovely, warm (I may have mentioned that!) welcoming and attentive. The whole atmosphere is lovely. So much so that, after one night here on the way east, we had to come back on the way west for a few nights.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EuroRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Elsabe and Phillip share their home, with just 4 guest rooms for visitors. Each room is individually decorated, with the accent on comfort and style. Relax on the balcony outside the bedrooms, overlooking the lagoon. Wander down to the garden and take out the canoe, to row across the lagoon. Just walk downstairs to the dining room for an eating extravaganza. Local food is prepared to haute cuisine standards, with wine to match. This beautiful, welcoming guest house is all you could wish for and more. Elsabe and Phillip are the perfect hosts, that is why we return again and again. Finally just a 5 minute drive into Wilderness and you can stroll along the most breathtaking beach with hardly a sole in sight. Fabulous. Pat & John.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
429 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 494 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Nicely appointed, four room, guest house on lakeside in Wilderness.

Rooms are not huge, but are nicely furnished, with all the things you come to expect in a 5 star graded venue. Secure garage parking for guests.

Bathrooms are small however, with in-bath shower (our room, not true for all) and very little room for cat swinging. Bathrooms need a refurbish, or at least ours did.

Balcony and deck outside the room is shared, but huge and very attractive, with views of the lake and wildlife. We liked this feature! No pool onsite, but beach - miles of it - is three minutes away. Canoes on the lake - for the adventurous - are available.

Breakfasts were great, with lovely fruit and delicious cooked options. Owner lives on site and is ever helpful.

Breakfast room and lounge transform into a fine dining restaurant – optional, not included in room rate and open to public - 6 days a week, run by owner's daughter and her husband. Minor Glitch: Can be noisy in your bedroom whilst the restaurant is operating!

We liked a lot about this place, and we will likely use it again next trip.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grahamee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ledbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Our second visit in three years. Standard still perfect and the owners attentive to your enjoyment and satisfaction. The evening meal tasting menu and wine pairing gave so much pleasure. Attention to detail and guest requirements was the joy of our South African Stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are on the same level with balcony and river view - nothing to choose between them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank worldtravellerplus72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead,Berkshire,UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

It was an absolutely joy to stay in this superbly run B&B. It has the great advantage of having an exceptional restaurant on site which is run by the daughter and her husband of the owners. Our two dinners there count amongst the best meals of my life and I have been fortunate enough to eat in many Michelin starred restaurants. We felt at home as soon as we arrived and nothing is too much troubled. Everything is done in an exceptionally welcoming and efficient manner. The rooms are well equiped and have lovely views of the peaceful lake.I can not wait to return. Ensure you book for dinner in advance as the restaurant has a great repuation and is nearly always full.

Room Tip: Book very early as there are only four rooms. At the same time reserve a table for dinner as the re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RGBerks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
1.1 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
0.9 mi away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#3 of 5 in Wilderness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wilderness Manor Guest House
Wilderness Manor Guest House
#1 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Beach Villa Wilderness
Beach Villa Wilderness
#3 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
1.3 mi away
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
1.1 mi away
On the Beach Wilderness
On the Beach Wilderness
#2 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serendipity? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serendipity

Property: Serendipity
Address: Freesia Avenue | Garden Route, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Serendipity 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serendipity Wilderness, a 5-Star Restaurant and Guesthouse, is a sprawling multi-storey residence with serene and graceful double volume public areas, with fireplaces, situated in a manicured garden on the banks of the Touw River Lagoon, managed by academic and professionally trained owners. Dining at Serendipity offers superb cuisine, friendly and professional service in a graceful setting. A five course South African inspired menu, experienced in a refined atmosphere, is the benchmark of Serendipity ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Booking.com so you can book your Serendipity reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing