We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serendipity at Wilderness an Excellent Stop Over”
Review of Serendipity

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Serendipity
Ranked #9 of 59 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 November 2013

The rooms and dining room were excellent. Perfect location.
The service was superb especially the evening when we enjoyed a superb meal.Rudolf & Lizelle did a wonderful job !!! The next mornings breakfast also top class.
We had overseas friends with us and they really enjoyed there stay

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (236)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 236 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2013

We had high expectations of a venue regarded as the best on the Garden route but were very disappointed. From the pompous and effusive explanation of what was on offer to the sad reality of the over hyped food we were left with a desire to leave and never to return thus cancelling our booking for the next night. We subsequently found other restaurants in Wilderness to be more to our unpretentious tastes.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizelle S, Owner at Serendipity, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time for this review. Your remarks about the presentation being misleading and pretentious is exactly why we offer our guests the option to hear about the menu or not. It is easy to give you a menu and let you try to figure out what is going on. This is NOT the kind of dining experience we wish for our guests.
Because we want our guests to have a true South African inspired dining experience, we tell you about every exciting bit of local food we carefully prepared for you. We make sure that whatever ingredient, method, sauce and herb is mentioned, it will be present in the meal.
I would like to be a little philosophical now: I wonder if you ever considered the damage you do and how hurtful your words are. Fortunately we have been in business for 12 years and I have realised that some people are just not appreciative of what we do & how we do it. Enjoying life is after all a decision.
This is fine dining and not a steak house. Please compare our prices with your Michelin Restaurants. Let’s compare apples with apples. Everything is prepared in our kitchen. You only had 2 of the courses from our 5 course menu, and were only charged for what you had. Given the quality of the food, service and overall fine dining experience you would find that we compare very favourably to other similar establishments. Just look at the review below.
Lastly, when you cancelled your second reservation, I personally enquired if there was a problem to which you replied that everything was fine and very good, but that you won’t return. Why did you not confront me or air your opinion?
TripAdvisor serves to inform and we feel that guests should raise a query directly with the establishment and afford them the opportunity to rectify or explain themselves before publicly attacking them.
It is a great sadness that this is how you perceived Serendipity & what we aim to achieve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

While staying at Mes Amis (another superb B&B in Wilderness) we went for dinner at Serendipty last night. It was a wonderful experience. After warm welcome from the chef herself we enjoyed an outstanding dinner that could have graced the table of any Michelin star establishment in the UK.all the staff were knowledgeable and friendly and made the whole evening one to remember. We will certainly return if we come to South Africa again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stopped off for a break on our way from Port Elizabeth to Cape Town. The welcome was exceptional as was the accommodation and super view of the river from our balcony. The best was yet to come. We had what we can only describe as a Michelin star meal with wines and service to match. The Kuypers were delightful hosts and the meal prepared by their daughter and husband will remain in our memory for a long time.

George and Jenny

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the lagoon are superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeorgeTroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

Nice start with a menue briefing together with a special drink! We got good posibilities to choose between the meals. A friendly atmosphere was built up by the chef and her hunting husband and the four course dinner was al through excellent!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank KeMa19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Excellent room with view over the lagoon at Wilderness. Large balcony with seating area and well appointed room. Breakfast in dining room overlooking lagoon. Close by are walks and the town of Wilderness.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ColinRowena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

5 star all the way -- from the wonderful hosts, Phillip & Elsabe, to their exquisite accommodations and fantastic in home restaurant -- everything was exceptional. This is a hidden gem. Phillip & Elsabe make your journal, vacation and lives so much more enriched by staying at their B & B guest house. They have excellent suggestions for where to go and what to see.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sue Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
1.1 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
1.3 mi away
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
386 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wilderness Manor Guest House
Wilderness Manor Guest House
#1 of 59 in Wilderness
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Beach Villa Wilderness
Beach Villa Wilderness
#3 of 59 in Wilderness
327 reviews
1 mi away
Haus am Strand - On the Beach
0.3 mi away
Xanadu Guest Villa
Xanadu Guest Villa
#7 of 59 in Wilderness
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serendipity? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serendipity

Address: Freesia Avenue | Garden Route, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range: £76 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Serendipity 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serendipity Wilderness, a 5-Star Restaurant and Guesthouse, is a sprawling multi-storey residence with serene and graceful double volume public areas, with fireplaces, situated in a manicured garden on the banks of the Touw River Lagoon, managed by academic and professionally trained owners. Dining at Serendipity offers superb cuisine, friendly and professional service in a graceful setting. A five course South African inspired menu, experienced in a refined atmosphere, is the benchmark of Serendipity ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Serendipity reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing