We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem”
Review of Serendipity

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Serendipity
Ranked #9 of 59 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 January 2014

This is our 4th visit to Serendipity and it is just an extraordinary establishment. The B+B is situated right on the lagoon. The rooms are very tastefully and elegantly furnished. The hosts are charming, helpful and make you feel at home. The restaurant must rate as one of the top restaurants not only in South Africa but internationally. The cuisine is delightfully South African...a absolute gastronomic feast. Every dish takes your breath away. Again the hosts are down to earth and although what you are eating is fit for a king, there is no pretentious attitude. We cant wait for our next visit.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (236)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 236 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2013

We had an enjoyable stay which was enhanced by the surroundings and professional assistance from management and staff. The highlight was without doubt the outstanding dining experience. This was world class(we have travelled) and is must on any traveler's calender

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Don F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Staff is welcoming and friendly. Dinner is a very unsusual exprience for South Africa, and people who enjoy good food and adequate wine matching should definitely try it out. This place can be a good base for exploring the region.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Rene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Being frequent visitors to Knysna over the last 12 years we always pass through Wilderness enroute thinking what gorgeous scenery but....never stop! Having read rave reviews of Serendipity as a restaurant we thought we would stop over and .....thankfully we did! Not only is the food fantastsic but the rooms and Wilderness itself. A must if traveling along the Garden Route!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Jim692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Wilderness is always worth a stay of a couple of days. Serendipity has a high standard and rooms are spacious and tidy. The view over the Lagoon is breathtaking. The restaurant serves delicious food. Rooms are a bit noisy in the evening from the excellent Restaurant that is situated in the guest house - so don't intend to go to sleep before 10 pm.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Rico B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

The rooms and dining room were excellent. Perfect location.
The service was superb especially the evening when we enjoyed a superb meal.Rudolf & Lizelle did a wonderful job !!! The next mornings breakfast also top class.
We had overseas friends with us and they really enjoyed there stay

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We had high expectations of a venue regarded as the best on the Garden route but were very disappointed. From the pompous and effusive explanation of what was on offer to the sad reality of the over hyped food we were left with a desire to leave and never to return thus cancelling our booking for the next night. We subsequently found other restaurants in Wilderness to be more to our unpretentious tastes.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizelle S, Owner at Serendipity, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time for this review. Your remarks about the presentation being misleading and pretentious is exactly why we offer our guests the option to hear about the menu or not. It is easy to give you a menu and let you try to figure out what is going on. This is NOT the kind of dining experience we wish for our guests.
Because we want our guests to have a true South African inspired dining experience, we tell you about every exciting bit of local food we carefully prepared for you. We make sure that whatever ingredient, method, sauce and herb is mentioned, it will be present in the meal.
I would like to be a little philosophical now: I wonder if you ever considered the damage you do and how hurtful your words are. Fortunately we have been in business for 12 years and I have realised that some people are just not appreciative of what we do & how we do it. Enjoying life is after all a decision.
This is fine dining and not a steak house. Please compare our prices with your Michelin Restaurants. Let’s compare apples with apples. Everything is prepared in our kitchen. You only had 2 of the courses from our 5 course menu, and were only charged for what you had. Given the quality of the food, service and overall fine dining experience you would find that we compare very favourably to other similar establishments. Just look at the review below.
Lastly, when you cancelled your second reservation, I personally enquired if there was a problem to which you replied that everything was fine and very good, but that you won’t return. Why did you not confront me or air your opinion?
TripAdvisor serves to inform and we feel that guests should raise a query directly with the establishment and afford them the opportunity to rectify or explain themselves before publicly attacking them.
It is a great sadness that this is how you perceived Serendipity & what we aim to achieve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
1.1 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
1.3 mi away
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
386 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wilderness Manor Guest House
Wilderness Manor Guest House
#1 of 59 in Wilderness
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Beach Villa Wilderness
Beach Villa Wilderness
#3 of 59 in Wilderness
327 reviews
0.3 mi away
Moontide Guest House
Moontide Guest House
#5 of 59 in Wilderness
778 reviews
0.3 mi away
Xanadu Guest Villa
Xanadu Guest Villa
#7 of 59 in Wilderness
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serendipity? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serendipity

Address: Freesia Avenue | Garden Route, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range: £76 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Serendipity 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serendipity Wilderness, a 5-Star Restaurant and Guesthouse, is a sprawling multi-storey residence with serene and graceful double volume public areas, with fireplaces, situated in a manicured garden on the banks of the Touw River Lagoon, managed by academic and professionally trained owners. Dining at Serendipity offers superb cuisine, friendly and professional service in a graceful setting. A five course South African inspired menu, experienced in a refined atmosphere, is the benchmark of Serendipity ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Serendipity reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing