We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The name says it all”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Serendipity

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Serendipity
Ranked #11 of 56 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“The name says it all”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

We stayed just one night here in February 2014 and had a memorable dinner. The best meal we have ever had in SA. Eat your heart out Master Chef! Our room was lovely too and we will certainly return when we visit SA again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Brenda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    28
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
13
160
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Level Contributor
71 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

We came here specifically to celebtrate my husband's birthday as part of our trip along the Garden Route. It was a perfect choice! It is primarily a restaurant - intimate, tucked away in a residential area - but with four rooms upstairs that share a lovely terrace/balcony overlooking the WIlderness lagoon. The restaurant had such fantastic reviews that it was a must, and staying here seemed the best way to enjoy the experience.

Our room was very nice, comfy bed, nice bathroom, useful fridge for all the wine we had bought on our recent wine tour of Stellenbosch. The best bit was the terrace and the view (bit of noise from the main road but nothing to disturb).

The dinner in the restaurant was fantastic. We picked it as it is as good for veggies as meat eaters, and of 5* cuisine quality. Good idea to book ahead if you are going to do this. Breakfasts are also beautiful.

The owners also have canoes you can borrow to take a trip up river along the lagoon, away from any road noise and into complete tranquility and a beautiful gorge. You can park up your canoe and walk for another 45 mins to a lovely waterfall at the end.

Wilderness itself isn't particularly wild and if you want other eating alternatives, there are a good handful of restaurants about 20 mintues walk away. But if you can, eat here, and enjoy the luxury of wandering upstairs to bed feeling replete and happy!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luckywomanSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almere, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

We had a 2 nights stay in February. Beautiful guesthouse with very thoughtful hosts. It is situated 2 km outside the village. You can walk it but at night it is very dark and you better take the car. In the morning the lady is serving a fantastic breakfast with little details that show you one is aware what is important for the guests. The lady provided us both days with good tips to spend our daytime. At night the daughter and husband are taking care of the 5 coursed dinner and wine together with their excellent staff. We ate there twice and as it is a fixed menu for a number of days Lizelle made us a complete different one asking us what we liked. It was amazing!! The room is comfortable with a big terras you share with other guests. It is quit a formal place but not so much to make you incomfortable. If I get the chance I'll go back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Beljo51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knysna, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Chef Lizelle is talented and imaginitive and we had a wonderful meal beautifully presented and full of flavours. We will return. The rooms are comfortable and clean, the bathrooms rather sub-standard and very small, and should have a separate shower.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank hilary00198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harare, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

I'm so glad having found Serendipity Guesthouse and reserving a couple of nights in Christmas season. These were truly a special few days from the moment we arrived until bidding farewell. The room had everything you could possibly wish for. The shared balcony can become a bit crowded if the other travelers want to sunbathe at the same time. Being able to use the guest-house's kayaks made a great difference to us because we could paddle into the lagoon and towards the forest without having to go any further for boat hire. Thanks for that complimentary treat!
And the restaurant...well I really hope I can return one day and try more of what this great couple creates! So friendly and communicative whilst every seat in the restaurant is taken! All courses were simply divine and belong to the best and most extraordinary dishes I have ever encountered and was so happy to taste.
And like the Greenwood guide-book for South African accommodation had lured us: Where in the world can you just stumble up the stairs into your bedroom after a 5-course luxury dinner with on the spot wine pairing. At Serendipity you can and it is more than worth a visit for more than just a good peaceful sleep!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philipp H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hout Bay, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

This is our 4th visit to Serendipity and it is just an extraordinary establishment. The B+B is situated right on the lagoon. The rooms are very tastefully and elegantly furnished. The hosts are charming, helpful and make you feel at home. The restaurant must rate as one of the top restaurants not only in South Africa but internationally. The cuisine is delightfully South African...a absolute gastronomic feast. Every dish takes your breath away. Again the hosts are down to earth and although what you are eating is fit for a king, there is no pretentious attitude. We cant wait for our next visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

We had an enjoyable stay which was enhanced by the surroundings and professional assistance from management and staff. The highlight was without doubt the outstanding dining experience. This was world class(we have travelled) and is must on any traveler's calender

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Don F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
1.1 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
0.9 mi away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wilderness Manor Guest House
Wilderness Manor Guest House
#1 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Beach Villa Wilderness
Beach Villa Wilderness
#3 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
1.3 mi away
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Wilderness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
1.1 mi away
On the Beach Wilderness
On the Beach Wilderness
#2 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serendipity? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serendipity

Property: Serendipity
Address: Freesia Avenue | Garden Route, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Serendipity 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serendipity Wilderness, a 5-Star Restaurant and Guesthouse, is a sprawling multi-storey residence with serene and graceful double volume public areas, with fireplaces, situated in a manicured garden on the banks of the Touw River Lagoon, managed by academic and professionally trained owners. Dining at Serendipity offers superb cuisine, friendly and professional service in a graceful setting. A five course South African inspired menu, experienced in a refined atmosphere, is the benchmark of Serendipity ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Serendipity reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing