We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great place-outstanding restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Serendipity

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Serendipity
Ranked #11 of 56 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bern
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great place-outstanding restaurant”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We stayed in Serendipity for two nights and really loved the place. The view from the terrace is beautiful and peaceful. The rooms very nice and the service really great. They think about many details like a basket with towels for the beach. Breakfast was excellent and the two dinners in the restaurants were clearly the culinary highlight of our trip. The cuisine is just stunning and on the highest international level! well worth some hours of driving...

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank thomasrBern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    28
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
13
159
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Westbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Serendipity was a lovely peaceful location to stay, after a long drive it was great to put your feet up on the veranda looking over the lake. The meal in the restaurant was a highlight to the stay, a very talented chef. All the staff were so helpful. Would go back again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank borntotravel1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ledbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Third stay - great welcome standards maintained. Fine dining exquisite - comfort guaranteed - can't wait until the next visit. Location perfect with river walks. Nothing too much trouble in this top notch bed and breakfast. What moe can one say

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank worldtravellerplus72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level Contributor
50 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

A warm welcome at the lovely b&b. Nice room that was immaculately clean with lots of nice little extra touches. Breakfast was superb. We ate in the restaurant which was also excellent. We would happily stay again and recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D&DWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We stayed just one night here in February 2014 and had a memorable dinner. The best meal we have ever had in SA. Eat your heart out Master Chef! Our room was lovely too and we will certainly return when we visit SA again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Brenda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
71 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We came here specifically to celebtrate my husband's birthday as part of our trip along the Garden Route. It was a perfect choice! It is primarily a restaurant - intimate, tucked away in a residential area - but with four rooms upstairs that share a lovely terrace/balcony overlooking the WIlderness lagoon. The restaurant had such fantastic reviews that it was a must, and staying here seemed the best way to enjoy the experience.

Our room was very nice, comfy bed, nice bathroom, useful fridge for all the wine we had bought on our recent wine tour of Stellenbosch. The best bit was the terrace and the view (bit of noise from the main road but nothing to disturb).

The dinner in the restaurant was fantastic. We picked it as it is as good for veggies as meat eaters, and of 5* cuisine quality. Good idea to book ahead if you are going to do this. Breakfasts are also beautiful.

The owners also have canoes you can borrow to take a trip up river along the lagoon, away from any road noise and into complete tranquility and a beautiful gorge. You can park up your canoe and walk for another 45 mins to a lovely waterfall at the end.

Wilderness itself isn't particularly wild and if you want other eating alternatives, there are a good handful of restaurants about 20 mintues walk away. But if you can, eat here, and enjoy the luxury of wandering upstairs to bed feeling replete and happy!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luckywomanSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almere, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We had a 2 nights stay in February. Beautiful guesthouse with very thoughtful hosts. It is situated 2 km outside the village. You can walk it but at night it is very dark and you better take the car. In the morning the lady is serving a fantastic breakfast with little details that show you one is aware what is important for the guests. The lady provided us both days with good tips to spend our daytime. At night the daughter and husband are taking care of the 5 coursed dinner and wine together with their excellent staff. We ate there twice and as it is a fixed menu for a number of days Lizelle made us a complete different one asking us what we liked. It was amazing!! The room is comfortable with a big terras you share with other guests. It is quit a formal place but not so much to make you incomfortable. If I get the chance I'll go back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Beljo51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
1.1 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
0.9 mi away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
617 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wilderness Manor Guest House
Wilderness Manor Guest House
#1 of 56 in Wilderness
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Beach Villa Wilderness
Beach Villa Wilderness
#3 of 56 in Wilderness
259 reviews
1.3 mi away
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Wilderness
303 reviews
1.1 mi away
On the Beach Wilderness
On the Beach Wilderness
#2 of 56 in Wilderness
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serendipity? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serendipity

Property: Serendipity
Address: Freesia Avenue | Garden Route, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Serendipity 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serendipity Wilderness, a 5-Star Restaurant and Guesthouse, is a sprawling multi-storey residence with serene and graceful double volume public areas, with fireplaces, situated in a manicured garden on the banks of the Touw River Lagoon, managed by academic and professionally trained owners. Dining at Serendipity offers superb cuisine, friendly and professional service in a graceful setting. A five course South African inspired menu, experienced in a refined atmosphere, is the benchmark of Serendipity ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Serendipity reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing