We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury stay”
Review of Serendipity

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Serendipity
Ranked #12 of 57 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Luxury stay”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed at Serendipity for one night only, unfortunately.
The service and attention to detail by Elsabe and Phillip was exceptional. The personal touches like the welcome at the front door, the coffee in the lounge and especially the hot water bottles in the bed when we returned from dinner, were very welcome.
Speaking of dinner, this was a wonderful experience. True fine dining with really interesting conversation with Rudolf about our meal. He is very friendly and relaxed without intruding on the dining experience.
Can't recommend them enough and will be back again for sure.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    28
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
13
161
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

We had the best honeymoon dinner at Serindipity! It was cuisine from out of this world with a personal touch to make you feel special!!!! Personal interaction with Chef which you don't have anymore at other restaurants. A must visit restaurant in the Wilderness!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

We were recommended by our son who stayed at Serendipity earlier in the year. We were not disappointed.
The setting is wonderful and we were made to feel at home by the owners, Philip and Elsabe.
We also ate at the restaurant ( see separate review).
The walk in the nature reserve is a must.
We would have no hesitation in recommending this place to friends or family.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2014

we where on our yearly trip to wilderness where we run a marathon and it was our first stay at Serendipity Guesthouse and we had the pleasure to meet the Owners who where very friendly and helpful and the Dinner we enjoyed in the Restaurant was ''outstanding''

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Ivanka F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We chose Serendipity, because our Travel Guide (Dumont) recommended it. We stayed one night and also made a reseveration for the restaurant, which is led by Lizelle Stolze - one of South Africas best chefs de cuisine. Those who can afford and enjoy a good kitchen will find Serendipity a perfect place. We enjoyed our stay and would have liked to stay a bit longer, as Wilderness and surrounding have much to offer. The three-course-dinner was simply superb, the wine recommendation also excellent (I bought another bottle of the red wine we had the next morning). The rooms are very nice, clean and comfortable. Only minor drawback is the proximity to the N2, which is on the other side of the lagoon. But we slept very well that night and also enjoyed an nice breakfast. We can really recommend Serendipity and will definitely stay there, should we return to Wilderness.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank christophneuschaeffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dronten, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Lovely family and very safe location.The restaurant was really perfect.
Rooms are very comfortable. Bathroom a bit small for obese people.
Make a trip to Oudshoorn and treat yourself with an ostrich handbag at Lugro-Ostrich Langenhoven Road.Drive to Prince Albert via Swartbergpass and return via Meiirngspoortpass



  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Anneke D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elsabe K, Owner at Serendipity, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Thank you Anneke for taking time out to review your visit to SERENDIPITY. It was our pleasure to host you and your husband and your daughters and to assist you with planning your day-trips. You will be pleased to hear that we are upgrading our bathrooms during the next month. This will be a major renovation as we are going to strip our bathrooms and replace everything. Our new bathrooms were carefully selected for the comfort of our guests.
SERENDIPITY’S Wifi has been upgraded with two extra unifiers on the second floor for maximum coverage and signal strength. Our Wifi is unlimited and free of charge to guests at SERENDIPITY.
We are looking forward to your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermanus
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Elsabe, with Phillip in the background, is the perfect host here at Serendipity. A great location on the edge of the Lagoon and with just 4 rooms, all on the top floor, is ideally situated for Knysna (40 minutes), George (15 minutes) and Plettenberg Bay (75 minutes). Her daughters in-house dining extravaganza saves the car journey to elsewhere. Check out The Girls in Wilderness for great food also. Close to the beach for fishing and swimming. Canoe up the Touws River from their garden. Very nice breakfast is served too.

Room Tip: All rooms overlook the lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeGrahamHermanus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elsabe K, Owner at Serendipity, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
As a Senior Contributor to TripAdvisor we appreciate your review of your recent stay at SERENDIPITY. As always it was lovely seeing you and Margaret again. please don't wait so long before your next visit. Regards Phillip & Elsabe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
1.1 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
1.3 mi away
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Wilderness
341 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wilderness Manor Guest House
Wilderness Manor Guest House
#1 of 57 in Wilderness
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Moontide Guest House
Moontide Guest House
#5 of 57 in Wilderness
737 reviews
1.1 mi away
On the Beach Wilderness
On the Beach Wilderness
#2 of 57 in Wilderness
247 reviews
0.3 mi away
Xanadu Guest Villa
Xanadu Guest Villa
#6 of 57 in Wilderness
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serendipity? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serendipity

Property: Serendipity
Address: Freesia Avenue | Garden Route, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Serendipity 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serendipity Wilderness, a 5-Star Restaurant and Guesthouse, is a sprawling multi-storey residence with serene and graceful double volume public areas, with fireplaces, situated in a manicured garden on the banks of the Touw River Lagoon, managed by academic and professionally trained owners. Dining at Serendipity offers superb cuisine, friendly and professional service in a graceful setting. A five course South African inspired menu, experienced in a refined atmosphere, is the benchmark of Serendipity ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Serendipity reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing