We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looking for a place close to the beach, hiking trails in Wilderness? This is it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wilderness Beach house
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Looking for a place close to the beach, hiking trails in Wilderness? This is it”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

What can I add what others have already written..
Sleeping with the sound of the waves and smell of the sea in your (dorm) room...
Dorm beds are great as are the showers!
Take a dive in the ocean in 5 min walking distance
hiking to the waterfall and other trails without hassle
enjoying the great meals when the cook is up to it (do ask every morning what the planning is for the evening) - otherwise walk into town for great meals (10min away)
because they have no wifi, you have the opportunity to talk with your fellow travellers
(there is a great restaurant around the corner if you need this)

Intended to stay 2 nights and that become 4 nights. So spend some time here if you want to unwind and enjoy the place. Even one night will make you to come back :)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexander_Surfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    47
    12
    7
    4
See reviews for
10
48
37
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

I had an awesome stay at this hostel, which had the most beautiful dorm view I have ever seen. From the upper dorm you can see the beach and ocean from your bed! The host, Annie, is like a mother. Cooking delicious meals every day, and making sure you have a good time!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dar el salamm
Level Contributor
73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Wilderness is a stunning stop off. Beach house is perched above the sand and sea with amazing views. Rooms and dorms are a good size and clean. Great areas to chill out and if the weather turns there is a fire to warm yourself by. Annie and her family are welcoming and helpful. A word of advice, if you camp ask for the grassed area or take an air mattress in case you end up on the paved section. Ear plugs are good for light sleepers, as the main road above can be noisy if you camp or have a room at the back of the property. Peruse the book selection and make a donation - it goes to a very good cause.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sue l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mainz, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 October 2013

the most beautiful place on the whole garden route, friendly staff who made my stay unforgetable, clean showers and toilets, wonderful dorm room with ocean view, right next to the beach, manager who are always helping to organize tours, evenings in the bar with fire outside, i felt like at home, will definitly come back! :-) thank u guys for the best time i have ever had on my whole travelling in south africa!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mirjam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Firstly I must disagree with the below review. How can you say the "vibe" was missing when you have the most picture perfect view out of your window! Not to mention the beach right on your doorstep!

Anyway.... We LOVED this place. It was such a lovely place and for us the atmosphere was lovely. We self catered and they have small kitchen area for you to cook your meals with everything you need. They also have a nice bar area with a pool table which also looks over towards the sea :-) We stayed in the top dorm which had the best view. My bed was right in the balcony area so I could see the gorgeous view in the morning. :-) Also the lovely owner Annie was so helpful, she gave us some great advise and tips for arranging our trip as we go on further in South Africa. Annie really wants to look out for you so I would take her advise as I also think she has travelled and stayed in some backpackers around SA, she is by far the nicest lady we have come across in any backpackers and extremely approachable :-)

We unfortunately stayed with a couple of German girls in the dorm who were nice enough but by night time really didn't have any respect for anyone else in the room. Turning the lights on at 1am running around the place until 2am and shouting. Also bringing people up in the room who were not staying there at 12am and opening the balcony doors etc. for me this was our only issue. So based on this my only suggestion would be to get locks on the doors so people with the code can only access it or get lockers for the room so people can put there things away securely. Also to have someone around late at night to control any noise/parties as it may also effect other guests staying in the hostel.

Overall though I loved this hostel and I would definitely stay here again. It's such a gorgeous place with very friendly staff :-)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelBear87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PE
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We had an awesome stay at Beach House Backpackers. The view from the dorm is the best we had in South Africa, Annie and her staff is very helpful and friendly, they make you feel welcome and never hesitates to help you with anything, Annie help us book Baz Bus, Hostel and other tours we wanted to do after Wilderness.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2013

The backpackers is in a great location and the rooms, even dorms are very nice most of them with ocean view. But the bathrooms were not very nice, never clean, no soap and not welcoming. The backpackers has a bar and a nice outside are, but a good inside area is missing. Also the general atmosphere was not very good. Breakfast was nice, but you have to pay for it directly, even tho you still eating. The owner is friendly and sometimes to helpful but she's not a typical backpacker owner, which is maybe the reason why the good vibe was missing.
I guess in high season it's maybe better but we liked at the least on our trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ValSA2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
0.4 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
0.5 mi away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
642 reviews
1.9 mi away
Fairy Knowe Backpackers Lodge
Fairy Knowe Backpackers Lodge
#11 of 36 in Wilderness
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
On the Beach Wilderness
On the Beach Wilderness
#2 of 56 in Wilderness
229 reviews
0.6 mi away
Boardwalk Lodge
Boardwalk Lodge
#4 of 36 in Wilderness
237 reviews
0.9 mi away
Beach Villa Wilderness
Beach Villa Wilderness
#3 of 56 in Wilderness
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness Beach house? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Beach house

Property: Wilderness Beach house
Address: Western Road, Wilderness, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Wilderness Beach house reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing