We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend recharge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wilderness Beach house
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Weekend recharge”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Just spent the most amazing weekend here. Rooms were spotless and very comfortable. Bearing in mind that this is a backpackers hostel, I expected it to be somewhat noisy but it was not. Our hostess, Annie, made us feel very welcome and her staff are friendly and helpful. I cannot wait to come back. A huge thank you Annie. P.S. They make the BEST pizzas too!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    46
    12
    7
    4
See reviews for
10
47
37
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Robertson, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I have stayed at the Wilderness Beach House three times now and will keep returning. Annie is like a Mom to the youngsters who stay there and nothing is ever too much for her to organise! One must remember that her market is mainly Backpackers and they get a really good deal. If you want more privacy you have to request the upstairs cottage which is fully equipped and has the most beautiful views of the ocean.

Room Tip: You have to say in the upstairs cottage!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beverley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Hostel staff is unfriendly. Never had this before! Its nothing about staying in a hostel and enjoy people and life. Drinking and eating own stuff is prohibited in the rooms. Checking out after few minuts of checking in is not possible, no refund! See the hostel facilities before paying was not possible. Around the hostel no infrastructure in walking distance.
Never vistit the hostel again and I wouldnt recommend. Badest hostel in my whole 4 week trip in South Africa. Unfriendliness in person! No food cooking in here, no WiFi, Internet 35Rand!!! An hour, even not working! Never ever!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank euerdeus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paarl, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We had our wedding at the Beach House with all our friends & family staying over for the weekend. Perfect view, good food & wine, excellent service, a place to sleep for everyone, what more could you want for your wedding! Thanks Annie, Allan, Lieze, Louise and the team for making this weekend unbelievable!!!!XXXX

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilze780130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stayed here for a night, in between Christmas and New Year - probably not the best time to stay if you are a couple! Very busy with lots of groups of travellers - so not a couples place. We had booked a camping spot - but when we got there we were told there were only spots on the flagstone balcony - not ideal. Good hostel kitchen at least. Think carefully about camping here.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I would prefer the "OK" score rather than "Average" as some members of the staff made a lot of difference during this stay and swayed it towards a more positive experience.

In general, I would not really recommend this place, at least for families. Even though I thought that with this location by the beach it is a perfect spot, I did not really enjoy it that much. For few reasons: Cleanliness is very average - room itself was nice, but the whole bed smelled like damp, showers were very very average and not really clean, definitely not inviting and most importantly the place turned into a party place in the evening, which made it almost impossible to sleep with super thin walls/doors with huge gaps. If you are for the parties, then this is perfect, but I always enjoed place where after several drinks and partying, you can just go into your room and being silent after 22 is respected. This is not really this place.

We had a bad luck with the weather as it was raining most of the time, so I guess the experience is much better when you can enjoy a lot of outside areas, but with the rain there was very little inside.

Special NO is for breakfast which was the worst one we have had on the whole trip with yoghurt either gone bad or just tasting like (excuse my wording, but it is the most appropriate) vomit, apart from that there were few pieced of bread and a jam - all to be "enjoyed" inside the kitchen on 3 stools and a bar-like counter as long as you moved some not-so-clean pots in order to find your spot. Needless to say, we quickly went out to get something proper to eat outside.

That said, some members of the staff really made a difference, so even because all of the above did not make me enjoy this place as much as I wanted, it was still ok.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElBartek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

What can I add what others have already written..
Sleeping with the sound of the waves and smell of the sea in your (dorm) room...
Dorm beds are great as are the showers!
Take a dive in the ocean in 5 min walking distance
hiking to the waterfall and other trails without hassle
enjoying the great meals when the cook is up to it (do ask every morning what the planning is for the evening) - otherwise walk into town for great meals (10min away)
because they have no wifi, you have the opportunity to talk with your fellow travellers
(there is a great restaurant around the corner if you need this)

Intended to stay 2 nights and that become 4 nights. So spend some time here if you want to unwind and enjoy the place. Even one night will make you to come back :)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexander_Surfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
0.4 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
0.5 mi away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
1.9 mi away
Fairy Knowe Backpackers Lodge
Fairy Knowe Backpackers Lodge
#11 of 36 in Wilderness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
On the Beach Wilderness
On the Beach Wilderness
#2 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
1.2 mi away
Dune Guest Lodge
Dune Guest Lodge
#4 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
2.7 mi away
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Wilderness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness Beach house? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Beach house

Property: Wilderness Beach house
Address: Western Road, Wilderness, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Wilderness Beach house reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing