We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place, uncomfortable beds and very noisy staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wilderness Beach house
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The Wilderness Beach House is a very nice looking backpackers given its price. Its location is prime, with wonderful views of the beach and mountains. It is kitted with a convenient kitchen, pool table, well priced bar, and mini restaurant.

The beds on the other hand, even for a backpackers, are pretty bad. The mattresses are lumpy - a friend of mine slept on his DSLR camera the night we stayed, and didn't even notice, as he assumed it was part of the bed. The pillows are hospital style, about 3cm thick, and the room is very hot.

To make things worse, the receptionist of the backpackers started having a loud, verging on shouting conversation with a friend outside the front door at around 2am. This woke me up, and because the room was so hot, I never got back to sleep again.

The bathrooms are OK. The showers are the artic ocean / fire of Mt Doom type, that take several minutes to regulate but have good water pressure.

Ultimately, I would not recommend this place, unless you are someone who loves the beach and will be able to sacrifice sleep for its beautiful location.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Jules_Skotnes_Brown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (170)
There are newer reviews for Wilderness Beach house
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

I have visited The Beach House regularly over the years and have always found it to be a great place to stay, clean, comfortable and plenty of sea views... stay here! Lots of outdoor stuff to do like hiking and canoeing... it's called Wilderness for a reason!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Macnificent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

One the best places I've ever stayed! It has an excellent vibe, its hosts are nice and make you feel warm and well received. The food is amazing, the rooms have wonderful views and the beds are really comfortable. Annie, the host of this backpackers, is one of the most amazing women I've ever met!

Juliana. Colombia

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Juliana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I would like to thank Lieze for a wonderful stay at the Beach House. The staff was anything but cold and unfriendly (like I've read in a previous review) ... on the contrary, you guys made me feel right at home. The location is absolutely perfect, close to the beach, shops and restaurants ... and the views from the dorms breathtaking!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MOxOx2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This backpackers is perched right above Wilderness Beach, and is about a 10 minutes walk from the small village. Beautiful views, nice property, good location. The dorms were comfortable, roomy, and had an amazing sunrise view. However, the staff I interacted with were rather curt, unfriendly, and not forthcoming. They seemed knowledgeable on the area, but only once probed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dha10001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

For experienced or dedicated backpacker who like non-party places with friendly staff, nice guest and yummi pizza from the stone-oven this is a great stay for a couple of days.
Only the parking space is a little limited.

Room Tip: Cabin with en-suite small bathroom, a little fridge and a kettle.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mina-Vianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

The beach house has been a favorite of my partner and mine. Annie runs the joint and is like an adopted mother to her guests. She makes you feel more welcome than you do at home. When we were staying in Sedgefield and Knysna, we would drive back to Wilderness just to have a beer and eat the delicious homemade pizza (usually pizza is on Friday nights). The view from the outdoor chilling area can not get any better! The beach is steps away and if you're feeling adventurous go for a walk down the train tracks. They offer all kinds of sports, guides, & activities. Do yourself a favor and check this place out. You will be back.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jess O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
0.3 mi away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#3 of 5 in Wilderness
680 reviews
0.0 mi away
On the Beach Wilderness
On the Beach Wilderness
#2 of 57 in Wilderness
255 reviews
1.6 mi away
Fairy Knowe Backpackers Lodge
Fairy Knowe Backpackers Lodge
#10 of 39 in Wilderness
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Beach Villa Wilderness
Beach Villa Wilderness
#3 of 57 in Wilderness
304 reviews
2.4 mi away
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
348 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wilderness on Sea B&B and Self Catering
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness Beach house? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Beach house

Address: Western Road, Wilderness, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 39 Speciality Lodging in Wilderness
Price Range: £18 - £19 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing