We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Spot!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wilderness
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wilderness Bushcamp
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We stayed in Cottages 5 & 6. These little cosy, wood cabins perched on the top of the hill overlooking Wilderness are really special. The views from the cottages, balconies and even the car park are breathtaking. They provide a great braai area and the cottages have indoor fireplaces which must be great in winter. The staff are friendly and very welcoming. It's a quick drive to Victoria Bay where we surfed every day. A little hidden gem and i'll definately be back!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Catman01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014

What a beautiful place to stay - great escape from city life! Amazing views, bird watching, surfing, long walks and plenty to do in and around the Wilderness. Made a 4 day get-away feel like a long holiday :)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Louise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed in Aloe suite as everything else booked up - but it still has stupendous views and is pleasant, airy and well decorated with a very large bathroom

Good value for money and I would recommend it - you don't find views like this easily nor the sound of the surf
Kitchen area a bit cramped but ok

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Loerie cabin was spacious, well fitted. the balcony views is breathtaking, and the constant sound of the ocean from all the rooms makes it a peaceful place to be at, close to most amenities, and easy access to the mall only challenge is climbing up and down those roads with a small car need a bigger engine ;)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nizaam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We stayed here in February 2014. Sadly the owner had just passed away, so not sure what is going to happen with this little gem. The lady who was covering temporarily was lovely and very helpful.

We stayed in the Loerie Cabin which is a wonderful bamboo / wood building overlooking the sea; the lodge was very unusual in a good way. We also had a peek into the honeymoon lodge which looked even nicer and very private.

To get to Wilderness Bushcamp, you have to drive up a long and steep driveway but the views are well worth it. A fairly large road goes right through the middle of Wilderness, but from the lodges you don't hear or see it at all.

Instead you get rewarded with beautiful sunset views and you hear birds and the ocean.There is a small kitchen unit and BBQ facilities.
It is basic accommodation, but clean and unusual. We loved it.

The Lapa lodge is smaller, more modern, clean and freshly decorated but less private than the Loerie lodge and the honeymoon lodge. It's less unusual than the other 2 we saw.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Claudizzle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Wonderful stay, wonderful people, phenomenal view. What else in life do you need! Wow. Definitely worth a visit.The honeymoon suite is particularly fantastic. This must be one of the best places to stay in the Garden Route and most importantly affordable and great value for money!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CathsDay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Stayed here with my 12 yr old son. As it was winter the walks on the property were not in use, but that was only a minor concern. I booked unit 6 because of the reviews here - and I agree- the most spectacular views. Basic but clean and adequate accommodation, no complaints. Loved the birds all around. You need a car to come and go - no walking into town for most - steep long road.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
0.1 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
1.3 mi away
Hilltop Country Lodge
Hilltop Country Lodge
#4 of 5 in Wilderness
43 reviews
2.3 mi away
Oakhurst Farm Cottages
Oakhurst Farm Cottages
#1 of 41 in Wilderness
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
7 Passes Tented Camp
7 Passes Tented Camp
#3 of 41 in Wilderness
84 reviews
2.5 mi away
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
415 reviews
0.3 mi away
Boardwalk Lodge
Boardwalk Lodge
#5 of 41 in Wilderness
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness Bushcamp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Bushcamp

Address: Beacon Road | Aloe Heights, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Wilderness
Price Range: £32 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wilderness Bushcamp is tucked away in 9 hectares of indigenous vegetation on the very top of a hill overlooking the Indian Ocean. Our self-catering units are uniquely positioned to enjoy the peace and seclusion of our hilltop location while also enjoying the best views in Wilderness. Each of our units has a private patio with breathtaking views of Wilderness lagoon or the famous Wilderness beach, and it's just a short walk down the hill to Wilderness itself where you can enjoy all that this beautiful village has to offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wilderness Bush Camp Hotel Wilderness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing