We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect little restaurant with great service and food”

The Girls Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 28 Restaurants in Wilderness
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Romantic, Kids, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located in the heart of the Wilderness village, we are a multi award winning, Top 10 Restaurant on the Garden Route. Come and relax in a cosy, African inspired atmosphere highlighted by stunning artwork by local artist, Peter Pharoah. We have an imaginative menu combining high quality local produce with distinctly different flavours. Popular menu items include fresh linefish, succulent prawns, tender steaks and flavoursome curries all cooked to perfection in our open kitchen where you can see the chef at work. Our award winning wine list has been carefully chosen to offer a wide selection of local South African wines to enhance your dining experience. We have handmade crafts in our curio shop upstairs and free Wi-Fi available. We look forward to welcoming at The Girls
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect little restaurant with great service and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We got tipped to visit this restaurant, it doesn't look very amazing on the outside but it is a hidden gem. We had great service from (surprise) the girls :) and a perfect dinner here. We had such a good time, I think we were the last ones to leave that night and if we are ever in SA again, we will definetely try to go back there, very cosy environment yet high quality food, great!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank fem020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,388 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    963
    327
    76
    16
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Knysna, South Africa
1 review
“The trend in modern cuisine is alive here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Discarding the pomp and ceremony, great food in a great environment! This guy is an inspired chef, young enough to take chances with a great mind for flavor pairings - it was a really wonderful meal. Leading the trend in our own backyard to create stunning meals in a convivial atmosphere... Truly memorable, I'd love to come back again for more flavors!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank DesignDevelopAdvert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great place for romantic dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

We spent a lovely evening here (in March 2013). In between the delicious meals (I had the prawns and my partner tried the trio of steaks with different sauces) we browsed amongst the gifts upstairs and ended up buying a lot of birthday presents for friends back home. The staff were welcoming and friendly.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank JoJo100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
65 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A must visit!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

What a unique restaurant experience on so many levels. Part bistro, part curio shop this absolute gem is a must-visit. The fish was extremely fresh and cooked perfectly with 3 different linefish to choose from as well as their speciality prawn dishes. There was also a number of meat and Thai curry options. Along with the food what really stood out was the attitude from the staff. From the front of house staff to the chef that came out from the kitchen to ask how our food was, everyone was friendly and made us feel very welcome. The frozen honey cheesecake was a taste sensation of note and when we told the chef he offered to give us the recipe to take home. Now how many restaurants would do that...?! Congrats to all for making The Girls stand out from so many generic dining establishments that lack the effort and desire to go the extra mile. It really does count!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank capetownmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilderness
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Never a bad meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Wow, the Girls have been going for some years & in all that time neither Judy & I nor any of our guests have had anything but rave reviews about their restaurant. The service is friendly, efficient & knowledgeable, and the food is simply spectacular. Not a huge menu, but enough to satisfy all needs, & the food is all freshly prepared. Well done - keep it up!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PorcupinePie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Girls Restaurant also viewed

 
Wilderness, Western Cape
 
Wilderness, Western Cape
Wilderness, Western Cape
 

Been to The Girls Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing