We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Piece of paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Haus am Strand - On the Beach
Ranked #8 of 57 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We were very lucky to be given a voucher for a weekend at Haus Am Strand, donated to the Cancer Relay for Life by owner Rita. The manager, Joe, was very friendly and welcoming and popped in from time to time to see if there was anything we needed. We were very impressed with the standard of finishes, all the way from the heated towel rail to the jacuzzi bath, which was an absolute treat! Going to sleep and waking up with the sounds of the sea right outside was a wonderful way to de-stress. We loved sitting outside with our morning cup of coffee watching the early birds walking their dogs on the beach. I would highly recommend this as a perfect couples destination. Thank you to all for a wonderful weekend.

Room Tip: For couples I would recommend asking for a suite with a jacuzzi bath.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DebbyVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (379)
There are newer reviews for Haus am Strand - On the Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 379 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2013

It is true that this property has a wonderful location, just yards from a magnificent beach. However to be greeted on arrrival by a cleaning lady who just handed over the keys is not a good idea. We did not expect the fridge to be stocked, but we did expect to find a pack explaining how everything worked - or at least to be met by someone who could help.
In the morning a chap came around explaining that the owner had left to go to Germany for a while, which is fair enough, but as an owner you have a responsibility to ensure guests are welcomed properly. Having a great location is not everything.
The rooms were ok, a little functional, perhaps, and Wilderness itself is a fascinating place with some beautiful walks and plenty to do.

Room Tip: Upstairs room have great views.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scuffer28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013 via mobile

Location location location. We stayed upstairs and the view from the balcony is dreamlike. Even though there is a busy road behind the house, the beautiful sound of the ocean envelopes the senses. The attention to detail is a great asset to this wonderful guesthouse. This was a big highlight on our trip to South Africa. I look forward to returning to this special place.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sebocero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Be very careful when booking this accommodation as we have just encountered a very bad experience.We stayed there for several days in 2012 and 2013 and made a booking for 2014. It is an idyllic spot showed by our returns.We made a booking request direct with the owner Rita but got no reply.Thinking her email address was no longer in use we made another request through "Rooms for Africa". In the meantime Rita got in touch and accepted our booking.Several days later Rita emailed us saying sorry someone had got in before us and we could not have our chosen accommodation but offered us alternatives. This was not acceptable to us we wanted the same we had had previously.I established the rogue booking was for a longer period.!Several days later we had a confirmation of our booking from "Rooms for Africa" Whether the reasons given are true or not you would think booking with the owner could be relied upon.She doesnt like bookings through agents as she has to pay commision

Room Tip: The Sea Cottage has barbecue facilities making it Self Catering
Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank JAHEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

This place is heaven on earth. All the rooms are sea facing and even can see the dolphins from you're room. You got direct access to the beach and this is a private beach right in front off you.

The room is spacious, well equipt and very clean. Rooms get cleaned daily and everything is to perfection.

The restaurants and shops is in walking distance from the guesthouse. This a very causual upmarket little town and close to a lot off places to go to and things to do.

Magic !!! Awesome !!!

Room Tip: All rooms are sea facing so it will not make a difference.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gretchen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Travel Exclusively African organised our 5 week self drive tour of the Western Cape and our stay at Haus Am Strand in Wilderness for 3 nights was a perfect example of the quality of accommodation. Rita is justifiably very proud of the work she has carried out on this property which is clean, comfortable, well equipped and the biggest bonus of all - 20 steps to the beach. There is a huge beach at the bottom of the garden which is perfect for early morning walks. Literally just over the road is the village of Wilderness with an abundance of shops and restaurants. (Would highly recommend "The Girls Restaurant" for exceptional quality). Everything you need is literally on the doorstep with no need to use the car unless you want to go a little further afield for some of the amazing views in this area. Sitting on veranda listening to the waves was incredibly relaxing and would definitely rate this accommodation as one of the best that we stayed in during our 5 week trip. There is no doubt that we will return and next time hopefully stay longer. All the best to Rita and Joe and a huge thank you.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Right on the beach! My boyfriend and I were so taken with the location we didn’t want to eat out so we had dinner on the balcony. The rooms were beautiful, proximity to all the shops was amazing so close to all the restaurants in town, wilderness is such a lovely place, you can wonder along the beaches into the town to cute coffee shops and have a luxurious dinner in the evening. Make sure you visit the national park for the waterfall walk, it’s a must, but be warned there is an admission to the national park!

Room Tip: All the rooms are amazing.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
0.2 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
0.1 mi away
On the Beach Wilderness
On the Beach Wilderness
#3 of 57 in Wilderness
255 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beach Villa Wilderness
Beach Villa Wilderness
#2 of 57 in Wilderness
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Xanadu Guest Villa
Xanadu Guest Villa
#7 of 57 in Wilderness
358 reviews
2.2 mi away
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
347 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dune Guest Lodge
Dune Guest Lodge
#4 of 57 in Wilderness
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haus am Strand - On the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haus am Strand - On the Beach

Address: 83 Sands Road | directly on the beach, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range: £42 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Haus am Strand - On the Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful, romantic Guesthouse directly on the Beach. Large exotic garden flowing right onto the beach, with sun-loungers and grill. All apartments are on suite with Jacuzzi/Shower. The rooms are nicely furnished and supplied with heaters, heating blankets, towel heaters, some with underfloor heating, gowns and extra blankets for your comfort. Sat-TV in all rooms. WIFI FREE ! Most of them come with kitchenette and Jacuzzis. Two have facilities to make a small breakfast only, i.e. fridge, toaster, kettle... but not a kitchen. We offer breakfast with free coffee in our Partner-Restaurants, 2 minutes walk. There are about 12 Restaurants, Supermarket, Bars, Doctors, Postoffice, Bars, Laundry and small shops in the village across the road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Haus am Strand - On the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing