We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Guesthouse in Perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Haus am Strand - On the Beach
Ranked #7 of 57 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Millet, AB
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect Guesthouse in Perfect location”
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Our 13 days at Haus am Strand were everything we had hoped and more. We spent 6 days in the Mini Suite and 7 days in the Garden Suite. The suites are decorated very nicely and the whole guesthouse location on the beach is perfect. Many superb restaurants are only a 5 min walk from the guesthouse. When I booked it was hard to know how the location would work without a car but it was a perfect location to access the little village by walking. Joe, we love you, thanks for everything.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    35
    15
    4
    1
See reviews for
63
246
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Very nice and clean rooms/ apartments directly to the beach. Nice garden with different areas and sun beds. no breakfast. Nearly little city area with restaurants and supermarkets. Good restaurant - the girls

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annika2101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Anglia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Many thanks for our wonderful one night stay in your fabulous beach house, the experience will stay with us forever. Although not honeymooners, the views of the Ocean and the ambience of the house was amazing, and had a truly magical feel. The restaurants were across the road where breakfast was available, and very good to.
The décor of the house was done to a very high standard, and was perfect in tasteful blues and whites.
Our host was extremely welcoming and helpful on our arrival, and we wished we could have stayed longer. Many thanks again for a "Once in a life time moment '!"

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trevbeadle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberley, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Once again we had the most perfect stay at our favourite paradise location. Rita, Mike and Joe gave us a warm and heartfelt welcome; it felt more like coming home than going away on holiday! The breath taking view provides your tired soul with an endless source of beauty, bliss and serenity. Watching whales over your morning coffee from your own terrace - life just cannot be more picture perfect! Thank you Haus am Strand for always providing us with happy memories that keeps us going until our next holiday - we cannot wait to return next year!

Room Tip: Beach Bungalow - Beautiful view of the garden and the magnificent ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngVoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Münchaurach
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We had the traveller suite and the Sea Cottage for a family of five. The suites were nicely set up. They had a very nice garden and the view to the ocean and the access to the beach was just perfect.
One of our best locations during our vacation in South Africa in 2013.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeeDee_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We were very lucky to be given a voucher for a weekend at Haus Am Strand, donated to the Cancer Relay for Life by owner Rita. The manager, Joe, was very friendly and welcoming and popped in from time to time to see if there was anything we needed. We were very impressed with the standard of finishes, all the way from the heated towel rail to the jacuzzi bath, which was an absolute treat! Going to sleep and waking up with the sounds of the sea right outside was a wonderful way to de-stress. We loved sitting outside with our morning cup of coffee watching the early birds walking their dogs on the beach. I would highly recommend this as a perfect couples destination. Thank you to all for a wonderful weekend.

Room Tip: For couples I would recommend asking for a suite with a jacuzzi bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebbyVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

It is true that this property has a wonderful location, just yards from a magnificent beach. However to be greeted on arrrival by a cleaning lady who just handed over the keys is not a good idea. We did not expect the fridge to be stocked, but we did expect to find a pack explaining how everything worked - or at least to be met by someone who could help.
In the morning a chap came around explaining that the owner had left to go to Germany for a while, which is fair enough, but as an owner you have a responsibility to ensure guests are welcomed properly. Having a great location is not everything.
The rooms were ok, a little functional, perhaps, and Wilderness itself is a fascinating place with some beautiful walks and plenty to do.

Room Tip: Upstairs room have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scuffer28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
0.2 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
0.2 mi away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
666 reviews
0.1 mi away
On the Beach Wilderness
On the Beach Wilderness
#2 of 57 in Wilderness
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Beach Villa Wilderness
Beach Villa Wilderness
#3 of 57 in Wilderness
286 reviews
0.8 mi away
Xanadu Guest Villa
Xanadu Guest Villa
#6 of 57 in Wilderness
355 reviews
0.8 mi away
Wilderness Manor Guest House
Wilderness Manor Guest House
#1 of 57 in Wilderness
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haus am Strand - On the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haus am Strand - On the Beach

Property: Haus am Strand - On the Beach
Address: 83 Sands Road | directly on the beach, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Haus am Strand - On the Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful, romantic Guesthouse directly on the Beach. Large exotic garden flowing right onto the beach, with sun-loungers and grill. All apartments are on suite with Jacuzzi/Shower. The rooms are nicely furnished and supplied with heaters, heating blankets, towel heaters, some with underfloor heating, gowns and extra blankets for your comfort. Sat-TV in all rooms. WIFI FREE ! Most of them come with kitchenette and Jacuzzis. Two have facilities to make a small breakfast only, i.e. fridge, toaster, kettle... but not a kitchen. We offer breakfast with free coffee in our Partner-Restaurants, 2 minutes walk. There are about 12 Restaurants, Supermarket, Bars, Doctors, Postoffice, Bars, Laundry and small shops in the village across the road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Haus am Strand - On the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing