We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect honeymoon spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Haus am Strand - On the Beach
Ranked #8 of 57 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect honeymoon spot”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Our stay at Haus am Strand was an unforgettable experience. The central location of this guest house makes it ideal for exploring Wilderness. The beautifully decorated honeymoon suite was equipped with everything we needed to make our time in Wilderness most comfortable and pleasant. Even on a rainy day there was more than enough to do. The view from our balcony was magnificent and it was such a joy falling asleep to the lull of the ocean every night.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aniel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    35
    15
    4
    1
See reviews for
63
246
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 March 2014

There were three couples - my wife's parents who are seasoned travelers, my wife's sister and husband and us. We were accommodated in Garden, Traveller and Mini suites - all spotlessly clean and comfortable. We were met and made welcome immediately, nothing was too much trouble (we needed braai/b'bque tongs and these were provided by Mike), we looked forward each morning as we were drinking our coffee, to our visit by Mike and discussing the options to explore, restaurant recommendations, and discussion about the probable weather. Walks along the beach were delightful. Close to George, Knysna, Plett, Tsitsikamma and the Cango Caves. The Saturday morning market in Sedgefield is well worth visiting - very different and the offering is varied, not your typical market. All told, quite a special hideaway.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andreUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hausamstrand, Inhaber at Haus am Strand - On the Beach, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Hallo Andre,
Many thanks for visiting us! We are glad that all was good and satisfying for you and we hope that you will visit us again!
Best wishes for you, Yours Rita Feldman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

My wife and I enjoyed a wonderfull week stay in this fabulous B & B, we stayed here in 2013 and enjoyed the super experience, the staff are most attentive and the rooms are beautifully furnished and spotlessly clean with great views over the beach and Indian Ocean.
The location of this B & B is perfect with the beach at the foot of the lawned area and the town 200 metres in the opposite direction, my wife and I are sorting out dates to return in 2015, thank you Rita for making our stay with you so enjoyable.

Janet & John.
West Midlands, U.K.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hausamstrand, Inhaber at Haus am Strand - On the Beach, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Dear Janet and John,
Its so rewarding and encouraging to have nice words. When people appreciate beautiful things and the work of others, its fuel for life and creates happiness and energy. People like you make the world a nicer place to live.Thank you for this lovely review, Yours Rita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knysna, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We loved our suite at the Haus am Strand, sunny, beautifully furnished and spotlessly clean it had the most fantastic views. Rita, the owner is lovely, nothing is too much trouble and Joe her property manager is delightful. The location is superb, everything you need is available locally but it is a great base to expore the surrounding attraction. We will certainly be going back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hausamstrand, Inhaber at Haus am Strand - On the Beach, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review.
I appreciate your efforts! I am happy you liked it and it will be great to see you again.
Thank you, Yours, Rita, Joe and Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We were recommended this idyllic guest house and were not disappointed. We stepped straight out our patio doors onto a lovely garden and straight onto the beach. The room was spacious, comfortable and clean. There are a couple of lovely restaurants very close by. We can highly recommend this place and will definitely be returning in the future.

Room Tip: The beach cottage is located on the ground floor and gives access directly onto the gardens and beac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

I had the most fabulous time for 5days. Dont even need a car. Everything in 5min walk away., with the best pizza place across the Bongo's pizza lounge. I could do this for much longer. Everything more than perfect :) beautifull view, awesome spacious rooms, always clean and fesh, nice beds and soft white linen ...listening to the sound of the ocean all night. Just like a dream come true. Thank you Rita for all your detial to make it such a perfect place to stay. Joe thank you for always popping in and make sure everything is perfect. Will defintely be back Love Hes

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hes D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seeheim-jugenheim, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We found it by the way...and we liked it.
3 days later we toured accourding our GardenrouteTimetable
and after coming back we stayed again... one more for 2 days :-) cause the house on the beach is lovely

Advantages: best located.
No problem to find supermarket or locations.
In the near there are some nice restaurants with very good offers - best quality!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria Rita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
0.2 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
0.2 mi away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
667 reviews
0.1 mi away
On the Beach Wilderness
On the Beach Wilderness
#2 of 57 in Wilderness
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Beach Villa Wilderness
Beach Villa Wilderness
#3 of 57 in Wilderness
286 reviews
0.8 mi away
Xanadu Guest Villa
Xanadu Guest Villa
#6 of 57 in Wilderness
355 reviews
0.8 mi away
Wilderness Manor Guest House
Wilderness Manor Guest House
#1 of 57 in Wilderness
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haus am Strand - On the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haus am Strand - On the Beach

Property: Haus am Strand - On the Beach
Address: 83 Sands Road | directly on the beach, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Haus am Strand - On the Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful, romantic Guesthouse directly on the Beach. Large exotic garden flowing right onto the beach, with sun-loungers and grill. All apartments are on suite with Jacuzzi/Shower. The rooms are nicely furnished and supplied with heaters, heating blankets, towel heaters, some with underfloor heating, gowns and extra blankets for your comfort. Sat-TV in all rooms. WIFI FREE ! Most of them come with kitchenette and Jacuzzis. Two have facilities to make a small breakfast only, i.e. fridge, toaster, kettle... but not a kitchen. We offer breakfast with free coffee in our Partner-Restaurants, 2 minutes walk. There are about 12 Restaurants, Supermarket, Bars, Doctors, Postoffice, Bars, Laundry and small shops in the village across the road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Haus am Strand - On the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing