We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Destination Ever” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Haus am Strand

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Haus am Strand
Ranked #7 of 56 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
“Best Destination Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We've visited several Guest Houses within the last 2 weeks and ended at Haus am Strand before returning to Pretoria. The hospitality, the VIEW, the clean cozy suite... its all an amazing experience. I can recommend this to all, the best holiday ever!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are amazing!!! but the top balcony suite is the best. A complete 180 degree view!!! Beyond...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kobie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hausamstrand, Inhaber at Haus am Strand, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Hallo, Kobie,

I want to thank you for your kind words and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Its nice reviews which encourage us to carry on and strive for better. We hope to see you again.
Thank you, Rita, Joe and Mike.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    33
    14
    3
    1
See reviews for
60
235
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the Ocean Suite for a week. It was absolutely lovely! Thank you to the manager Joe who went above and beyond to ensure that our every need was met! The rooms are beautiful and clean and with a view like this, who can ask for more? We will be coming back soon!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mario S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordons Bay
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

We spent 5 nights in Beach Bungalow .....even though it was "off season" the weather was glorious, wonderful walks along the beach....the apartment is very comfortable & even though it is one long room the bed does not intrude on the lounge part. Joe, was extremely helpful with tips of where to visit/eat etc. in all the atmosphere was really great. The house & gardens were beautifully kept & a credit to all concerned. Can,t wait to return !

Room Tip: Beach Bungalow is really special...great view & bed & probably one of the most private of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RandC-GB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hausamstrand, Inhaber at Haus am Strand, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Mr. Kortum,
Thank you for your nice review .
We are happy that you liked it in our house and we thank you for visiting us.
See you soon again. Yours Rita and Joe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kigali, Rwanda
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed at Haus am Strand in a Garden Cottage right on the ocean front in April.

Haus am Strand certainly lives up to the description on the internet. It is set in beautiful gardens with direct access to a pristine Blue Flag beach where one could go for lovely long walks.

However our check in procedure was rather cumbersome as there is no physical reception area, and not a manager in sight.

It might be a good idea to call shortly before your arrival so management would be aware and ready to meet you.

A room attendant was kind enough to tell us which room we are in and we then made our own way with our luggage.

Our room was beautifully decorated, with fantastic views over the ocean. There is a well equipped little kitchenette if you chose to self cater.

Wall heaters are provided and very much appreciated as it was quite chilly when we stayed there.

However as a couple we booked a double room, expecting a double bed. On our arrival we found two single beds pushed together and not even made up as a double - so we had two single beds with two single thin little duvets.

A hairdryer is provided yet every time we plugged it in all the light would trip - thankfully they provide candles so we did not have to stumble about in the dark to find the DB Board (situated on the right in the closet should you intend to stay there)

There was no information file on recommendations of local restaurants, emergency numbers or contact numbers for management. However there is a bell at the gate saying 'please ring for immediate attention' After ringing it three times we received no response - and we waited at least 10 mins.

Our check out was equally cumbersome as there was once again no sign of management and had it not been for a kind room attendant that waved us into the direction of where the manager might - he actually never showed up and we settled out bill with the room attendant.

All and all a lovely Guest House - but the lack of interest from management is almost obscene.

The staff and setting is beautiful but don't expect anything from the management - we never even met them in our two day stay.

Room Tip: if you are a couple make sure you actually get a double bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheIntrepidFox0408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset West, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

I will be visiting Haus am Strand in the near future. It is perfectly located, endless view of the Wilderness coastline and 5 minutes walk from shop and diners.
Thanks to Frau Rita Fledmann and Herr Joe

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Johan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

I stayed at Haus am Strand for a week during my university break, and it was lovely.
The owner, Rita, was incredibly friendly and accommodating, her enthusiasm for the guest house made my stay all the better. The two managers were also very helpful. We stayed in the traveller suite which was quaintly furnished and very tidy and well-kept. It has a beautiful view of the ocean (even from the bed), and the beach is a couple of steps away. It is apparent that the owner invests a lot of time and effort in renovating, decorating and upkeep of the apartments. I very highly recommend this guest house to anyone visiting Wilderness!

Room Tip: Although we stayed in the traveler suite, the honeymoon suite did look amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EirinnDrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Our stay at Haus am Strand was an unforgettable experience. The central location of this guest house makes it ideal for exploring Wilderness. The beautifully decorated honeymoon suite was equipped with everything we needed to make our time in Wilderness most comfortable and pleasant. Even on a rainy day there was more than enough to do. The view from our balcony was magnificent and it was such a joy falling asleep to the lull of the ocean every night.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aniel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
0.2 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
0.2 mi away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
0.1 mi away
On the Beach Wilderness
On the Beach Wilderness
#2 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Beach Villa Wilderness
Beach Villa Wilderness
#3 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dune Guest Lodge
Dune Guest Lodge
#4 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.8 mi away
Wilderness Manor Guest House
Wilderness Manor Guest House
#1 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haus am Strand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haus am Strand

Property: Haus am Strand
Address: 83 Sands Road, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Haus am Strand 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful, romantic Guesthouse directly on the Beach. Large exotic garden flowing right onto the beach, with sun-loungers and grill. All apartments are on suite with Jacuzzi/Shower. The rooms are nicely furnished and supplied with heaters, heating blankets, towel heaters, some with underfloor heating, gowns and extra blankets for your comfort. Sat-TV in all rooms, except Mini Suite. WIFI FREE ! Most of them come with kitchenette and Jacuzzis. Two have facilities to make a small breakfast only, i.e. fridge, toaster, kettle... but not a kitchen. We offer breakfast with free coffee in our Partner-Restaurants, 2 minutes walk. There are about 12 Restaurants, Supermarket, Bars, Doctors, Postoffice, Bars, Laundry and small shops in the village across the road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Haus am Strand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing