We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Haus am Strand - On the Beach
Ranked #6 of 56 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our overnight stay”
Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our overnight stay in the honeymoon suite. The suite was spotlessly clean and beautifully furnished in a beach style. Bed very comfortable and an amazing view of the sea. Joe the manager was very friendly and gave us good tips on where to have supper. Kitchen is well equipped.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nanette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    35
    15
    4
    1
See reviews for
63
246
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuwait
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I had a lovely nights at these apartment
nice location and nice furniture
and d friendly people who rent these apartment

------------------------------------------------------
-----------------------------------------------------

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ralshaiji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We just loved our stay at Haus am Strand!
The rooms were just beautiful, decor, furniture etc & very clean, the bed was comfortable & the view onto the beach was superb!
We had a great dinner at a restaurant just across the road (at "The Girls").
Wilderness is a totally idyllic spot! I'm very happy to recommend "Haus" & indeed the whole of Wilderness!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alisdair-McCrudden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

You cant dispute the beautiful setting and location of Haus Am Strand. But don't expect anyone to go the extra mile - no-one to greet u - once u pay, no confirmation of booking or map and details. No instructions for anything in the actual suites.. hot water geyser wasn't turned on prior to arrival.. coffee machine from the 1980's and doesn't heat water sufficiently.. bath towels do not even wrap around you.. no-one wipes the condensation from the ocean off any outside furniture and place furniture cushions in the morning.. As we enjoy attention to detail and hospitality venues to go the extra mile, Haus Am Strand was a let down.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulWReynell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hausamstrand, Inhaber at Haus am Strand - On the Beach, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Mr. Reynell,
Our sincere apologies for not living up to our usual high standards. We are extremely sorry that you had such an unpleasant experience at our guesthouse. Therefore we have refunded you in full.
You were greeted by our housekeeper and then by the manager who arrived an hour later.
The geyser took 30 minutes to heat, as we are cooperating in a nation wide effort to save energy. Joe apologized, and also told you that you would only have hot water in half an hour, to which you replied that it was okay, as you only needed to shower later on.
Although the coffee machine is an entry level one ( and is still in the guarantee period), we have found it to be the most practical and easiest to handle for most guests.
Bath towels measure 60 x170. We do not offer bath sheets which are used for saunas, but we supply Beachtowels.
There should be an information sheet in the wardrobe with instructions and some what to do info.
Our self catering suites are equipped with cushions for the garden, we do apologise for not wiping the moisture in this instance.
We are very sorry that we could not meet your expectations, but hope that the refund did make you happy.
Sincerely, Rita Feldman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We've visited several Guest Houses within the last 2 weeks and ended at Haus am Strand before returning to Pretoria. The hospitality, the VIEW, the clean cozy suite... its all an amazing experience. I can recommend this to all, the best holiday ever!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are amazing!!! but the top balcony suite is the best. A complete 180 degree view!!! Beyond...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kobie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hausamstrand, Inhaber at Haus am Strand - On the Beach, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Hallo, Kobie,

I want to thank you for your kind words and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Its nice reviews which encourage us to carry on and strive for better. We hope to see you again.
Thank you, Rita, Joe and Mike.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the Ocean Suite for a week. It was absolutely lovely! Thank you to the manager Joe who went above and beyond to ensure that our every need was met! The rooms are beautiful and clean and with a view like this, who can ask for more? We will be coming back soon!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mario S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordons Bay
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We spent 5 nights in Beach Bungalow .....even though it was "off season" the weather was glorious, wonderful walks along the beach....the apartment is very comfortable & even though it is one long room the bed does not intrude on the lounge part. Joe, was extremely helpful with tips of where to visit/eat etc. in all the atmosphere was really great. The house & gardens were beautifully kept & a credit to all concerned. Can,t wait to return !

Room Tip: Beach Bungalow is really special...great view & bed & probably one of the most private of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RandC-GB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hausamstrand, Inhaber at Haus am Strand - On the Beach, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Mr. Kortum,
Thank you for your nice review .
We are happy that you liked it in our house and we thank you for visiting us.
See you soon again. Yours Rita and Joe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
0.2 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
0.2 mi away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
659 reviews
0.1 mi away
On the Beach Wilderness
On the Beach Wilderness
#2 of 56 in Wilderness
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Beach Villa Wilderness
Beach Villa Wilderness
#3 of 56 in Wilderness
280 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dune Guest Lodge
Dune Guest Lodge
#4 of 56 in Wilderness
403 reviews
0.8 mi away
Wilderness Manor Guest House
Wilderness Manor Guest House
#1 of 56 in Wilderness
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haus am Strand - On the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haus am Strand - On the Beach

Property: Haus am Strand - On the Beach
Address: 83 Sands Road | directly on the beach, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Haus am Strand - On the Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful, romantic Guesthouse directly on the Beach. Large exotic garden flowing right onto the beach, with sun-loungers and grill. All apartments are on suite with Jacuzzi/Shower. The rooms are nicely furnished and supplied with heaters, heating blankets, towel heaters, some with underfloor heating, gowns and extra blankets for your comfort. Sat-TV in all rooms. WIFI FREE ! Most of them come with kitchenette and Jacuzzis. Two have facilities to make a small breakfast only, i.e. fridge, toaster, kettle... but not a kitchen. We offer breakfast with free coffee in our Partner-Restaurants, 2 minutes walk. There are about 12 Restaurants, Supermarket, Bars, Doctors, Postoffice, Bars, Laundry and small shops in the village across the road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Haus am Strand - On the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing