We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Pink Lodge on the Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Pink Lodge on the Beach
Ranked #18 of 56 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

The location of this guesthouse is perfect on top of the dunes, directly above the ocean. This results in fantastic sea views and a very short walk down the dunes to the very clean beach. The staff is friendly and the manager very helpful.
Sleeping quality could be better if the rooms had aircon, especially for the hot summer days.
Having a full breakfast included could be considered instead of charging extra for hot breakfast, which would give an even better value for money. The lady who served the breakfast did not really give us a feeling of being welcome.
Overall a very good experience thanks to their manager Steve, will stay there again.

Room Tip: A room with sea view is a must for this perfect location
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TouroperatorHajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    64
    19
    9
    4
See reviews for
61
118
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed at this B&B during Dec 2013 and paid R3,000 for 2 nights. We had the following concerns:
1. Our bedroom's, the Hadeda suite, entrance was via the kitchen! (see attached photos). This resulted in us smelling all the food being coooked and hearing the noise when guests were entertained in the lounge area.
2. The bathroom is from 1980 era and it had chipped tiles. There was also a light on the wall next to the shower head and with the shower head spraying water over it, it caused a shock risk.
3. Only a continental breakfast is included, you have to pay extra for sausage and eggs! The continental also did not include muffins or cold meat.
4. The aircon in our room did not work - mid-summer!

We brought the above matters to the guesthouse manager's attention, but found him extremely arrogant and sarcastic.

There are other better B&B in Wilderness...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hein H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

Loved it! Cute little B&B next to the ocean!!! Helpful and friendly staff! We stayed downstairs in the Hadedah suite. Only negative point was that they served us a full breakfast without asking and in the end we had to pay extra for it! Still its a place to come back too again!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Charlott L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

Guys this wa san experience of a life time. I will most certainly be back, this time with my wife. The part of the plce that excites me is where the place is sitauted and the fact that breakfast is served with aview.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alfred H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

Located at the beach, great location with an amazing view; listen to the ocean and relax; best spot to go for long walks on the beach, enjoy the sun or reading a book; very clean; friendly staff; could consider renewing the bathrooms; was a bit cold in late November without heating (however, enough blankets were available)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hkoepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

A day couldn't start better! We felt very welcome with our little one (2). Just a few steps down the stairs and you walk on a fantastic beach. One thing though, unfortunately, internet was unstable and was difficult to use.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Bilimungwe N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

We have stayed every year for last 6 or 7 years, the last 18 months in particular have been excellent. Very friendly and accommodating service, nothing has been too much trouble.Position on the beach and proximity to so much to do in the general area makes an ideal holiday destination.







  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank MikeRobinsonCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
1.0 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
0.8 mi away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
1.4 mi away
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Wilderness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Haus am Strand
Haus am Strand
#7 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beach Villa Wilderness
Beach Villa Wilderness
#3 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dune Guest Lodge
Dune Guest Lodge
#4 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pink Lodge on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pink Lodge on the Beach

Property: The Pink Lodge on the Beach
Address: 45 Die Duin, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pink Lodge on the Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Pink Lodge on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pink Lodge On The Beach Hotel Wilderness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing