We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple and quaint :)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Old Trading Post
Ranked #21 of 58 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 January 2013

Simple, relaxed and closer to the dam than the beach....this little place was good value for money. Helpful staff and close to everything (not that anything in Wilderness is far). Clean and breakfasts were good. Overall a nice place to stay for a few nights if you want to check out Wilderness and don't want to pay the high prices for the beachfront places.

Wilderness itself is just plain amazing! One of my fav places on the garden route - and I think it has better food than Knysna!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HopelessWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike and Harja R, Owner at The Old Trading Post, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. Glad you enjoyed the stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2013

We had one night in the Trading Post and only wished we could have stayed longer. It is a really delightful place full of character. We stayed in the old tin room which was charming and very comfortable. Our only criticism was the very small wash hand basin which my 6feet 4 inches tall husband found challenging!. Our hosts were extremely welcoming. The breakfast was superb and beautifully presented. The best we had on our trip to South Africa.The Trading Post is in a beautiful tranquil setting and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike and Harja R, Owner at The Old Trading Post, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2013

Thanks Anne for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. It is our pleasure to share our guest house, Wilderness and surrounds with our guests

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

We stopped at the Old Trading Post for one night and only wished we had stayed for more. It was a short drive off the N2 and a stones through from the lake and a perfect stop off on our way to PE. We took a walk to the bird hide after checking into our delightful Garden room complete with kitchen, The B&B has bundles of character and the owners Mike and Harja were most accomodating. We were up and out very earlier on the following day but managed to woof down what was a delightful breakfast. Highly recommended and we look forward to returning.
Nick & becky

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank NickWright5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike and Harja R, Owner at The Old Trading Post, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2013

Thank you for the review. We are glad you enjoyed the stay and nice meeting you both.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

We stopped at the Old Trading Post just for a night on the way from PE to Cape Town. The Wilderness is an ideal overnight stop with great beaches and enough good restaurants.

Our night at the Old Trading Post was perfectly fine. The price wasn't bad and the online booking was painless. It is located a little out of the way fairly far from the beaches and the town proper.

Our room was pretty hot when it was opened up - flat iron roof concentrates the sun during the day. The notices up on the walls explaining this and instructing very clearly on how many different ways we shouldn't use the air conditioner was a little curious.

Breakfast is normally only available form 7.30 to 8.30 - a pretty narrow range to my mind, but not something we knew when we put down time breakfast requested as 9am without comment from the proprietor. At 9.10 in the morning we were scolded and told to get to breakfast. I guess we were late and maybe we caught them on a bad day.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 11Skarab11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike and Harja R, Owner at The Old Trading Post, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, your comments regarding our location are appreciated. Wilderness is indeed a good stop-over along the Garden Route. Although we are not situated on the beach there are several lovely beaches withing 5 - 30 minutes drive from us, namely: Wilderness, Flat Rock, Kleinkrantz, Victoria Bay, Gerickes Point, Swartvlei, Myoli, Buffalo Bay and Herolds Bay. The popular local restaurants within 3 - 7 km include: Zucchini, Salinas, Sails, Pomodoros, The Girls, Blue Olive, Serendipity, Joplins and more. All major attractions of The Garden Route and Oudtshoorn are within one hour's drive. These make Wilderness the ideal base to explore the area.

The Old Trading Post situated amongst the wetlands and lakes of the National Park affording our guests a peaceful stay in a beautiful environment, yet close to everything, (For those not wishing to drive around a lot, our pool is enjoyed by all, we have bikes for hire and the nearby hiking trail is popular. We also provide dinner on prior request, whilst there are barbeque facilities for B&B and self-catering guests) All these fact contribute to why many of our overnight guests regret not staying longer.

The reviewer arrived late afternoon on a hot mid-summer day, the room was warm as it had been closed since the morning cleaning, but the air-con cools it within minutes. We have guidelines in order to be environmentally friendly and save electricity and avoid mis-use of the machine, also so that we can keep our rates as reasonable as possible.

Our breakfast (arrival) times are from 07h00 to 08h30. These times are a guideline which assists us in ensuring our freshly made fruit salad and cold buffet are still fresh when the last guests arrive and the cooked breakfast made on order. Late breakfast affects our daily routine, though we accept guests arriving earlier or up to 09h00 if requested and our schedule allows. On this particular occasion the reviewer requested 09h00 and only arrived after 09h20. Our check out time is 10h00 allowing 4 hours to prepare the rooms for the next arrivals. These are normal practices in our industry. Being a small B&B, and owner run (husband and wife team) with no assistance it is neccessary to have these guidelines for the effective management and to be ready for new guests expected after 14h00, though many guests arrive as early as 10h15. We apologise if the reviewer was offended that he was requested to attend breakfast (when already late for the agreed time!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

But the word is already out - see all the existing 5 star reviews. The Old Trading Post is a charming B&B, full of character & I suppose what equates to a historic building in South African terms.

It is perfectly situated off the main N2 road & overlooking the lake. Very good for birdwatching (including in the garden itself) & I believe Mike is an enthusiast. It is convenient for all the walking trails in the Cape Nature Wilderness reserve.

The rooms are delightful & individual. We selected the Garden room, but any of them would have done equally well.

Mike & Harja were perfect hosts.

The breakfast was not quite the best we had in SA, but it was very close to it & there is the option to eat either indoors or out.

If we are ever in Wilderness again this would be an automatic choice.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank tether_end
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike and Harja R, Owner at The Old Trading Post, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2012

Thanks for taking the time to write a review and for the positive comments. Much appreciated!!We love sharing our guest house and all that the surroundings offer - the views, scenery, birdlife and the peace and quiet .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2012

I stayed here with Mike and Harja for two nights on my trip up the N2 Garden Route. They have a beautiful property in a beautiful setting. This was by far the best guesthouse I stayed in during my 3 weeks in South Africa. Mike's breakfast is excellent. Especially enjoyed the cozy living area to mingle with other guests when getting in from my days excursions. I will definitely stay here again if I am ever lucky enough to return to Wilderness!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BryanClinton524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike and Harja R, Owner at The Old Trading Post, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2012

Good to hear it was the best Guest House experienced on your trip. Thanks! We are lucky to have had several similar comments from guest recently.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

We had a wonderful stay at The Old Trading Post and would stay again if we were ever back in South Africa around the Wilderness area. The hosts were very hospitable and were always willing to help whenever. Not only did we have a lovely breakfast we also came back for their evening meals which made for a relaxing evening after a tiring day. Thank you very much.
Rita and Malcolm Preen from England.

Room Tip: It is a small establishment so doesn't really matter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rita P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike and Harja R, Owner at The Old Trading Post, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, much appreciated! Glad you enjoyed your stay, and the meals. It was our pleasure!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
4.4 mi away
Wilderness on Sea B&B and Self Catering
1.4 mi away
Inn2Wilderness
Inn2Wilderness
#17 of 58 in Wilderness
132 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hildesheim Guest House
Hildesheim Guest House
#9 of 58 in Wilderness
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Waterside Lodge B&B, Wilderness
4.3 mi away
Haus am Strand - On the Beach
3.9 mi away
Mont Fleur - Wilderness
Mont Fleur - Wilderness
#29 of 58 in Wilderness
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Trading Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Trading Post

Address: 1.7 Km Down Die Vleie / the Lakes Road, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range: £45 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Trading Post 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Trading Post is situated in a peaceful rural environment on the outskirts of Wilderness and surrounded by the lakes and wetlands of the Wilderness Section of the Garden Route National Park. The Old Trading Post. It is only a few minutes drive to the beaches, popular restaurants and village of Wilderness. We are conveniently situated 1.7km off the main N2 national road. Take the turn-off to "Die Vleie" (meaning "The Lakes") about 5 km east of the village. We offer cosy and unique accommodation with both Bed & Breakfast and Self-catering options. Accommodation consists of: Strelitzia Cottage - a one bedroom self-catering cottage which sleeps a family of 2 adults and 2 children with en-suite bathroom with bath and shower. The Garden Room - a double bedroom with kitchenette and en-suite shower. Lara's Room - a double bedroom with en-suite shower and bath. The tin Room - with 2 single beds and en-suite shower. Facilities include: Free wireless internet, swimming pool, barbeque facilities, bicycle hire, canoe hire (subject to river conditions) laundry facilities and sunny veranda / terrace and garden. Rooms are well equipped with bar fridges, tea and coffee facilities, television heating and cooling. All rooms are non-smoking but smoking is permitted outdoors. Nearby are walking trails, bird hides in the national park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Old Trading Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing