We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Trading Post

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Old Trading Post
Ranked #20 of 56 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Spring Lake, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

The people were wonderful, the food and service and attention was fabulous. Beautiful setting and grounds, especially the four footed Dashchunds.......our favorites. They made us feel right at home. I hope we can return again at some point and recommend it highly to anyone going through the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrscapttom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike and Harja R, Owner at The Old Trading Post, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
Thanks for staying here and taking the time to write a review. Glad the dachshunds made you feel at home. They are just as special to us and enjoyed by many guests. Hope you had a fantastic SA holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    21
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
28
78
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

We've never been to Wildernis and it is a beautiful place. When we arrived at the Old Trading post, we were greeted by lovely owners, friendly and helpful. This place was really clean and neat and taken care of. We stayed in a lovely room which have everything you expect from a bed and breakfast.

The next morning breakfast was a delight, made by the owners themselves. Lovely atmosphere before going on your next trip. I would really not think twice returning here again in the future!
Thanx for a lovely experience of Wildernis!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bennie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike and Harja R, Owner at The Old Trading Post, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
Thanks Bennie for taking time to write a review, glad you enjoyed your stay, especially that as it is a while since you stayed here and can still remember what you enjoyed most. We hope you will return one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

We really enjoyed Wilderness. Lovely walks, a superb beach and good food at the 2 girls


The B&B is a lovely older building very well maintained, well positioned in a beautiful area with a superb garden. The owners were professionals and delivered.

There is one negative. We stayed in the honeymoon suite and the large en suite bathroom is essentially an alcove off the bedroom. I am be old fashioned but when I defecate I do like to have the privacy of a door between the toilet and the bedroom.
max

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank max4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike and Harja R, Owner at The Old Trading Post, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
Thanks Max for the review and compliments. Nice to know you enjoyed your stay as well as the good food in Wilderness. Regarding the bathroom, after much consideration and advice some years ago we decided not to partition the bathroom as it will detract from the general cosy atmosphere of the room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2013

Simple, relaxed and closer to the dam than the beach....this little place was good value for money. Helpful staff and close to everything (not that anything in Wilderness is far). Clean and breakfasts were good. Overall a nice place to stay for a few nights if you want to check out Wilderness and don't want to pay the high prices for the beachfront places.

Wilderness itself is just plain amazing! One of my fav places on the garden route - and I think it has better food than Knysna!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HopelessWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike and Harja R, Owner at The Old Trading Post, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. Glad you enjoyed the stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

We had one night in the Trading Post and only wished we could have stayed longer. It is a really delightful place full of character. We stayed in the old tin room which was charming and very comfortable. Our only criticism was the very small wash hand basin which my 6feet 4 inches tall husband found challenging!. Our hosts were extremely welcoming. The breakfast was superb and beautifully presented. The best we had on our trip to South Africa.The Trading Post is in a beautiful tranquil setting and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike and Harja R, Owner at The Old Trading Post, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
Thanks Anne for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. It is our pleasure to share our guest house, Wilderness and surrounds with our guests
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

We stopped at the Old Trading Post for one night and only wished we had stayed for more. It was a short drive off the N2 and a stones through from the lake and a perfect stop off on our way to PE. We took a walk to the bird hide after checking into our delightful Garden room complete with kitchen, The B&B has bundles of character and the owners Mike and Harja were most accomodating. We were up and out very earlier on the following day but managed to woof down what was a delightful breakfast. Highly recommended and we look forward to returning.
Nick & becky

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NickWright5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike and Harja R, Owner at The Old Trading Post, responded to this review, 23 January 2013
Thank you for the review. We are glad you enjoyed the stay and nice meeting you both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2013

We stopped at the Old Trading Post just for a night on the way from PE to Cape Town. The Wilderness is an ideal overnight stop with great beaches and enough good restaurants.

Our night at the Old Trading Post was perfectly fine. The price wasn't bad and the online booking was painless. It is located a little out of the way fairly far from the beaches and the town proper.

Our room was pretty hot when it was opened up - flat iron roof concentrates the sun during the day. The notices up on the walls explaining this and instructing very clearly on how many different ways we shouldn't use the air conditioner was a little curious.

Breakfast is normally only available form 7.30 to 8.30 - a pretty narrow range to my mind, but not something we knew when we put down time breakfast requested as 9am without comment from the proprietor. At 9.10 in the morning we were scolded and told to get to breakfast. I guess we were late and maybe we caught them on a bad day.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 11Skarab11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike and Harja R, Owner at The Old Trading Post, responded to this review, 18 January 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, your comments regarding our location are appreciated. Wilderness is indeed a good stop-over along the Garden Route. Although we are not situated on the beach there are several lovely beaches withing 5 - 30 minutes drive from us, namely: Wilderness, Flat Rock, Kleinkrantz, Victoria Bay, Gerickes Point, Swartvlei, Myoli, Buffalo Bay and Herolds Bay. The popular local restaurants within 3 - 7 km include: Zucchini, Salinas, Sails, Pomodoros, The Girls, Blue Olive, Serendipity, Joplins and more. All major attractions of The Garden Route and Oudtshoorn are within one hour's drive. These make Wilderness the ideal base to explore the area.

The Old Trading Post situated amongst the wetlands and lakes of the National Park affording our guests a peaceful stay in a beautiful environment, yet close to everything, (For those not wishing to drive around a lot, our pool is enjoyed by all, we have bikes for hire and the nearby hiking trail is popular. We also provide dinner on prior request, whilst there are barbeque facilities for B&B and self-catering guests) All these fact contribute to why many of our overnight guests regret not staying longer.

The reviewer arrived late afternoon on a hot mid-summer day, the room was warm as it had been closed since the morning cleaning, but the air-con cools it within minutes. We have guidelines in order to be environmentally friendly and save electricity and avoid mis-use of the machine, also so that we can keep our rates as reasonable as possible.

Our breakfast (arrival) times are from 07h00 to 08h30. These times are a guideline which assists us in ensuring our freshly made fruit salad and cold buffet are still fresh when the last guests arrive and the cooked breakfast made on order. Late breakfast affects our daily routine, though we accept guests arriving earlier or up to 09h00 if requested and our schedule allows. On this particular occasion the reviewer requested 09h00 and only arrived after 09h20. Our check out time is 10h00 allowing 4 hours to prepare the rooms for the next arrivals. These are normal practices in our industry. Being a small B&B, and owner run (husband and wife team) with no assistance it is neccessary to have these guidelines for the effective management and to be ready for new guests expected after 14h00, though many guests arrive as early as 10h15. We apologise if the reviewer was offended that he was requested to attend breakfast (when already late for the agreed time!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
4.3 mi away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
1.4 mi away
Inn2Wilderness
Inn2Wilderness
#17 of 56 in Wilderness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hildesheim Guest House
Hildesheim Guest House
#11 of 56 in Wilderness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Oakhurst Farm Cottages
Oakhurst Farm Cottages
#1 of 35 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
3.8 mi away
Kingfisher Country House
Kingfisher Country House
#12 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
5.1 mi away
Clairewood
Clairewood
#31 of 56 in Wilderness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Trading Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Trading Post

Property: The Old Trading Post
Address: 1.7 km down Die Vleie / The Lakes Road, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Trading Post 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Trading Post is situated in a peaceful rural environment on the outskirts of Wilderness and surrounded by the lakes and wetlands of the Wilderness Section of the Garden Route National Park. The Old Trading Post. It is only a few minutes drive to the beaches, popular restaurants and village of Wilderness. We are conveniently situated 1.7km off the main N2 national road. Take the turn-off to "Die Vleie" (meaning "The Lakes") about 5 km east of the village. We offer cosy and unique accommodation with both Bed & Breakfast and Self-catering options. Accommodation consists of: Strelitzia Cottage - a one bedroom self-catering cottage which sleeps a family of 2 adults and 2 children with en-suite bathroom with bath and shower. The Garden Room - a double bedroom with kitchenette and en-suite shower. Lara's Room - a double bedroom with en-suite shower and bath. The tin Room - with 2 single beds and en-suite shower. Facilities include: Free wireless internet, swimming pool, barbeque facilities, bicycle hire, canoe hire (subject to river conditions) laundry facilities and sunny veranda / terrace and garden. Rooms are well equipped with bar fridges, tea and coffee facilities, television heating and cooling. All rooms are non-smoking but smoking is permitted outdoors. Nearby are walking trails, bird hides in the national park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Expedia so you can book your The Old Trading Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing