We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay all over”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Old Trading Post
Ranked #21 of 57 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 December 2013

What a quiet and peaceful place! We could enjoy the hospitality of Mike and Harja for two days
and we liked it a lot. We stayed in Lara`s room with the extraordinary bathroom. Breakfast was a special treat every morning. The breakfast room was lovely decorated - and the food was great.
Mike´s fruit salad was the best in our 3 weeks trip to SA! Well cut, Mike :-)

To the center of Wilderness (with shops and restaurants) it is a drive of 10 - 15 minutes.
About the same as to Victoria Bay for his beautiful beach, which we can highly recommend.

We are glad that we have made a stop here! Thanks so much to our friendly hosts.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank quiltlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike and Harja R, Owner at The Old Trading Post, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Better late than never! Thanks for the positive review. Our fresh fruit salad daily is a winner with all our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
There are newer reviews for The Old Trading Post
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2013

We have just returned from our holiday in South Africa and very much enjoyed our stay at The Old Trading Post. We liked the quiet and peaceful location and the beautiful garden with the many different exotic birds.

Mike and Harja looked after us very well. Their breakfasts were excellent, particularly the variety of fruit.

Another plus is that it is only a few minutes away from Wilderness village and its super blue flag beach. George and Knysna are also in easy reach. For us this property ticked all the boxes for a wonderful relaxing holiday and we are happy to recommend it.
Doug and Heike A., UK

Room Tip: We stayed in the Strelitzia cottage that was very spacious, spotlessly clean and comfortable.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 999HeikeA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike and Harja R, Owner at The Old Trading Post, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Thanks Heike & Doug, for spending time here and for the compliments in your review. So glad you enjoyed it. Until next time?? Mike & Harja

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

I first stayed at the Old Trading Post (a hidden gem of a guest house) in early 2012 when I travelled to the area from the UK for my son's wedding. On this most recent trip, I returned with my daughter to stay for 8 nights - it was absolutely lovely. Mike and Harja remembered me from last year and made us both very welcome, providing their very special brand of discreet but plentiful hospitality.

My daughter stayed in the Tin Room for 4 nights and in Lara's Room for 4 nights - she enjoyed both, though particularly loved the bath in Lara's Room. I spent my entire stay this time in Strelitzia Cottage, which has been recently re-decorated and upgraded with new flooring and a couple of additional windows for extra light. Having stayed previously in Strelitzia Cottage and the Garden Room, between us, we have now experienced staying in all rooms at the guest house - each is unique, clean, comfortable, beautifully equipped and decorated and all guests can sit and relax in the splendidly furnished lounge if they wish.

The grounds and garden were in tip-top condition (Mike has recently installed a small outdoor swimming pool) and it was fabulous to see so much wildlife (frogs, birds and tortoises). We enjoyed our daily breakfasts (sometimes opting to eat on the veranda overlooking the garden), as non-meat eaters, there was plenty on offer - the freshly prepared fruit and scrambled eggs with garden herbs were favourites. On the last day of our stay, we booked an evening meal, Harja and Mike catered for our needs with a truly delicious meal including home made soup and a superb fish main course with veg and salad, highly recommended.

A highlight of our visit to this pet friendly establishment was meeting Flower (a pretty little Dachschund), Mike and Harja's latest addition to the family. If I ever return to this part of the Western Cape, I know where I am heading to stay!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bev M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike and Harja R, Owner at The Old Trading Post, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Thanks Bev, for the comprehensive review, we are glad you both enjoyed it so much. Thanks for the positive and kind remarks. Much appreciated! You are most welcome to return someday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We had a memorable stay at the 'Old Trading Post' in Oct-2013 during our Garden Route section of South Africa. I would rate the preparedness of Mike and Harja as excellent & higher than most 5 star hotels vis-a-vis the eye for detail. The breakfast for vegetarians like us was excellent and we thoroughly enjoyed it to get a great head-start for the day. The thoughtful hosts can make your stay memorable and advise you on practically everything you would want to do in the Wilderness area.

Travel Tip - If you are here dont miss going to the nearby 'Malachite Bird Hide' (~3.5 km) for an early morning view of birds on the lake. Mike was kind to help us with the directions. Also, dont miss the 'Ebb and Flow' camp site near the Wilderness National Park. Apart from this there are a lot of things to do in Knysna.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kunal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike and Harja R, Owner at The Old Trading Post, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear Kunal

Thank you for the kind review, we are flattered by your compliments! It is our pleasure to do what ever it takes to ensure our guests enjoy their stay. We are glad you enjoyed the birds at the Malachite bird hide.

Mike & Harja

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Mike and Harja certainly made our stay at the Old Trading Post very special. The accommodation was exceptionally clean and comfortable and the addition of a washing machine in the Strelitzia Cottage a bonus! Although self catering with everything we needed, we took advantage of the lovely breakfast (v. healthy with lots of choices) in the cottage with the other guests.
We came for one night and decided to stay here for our remaining 4nights in South Africa. If we are lucky enough to return there is no doubt where we would stay.

Room Tip: Strelitzia cottage offers more space and accommodation for a family.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike and Harja R, Owner at The Old Trading Post, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Jenny and Colin - Thanks for the positive review and for spending your last few days relaxing with us, (after a hectic journey through South Africa, Botswana and Namibia.) We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Thanks also for the kind comments left in our guest book. Next time? We are sure you would like to explore the Wilderness and Garden Route more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

I had a lovely stay at the Old Trading Post in Lara's room in July 2013. I was in the area to run the Knysna half marathon and spent three nights at this lovely guest house. On the morning of the marathon the owner Mike even got up before 05:00 for breakfast! The room was warm, the bed good and the home made breakfast was great each day. The location is tranquil and just what one needs to get away from busy city life. Mike and Harja even helped with excellent recommendations for dinner (and also how to get there and back avoiding the stop-go on the N2).

Room Tip: Loved the bath in Laura's room!
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaraCPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike and Harja R, Owner at The Old Trading Post, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Thanks for the great review. It is our pleasure to do a little extra to meet our guest's needs. Glad you enjoyed it. Enjoy your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

What a lovely place to stay. Clean and quaint with even a washing machine for our use in the room. A B & B with a difference! The hosts were very welcoming and looked after us so well. The breakfast served promptly every morning was delicious - healthy and filling for our days excursions.

Wildernis is a lovely place to explore the Garden route from and it was a good choice to stay at The Old Trading Post. True value for money!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThandiM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike and Harja R, Owner at The Old Trading Post, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Thank you for the positive review and compliments. We value all reviews and feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay! We are indeed so centrally situated to explore the attractions of the Garden Route.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
4.4 mi away
Wilderness on Sea B&B and Self Catering
4.3 mi away
Haus am Strand - On the Beach
3.9 mi away
Mont Fleur - Wilderness
Mont Fleur - Wilderness
#29 of 57 in Wilderness
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Wilderness Beach Resort & Apartments
1.8 mi away
Hildesheim Guest House
Hildesheim Guest House
#10 of 57 in Wilderness
320 reviews
3.9 mi away
Waterside Lodge B&B, Wilderness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Trading Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Trading Post

Address: 1.7 Km Down Die Vleie / the Lakes Road, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range: £46 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Trading Post 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Trading Post is situated in a peaceful rural environment on the outskirts of Wilderness and surrounded by the lakes and wetlands of the Wilderness Section of the Garden Route National Park. The Old Trading Post. It is only a few minutes drive to the beaches, popular restaurants and village of Wilderness. We are conveniently situated 1.7km off the main N2 national road. Take the turn-off to "Die Vleie" (meaning "The Lakes") about 5 km east of the village. We offer cosy and unique accommodation with both Bed & Breakfast and Self-catering options. Accommodation consists of: Strelitzia Cottage - a one bedroom self-catering cottage which sleeps a family of 2 adults and 2 children with en-suite bathroom with bath and shower. The Garden Room - a double bedroom with kitchenette and en-suite shower. Lara's Room - a double bedroom with en-suite shower and bath. The tin Room - with 2 single beds and en-suite shower. Facilities include: Free wireless internet, swimming pool, barbeque facilities, bicycle hire, canoe hire (subject to river conditions) laundry facilities and sunny veranda / terrace and garden. Rooms are well equipped with bar fridges, tea and coffee facilities, television heating and cooling. All rooms are non-smoking but smoking is permitted outdoors. Nearby are walking trails, bird hides in the national park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Old Trading Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing