We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fairyknowe backpackers-great vibe, great staff and lovely location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fairy Knowe Backpackers Lodge
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fairyknowe backpackers-great vibe, great staff and lovely location!”
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Digby was so helpful when we arrived by showing us around, giving us information about Wilderness and its attractions and hikes, even though we aren't tourists and were only staying a night. The double en-suite was a lovely, clean subdivided cottage and the bed and linen was high quality. The breakfast in the morning was also delicious and good value for money! I highly recommend staying in WIlderness and particularly at Fairyknowe Backpackers.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    49
    18
    12
    15
See reviews for
12
53
35
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Fairy Knowe Backpackers is a little heaven in Wilderness, hidden in the forest, with great atmosphere, well looked after facilities and helpful staff. I’d stay there for weeks if I could. The bar air is cozy and there is also free wifi! Ask staff for advice on what to see in the area, they'll set you up with the best!

Room Tip: The en-suit rooms are fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kl3tk1na
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 19 February 2013 via mobile

The hostel has a really big space, surrounded by wilderness national park, what makes the place so relaxing and with a nice atmosphere. Although having a old house structure, the dorms are really comfortable and the staff is very friendly.

You have many sports options around, and you can rent the hostels bikes and canoes for a really cheap price.

Inside they have a really nice bar, with pool table, darts and a big tv.

The only con is that it's 2km from town, but you can easily get there by bike or get a lift from the guys from the hostel.

Enjoy!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akhouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

We stayed in a 8 person dorm/120R per night/dorms clean
A lot of bugs were moving around in our dorm including a huge spider!
Food available to buy throughout the day but very little choice
Breakfast & Dinner- you must write on a chalk board if you want some but it was over priced so we gave it a miss.
Clean bathrooms & a good kitchen area to make your own food.
Bar & pool table area is nice atmosphere to sit around at night but there is a smell of dogs roaming around.
Wifi is available but only on one computer so they don't give you any codes.
Bikes free to use
Walking distance from the entrance to the waterfalls
Staff can only be described as strange.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank DaneandKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 January 2013

Booked this place and confirmed by email that we would arrive. Turned up at 9.30 pm after a 7 hour drive to be told that he'd extended the stay of the previous couple so there was no room. No apology, no offer to help find anywhere else, just a comment about it is what it is.
Also, do NOT follow google maps address or the placing point as it's no where near

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012

We stayed here two night, one in the main backpackers lodge in a double room and the 2nd in a en-suite double, in a newly built cabana style bungalow in the grounds outside. The plus's first...great and very helpful hosts; Digby and Scholl. Within the first 15 minutes we were in love with what we could nearbye and Digby had great knowledge of the local hikes, kayaking and horse trails. We booked straight away to do a 1.5 hour horse trek with one of their recommended stables, and this was one of the highlights of our trip. Digby made everything simple and organised and nothing was a trouble. Any question was answered and the things he recommended were amazing. The 2nd night was in the newer built bungalows and was lovely. Cosy and clean. Unfortunately there are a few negatives. The first night was in a double room in the main/older house. The house is badly in need of a full renovation. The windows are held up in places with bricks and the everything is in bad condition. Its the oldest building in Wilderness and it shows. The room was damp and the bed was also in an old and bad state. The pillows and bed was damp and there was holes in the bed sheets, showing the mattress underneath. The kitchen in the main building which is for use of the guests was very dirty and unhygienic. There was dead bugs in the cutlery tray for the 3 days that we were there and the kitchen was badly in need of a good clear out and clean. This put us off staying longer but fortunately for the 2nd night an en-suite in the new bungalows became available. Like i said this was lovely and good value. Overall a great little place but they really need to renovate the main building, and definitely at the very least, change the linens so there arent holes in them. Thanks Digby and Scholl for making us feel welcome and for all the activities you recommended, we enjoyed out stay overall.

Room Tip: If your budget allows, go for the double rooms in the outside cottages. Not the main backpackers hou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank XJJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 November 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights and it was so lovely. The entertainment area is really nice with all you could ask for and the lodges are clean and spacious. We stayed in Dorm 3 but the other rooms also looked very good. The bathroom at the top of the house is clean and big and the kitchen is well equipped. Free tea and coffee is always a bonus! The owners are so nice Digby and Charl really made our stay and made us feel welcome. Caneoing up to the waterfall is definitely a must and renting from Fairy Knowe was good value. 100% recommend this place to anyone staying in Wilderness and would definitely come back!! Loved it.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgiaRai_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
1.3 mi away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
667 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
0.1 mi away
Fairy Knowe Hotel
Fairy Knowe Hotel
#22 of 57 in Wilderness
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Wild Farm Backpakers
The Wild Farm Backpakers
#24 of 37 in Wilderness
118 reviews
4.4 mi away
7 Passes Tented Camp
7 Passes Tented Camp
#2 of 37 in Wilderness
74 reviews
1.3 mi away
Boardwalk Lodge
Boardwalk Lodge
#3 of 37 in Wilderness
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairy Knowe Backpackers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairy Knowe Backpackers Lodge

Property: Fairy Knowe Backpackers Lodge
Address: Dumbleton Road, Wilderness, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 37 Speciality Lodging in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Fairy Knowe Backpackers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing