We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect House. Perfect Location. Perfect Host.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wilderness
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Phoenix Guest House - Wilderness
Ranked #31 of 58 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 December 2011

We have a phrase in South Africa for a house like this - its called a Top Billing house.

My wife and I fell in love with the Phoenix Guest House from the moment we stepped through the door. This guest house, and the experience, is exceptional from the minute Peter greets you at the door until the minute he waves you goodbye. Our 3 day stay was the highlight of our 10 day trip to the Garden Route area. From the stunning views through the glass walls, the attention to detail in the rooms, the friendly host Peter, everything is perfect about the place.

The rooms are immaculately furnished to the highest quality in a contemporary design.
And the breakfasts are outstanding. My wife even managed to get a recipe for the delicious home made muesli.

My only disappointment is not staying longer. I will definitely be back and most definitely recommend it to anyone who wants to experience paradise!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dariaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2011

Upon entering Wilderness and wending one’s way up the steep hill to the guest house one anticipates that something special awaits. Peter met us at the door and requested that we all remove our shoes, a house policy! Slippers are available as required! Unshod we were ushered inside and WOW! An ultramodern, stylish and opulent interior immediately grabs one’s attention. Attention to detail and careful planning are everywhereto see. The sea facing walls of the house are all glass and the view that greets visitors is nothing short of wondrous.......a panoramic landscape of the village, the Touw River, the beach and the ocean.

Glass staircases dictate the no shoe policy! Peter gave us a quick tour of the three guest bedrooms. The Red, Green and White bedrooms are all luxuriously and stylishly decorated – much thought has gone into guest’s needs and comfort. Besides extra length king size beds, deep pile carpets, top of the range linen and stunning bathrooms, the guest rooms contain the usual TV, ipod dock, tea/coffee making facilities, etc. Additionally Peter has added dressing gowns, heated towel rails, pens and notelet paper, torch, bathroom heater, vanity mirror, and so on.

A large deck with a pool enables guests to relax whilst enjoying the breathtaking view. The communal lounge and dining areas offer the same views too! Peter is a trained chef and, besides delicious breakfasts, offers lunch and supper by arrangement. We were treated to some fabulous fare, including peppadews stuffed with ground biltong and chilli, pear and watercress soup and chicken stuffed with figs and blue cheese and wrapped in bacon.

Phoenix Guest House is in the upmarket price range, but is well worth staying at for those able to afford it. A truly special place in an amazing setting. Peter is an excellent host.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank prestick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: der White room hat den atemberaubendsten Blick
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Heike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhoenixGuestHouse, Owner at Phoenix Guest House - Wilderness, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Torsten M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhoenixGuestHouse, Owner at Phoenix Guest House - Wilderness, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Wählen sie das weisse oder grüne Zimmer mit grossen Betten. Das rote Zimmer hat nur ein Queensize Be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Elisabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Nimbim82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: White Room. Der Aufpreist lohnt sich!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philippe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhoenixGuestHouse, Owner at Phoenix Guest House - Wilderness, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
0.9 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
0.9 mi away
Wilderness on Sea B&B and Self Catering
0.2 mi away
Wilderness Manor Guest House
Wilderness Manor Guest House
#1 of 58 in Wilderness
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Moontide Guest House
Moontide Guest House
#5 of 58 in Wilderness
758 reviews
1.0 mi away
Dolphin Dunes Guesthouse
Dolphin Dunes Guesthouse
#6 of 58 in Wilderness
250 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dune Guest Lodge
Dune Guest Lodge
#4 of 58 in Wilderness
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoenix Guest House - Wilderness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix Guest House - Wilderness

Address: 2125 Constantia Drive, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range: £80 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Phoenix Guest House - Wilderness 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Phoenix Guest House is luxury bed and breakfast accommodation located in the heart of Wilderness, Western Cape, South Africa. The Guest House is located on a hill overlooking the amazing Indian Ocean with panoramic views of Wilderness and the surrounding areas. Being part of Wilderness and the famous Garden Route, Phoenix Guest House is perfectly located to be a great base for exploring the Garden Route and the Western Cape. Due to a moderate Mediterranean climate prevailing for most of the year, visitors to the Guest House can expect warm to hot summers and mild to chilly winters, making Wilderness an all year destination, perfect for beaching weather and quiet romantic winters. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing