We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay over”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wilderness
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Phoenix Guest House - Wilderness
Ranked #28 of 56 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Knysna
Level Contributor
153 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Stay over”
Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in the white room at Phoenix Guest House.What an expierence.Peter is a very good host and he makes you feel very at home in his Guest house.The room and the veiw over Wilderness and the Ocean is unbelievable.Everything in the room and Guest house is 5 star and immaculate.The breakfast is exceptionable ,the fruit salad is the best I ever had .The rest of the breakfast is as good and served on the patio overlooking the ocean

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Janfourie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
41
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Netherlands
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Our experience at Phoenix Guesthouse was incredible from start to finish. Driving up Constantia Kloof and arriving at Phoenix Guesthouse, a warm welcome was awaiting us by Peter - the owner of Phoenix Guesthouse. A nice glass of chilled South African wine; a tour through the guesthouse and of course the White Room we had booked.
A very spacious room with all comforts one needs. Breathtaking panoramic views through top-to-floor glass windows (that can be opened fully). Very comfortable bed and nice shower and bath.
In the morning a mouthwatering breakfast is awaiting you - from homemade Granola to freshly squeezed orange juice and from deliciously prepared eggs to wonderful fruit salads.
Peter is very helpful in providing information about the sights in and around Wilderness, the restaurant options etc. Alternatively, if you're feeling lazy and want to chill out, you can do this on the spacious terrace with swimming pool in which you can float around and enjoy the beautiful views.
Highly recommended. When we're back in South Africa and in the area of Wilderness, we will definitely return to Phoenix Guesthouse.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoopUitendaal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhoenixGuestHouse, Owner at Phoenix Guest House - Wilderness, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
J & A, Well, I can't believe it is THREE months since your visit! Wow, how time goes by so quickly. I have been very very very... did I say very busy and full from the time you left until the middle of February! Wow, I am exhausted... but all good. And only now I am responding to your kind review to say thanks you for your lovely words and how very pleasant it was to have you stay in my house. It was such a pleasure, and I really do hope that one day in the future we will meet up again. Best regards to both of you, Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 10 November 2013

From the greeting at arrival, to the goodbyes at departure, it was an unforgettable stay !! Peter, the owner, is truly the perfect host with a personality which suits his establishment. The glass !!! The rooms !!! The food !!! All exquisite !!! He made our wedding anniversary an even more memorable one . We will definitely return...with friends!!

Well done Peter !!!

Room Tip: Love the outdoors? Choose the green room for the outdoor shower experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

From the absolutely breathe taking view, to the all round perfect accommodation and Peter (the host) is a wonderful chef, his food is suited perfectly to a 5star venue... We will definitely be back and we can only imagine others should experience this value for money restful stay at Phoenix Guest House...

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrMrsFrerichs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We booked The White Room for 2 nights and stayed for 5.....this place is truly amazing. Peter has lovingly refurbished the property to the highest standard, you need to see it to believe it.

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome by both Peter and his beautiful Dalmatian Milly. There are 3 rooms all very different but one equally as impressive as the other. The White Room has spectacular views overlooking the ocean - the house is predominantly glass and we were able to sleep with the windows open looking out at the stars and listening to the waves crashing against the rocks, very peaceful. We made full use of the massage chair in the room after a days walking......awesome.

Wilderness is very close to George, Knysna and not so far from Oudtshoorn so is a perfect base to explore these areas. The pool has 2 large inflatable chairs where I spent most of my afternoon floating around,pure bliss. The breakfasts are cooked to order and you are given a comprehensive list to choose from, which you place on your door for the following morning - you'll struggle to find anything missing and won't need to eat for the rest of the day!!

As we stayed for more than 3 nights, Peter cooked us a 3 course meal (he trained as a chef in London), which was beautiful. There are lots of restaurants within close proximity and Peter is happy to recommend and make reservations for you.

We will definitely return to Phoenix and is a must if you are touring the Garden Route..5 star luxury with 5 star hospitality......thanks Peter and Milly for a truly memorable stay.

Room Tip: Stay in The White Room...you'll be hard pushed to find a room like this for the same price with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank richgirl1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhoenixGuestHouse, Owner at Phoenix Guest House - Wilderness, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
I am deeply touched and thank you for such a glowing report. It was such pleasure having you both to stay and enjoying my indulgence! I look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
79 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013 via mobile

We booked in advance with Peter and had a nice chat prior arrival. Once we made our way to the very last end of the road leading towards the mountain, we found our guesthouse: we were welcomed friendly and felt home by the very first moment!

Stunning view, i can tell! Lots of glass in the house which makes the house completely bright, lots of stairs directing to different levels: 2 rooms (red or green: outdoor shower) ground floor and 1 room (upstairs with private balcony and the best view you can get! Overlooking the whole coast and city of wilderness you will find peace up here. You might find yourself little far from the sea, but you will find a nice and clean infinity swimming pool with two inflatable chairs, a great terrace, table and 6 chairs in the shadow (trees and plants overhead) and a hammock.

We were the only guests there and it felt like having rented an own house. Peter was always available when needed, helped us with questions and created a welcoming atmosphere to let us feel at home.

We had in the big room a luxurious bathtub on a little higher level so you can enjoy the view through the huge glass front or from the shower (of course made of glass). Lots of gimmicks and luxury in the rooms!

Prices are on the high side for a 4star-place, but in deed this is almost 5star, so value is fine for the money.

Breakfast is great! In the evening you get your sheet of paper and marked what you'ld like and when. In the morning you will be served under an umbrella with a stunning view, delicious food and candles aside.

We were sorry having stayed for only one night. Thanks again to Peter! It was a great and memorable stay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aboutquality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Phoenix Guest House was recommended to me months ago and was on my list of places to stay along the Garden Route. I knew it was a 4* but when I arrived at this clearly 5* supremely superior accommodation, I was blown away! It really is an amazing place to stay. The views are magnificent and from the moment you arrive, Peter treats you with such grace, warmth, finesse and truly wants to make you so welcome without infringing on your privacy. The house is magnificent with such detail given to make it unique. I had to drag myself away when leaving as my stay in The White Room certainly had me relaxed in no time at all. So if there's one place you have to stay along the Garden Route make it this one. You won't be disappointed. Oh yes, the food - truly delish!

Room Tip: The White Room. The most expensive but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann-Marie_Breen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
0.9 mi away
Wilderness on Sea B&B and Self Catering
2.0 mi away
Wilderness Beach Resort & Apartments
2.8 mi away
Lodge On The Lake & Wellness Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Ocean View Luxury Guest House
0.2 mi away
Cloverleigh Guest House
Cloverleigh Guest House
#27 of 56 in Wilderness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.4 mi away
Waterside Lodge B&B, Wilderness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoenix Guest House - Wilderness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix Guest House - Wilderness

Property: Phoenix Guest House - Wilderness
Address: 2125 Constantia Drive, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Phoenix Guest House - Wilderness 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Phoenix Guest House is luxury bed and breakfast accommodation located in the heart of Wilderness, Western Cape, South Africa. The Guest House is located on a hill overlooking the amazing Indian Ocean with panoramic views of Wilderness and the surrounding areas. Being part of Wilderness and the famous Garden Route, Phoenix Guest House is perfectly located to be a great base for exploring the Garden Route and the Western Cape. Due to a moderate Mediterranean climate prevailing for most of the year, visitors to the Guest House can expect warm to hot summers and mild to chilly winters, making Wilderness an all year destination, perfect for beaching weather and quiet romantic winters. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing