We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“absolutely excellent !!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wilderness
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Phoenix Guest House - Wilderness
Ranked #32 of 62 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 December 2013

It has been THE stay in our holliday. Peter is the most welcoming host we've ever met and everything has been perfect! The house, the room, the breakfast (absolutely incredible good fruit salad and homemade Muesli), Tilly the dog and everything else. The moment we entered the house Peter made us feel like home.He is warm, welcoming and generous....the perfect host in a perfect place.Thank you for the wonderfull time!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nora910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhoenixGuestHouse, Owner at Phoenix Guest House - Wilderness, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

... and thank you Nora for such Lovely words. Was super to have you as my guests and I hope you will return someday. Tilly, the dog has now gone to a new home where she is much happier with a little beagle called ' Bagel" and the two of them spend the day playing together. After almost six months since I rescued her from the SPCA I knew that she would be much happier with a play mate and away from a guest house. .. She had a lovely " holiday" with me and I had the honour of giving the little puppy her name. I know it was the right thing to do.

best regards Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2013

We stayed at Phoenix on our way back from competing in Ironman South Africa in Apr 2012. We were looking for something a little bit different, a little bit special and found Phoenix through a recommendation from a couple we had met on a safari trip earlier in our trip.

First of all Peter (the host), is charming, friendly and helpful in a way that makes you really feel at home within just a few minutes of arriving. He somehow manages to maintain that balance between letting guests enjoy their own space and time but, being there to help and inform and interact when we wanted. Actually, he is a fascinating guy and you will want to know more about him & his life as well as the history to the house itself.

Set high up on a hillside overlooking the Wilderness coastline, Phoenix is like a Grand Designs house but much better!! It is a stunning house and furnished in a way that combines artful taste, cutting edge technology and a mischievous sense of humour. All the rooms are fantastic but we pushed the boat out and stayed in the White room. The other reviews & photos do it justice but it will still seem extra special when you are in there with the windows open and you take in the view at dawn or sunset.

We had originally only planned to stay for one day as we wanted to get to Cape Town but we ended up staying for three days and enjoyed a really relaxing three days doing some of the simpler things rather than rush round and tick off the sights in the guide book for the Cape Peninsula.

Breakfasts were super healthy and super tasty whether taken in the dining room or out on the sun terrace. Lots of choice and Peter seems to be able to accommodate all wishes whether it’s strange teas or eggs done in any way you want.

Despite its name Wilderness kept us more than occupied for our 3 days there – try the Kingfisher Trail walk to the waterfall, chill out on the beach , drive the rugged Montagues Pass. But, if you’re just passing through – the Phoenix will be a bit of indulgent luxury you won’t forget!

Room Tip: Go for the White Room - a bit more expensive but worth it. We had a look in the other rooms, and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wimason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in the white room at Phoenix Guest House.What an expierence.Peter is a very good host and he makes you feel very at home in his Guest house.The room and the veiw over Wilderness and the Ocean is unbelievable.Everything in the room and Guest house is 5 star and immaculate.The breakfast is exceptionable ,the fruit salad is the best I ever had .The rest of the breakfast is as good and served on the patio overlooking the ocean

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Janfourie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Our experience at Phoenix Guesthouse was incredible from start to finish. Driving up Constantia Kloof and arriving at Phoenix Guesthouse, a warm welcome was awaiting us by Peter - the owner of Phoenix Guesthouse. A nice glass of chilled South African wine; a tour through the guesthouse and of course the White Room we had booked.
A very spacious room with all comforts one needs. Breathtaking panoramic views through top-to-floor glass windows (that can be opened fully). Very comfortable bed and nice shower and bath.
In the morning a mouthwatering breakfast is awaiting you - from homemade Granola to freshly squeezed orange juice and from deliciously prepared eggs to wonderful fruit salads.
Peter is very helpful in providing information about the sights in and around Wilderness, the restaurant options etc. Alternatively, if you're feeling lazy and want to chill out, you can do this on the spacious terrace with swimming pool in which you can float around and enjoy the beautiful views.
Highly recommended. When we're back in South Africa and in the area of Wilderness, we will definitely return to Phoenix Guesthouse.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoopUitendaal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhoenixGuestHouse, Owner at Phoenix Guest House - Wilderness, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

J & A, Well, I can't believe it is THREE months since your visit! Wow, how time goes by so quickly. I have been very very very... did I say very busy and full from the time you left until the middle of February! Wow, I am exhausted... but all good. And only now I am responding to your kind review to say thanks you for your lovely words and how very pleasant it was to have you stay in my house. It was such a pleasure, and I really do hope that one day in the future we will meet up again. Best regards to both of you, Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

From the greeting at arrival, to the goodbyes at departure, it was an unforgettable stay !! Peter, the owner, is truly the perfect host with a personality which suits his establishment. The glass !!! The rooms !!! The food !!! All exquisite !!! He made our wedding anniversary an even more memorable one . We will definitely return...with friends!!

Well done Peter !!!

Room Tip: Love the outdoors? Choose the green room for the outdoor shower experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

From the absolutely breathe taking view, to the all round perfect accommodation and Peter (the host) is a wonderful chef, his food is suited perfectly to a 5star venue... We will definitely be back and we can only imagine others should experience this value for money restful stay at Phoenix Guest House...

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrMrsFrerichs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We booked The White Room for 2 nights and stayed for 5.....this place is truly amazing. Peter has lovingly refurbished the property to the highest standard, you need to see it to believe it.

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome by both Peter and his beautiful Dalmatian Milly. There are 3 rooms all very different but one equally as impressive as the other. The White Room has spectacular views overlooking the ocean - the house is predominantly glass and we were able to sleep with the windows open looking out at the stars and listening to the waves crashing against the rocks, very peaceful. We made full use of the massage chair in the room after a days walking......awesome.

Wilderness is very close to George, Knysna and not so far from Oudtshoorn so is a perfect base to explore these areas. The pool has 2 large inflatable chairs where I spent most of my afternoon floating around,pure bliss. The breakfasts are cooked to order and you are given a comprehensive list to choose from, which you place on your door for the following morning - you'll struggle to find anything missing and won't need to eat for the rest of the day!!

As we stayed for more than 3 nights, Peter cooked us a 3 course meal (he trained as a chef in London), which was beautiful. There are lots of restaurants within close proximity and Peter is happy to recommend and make reservations for you.

We will definitely return to Phoenix and is a must if you are touring the Garden Route..5 star luxury with 5 star hospitality......thanks Peter and Milly for a truly memorable stay.

Room Tip: Stay in The White Room...you'll be hard pushed to find a room like this for the same price with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank richgirl1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhoenixGuestHouse, Owner at Phoenix Guest House - Wilderness, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2013

I am deeply touched and thank you for such a glowing report. It was such pleasure having you both to stay and enjoying my indulgence! I look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
0.9 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
0.6 mi away
Beach Villa Wilderness
Beach Villa Wilderness
#3 of 62 in Wilderness
340 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dune Guest Lodge
Dune Guest Lodge
#4 of 62 in Wilderness
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
On the Beach Wilderness
On the Beach Wilderness
#2 of 62 in Wilderness
300 reviews
1.6 mi away
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
431 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#3 of 5 in Wilderness
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoenix Guest House - Wilderness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix Guest House - Wilderness

Address: 2125 Constantia Drive, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range: £76 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Phoenix Guest House - Wilderness 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Phoenix Guest House is luxury bed and breakfast accommodation located in the heart of Wilderness, Western Cape, South Africa. The Guest House is located on a hill overlooking the amazing Indian Ocean with panoramic views of Wilderness and the surrounding areas. Being part of Wilderness and the famous Garden Route, Phoenix Guest House is perfectly located to be a great base for exploring the Garden Route and the Western Cape. Due to a moderate Mediterranean climate prevailing for most of the year, visitors to the Guest House can expect warm to hot summers and mild to chilly winters, making Wilderness an all year destination, perfect for beaching weather and quiet romantic winters. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing