We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Phoenix Guest House - Wilderness
Nearby Hotels
US$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Wilderness Hotel(Wilderness)(Great Value!)
US$67
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$66
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$61
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$68
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$54
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Pine Lodge George(George)(Great Value!)
US$62
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
StayWell Hotels(Gaborone)
US$302
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$75
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (55)
Filter reviews
55 results
Traveller rating
54
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
54
1
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 55 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I have stayed at Phoenix Guesthouse several times and keep going back because it truly is the most welcoming and classy guesthouse I have ever stayed in! I have travelled extensively and have had some wonderful accommodations, but nothing beats Phoenix Guesthouse and it is 4 hours away.

Peter the owner, goes out of his way to make sure you have everything you need and it is astonishing to see what he has single handedly accomplished with the exquisite house which he bought several years ago and converted it from a half finished, badly constructed building, to an absolute paradise!

The views are unbeatable and would surpass anyone's expectations. Peter designed the rooms in such a way that no matter which room you choose, you will have a view from somewhere, even if it is from the magnificent glass shower in the Green Room! The White room upstairs is my favorite room though because it does have the best uninterrupted views of all. The red room is extremely cozy and private for those of you who prefer to hide away, a little more private..it also has a balcony which makes for a romantic evening outside :-). Then of course but not least, the master suite is something most people only dream about! Complete with a huge veranda and jacuzzi bath - you don't want to stay in this room alone! It is made for romance, champagne and red roses!

Breakfast is included at Phoenix and is always a treat. Peter is also an accomplished chef and he cooks up a mouth watering morning meal which is so generous that I find I don't need to eat again until early evening. It is served outside on the veranda next to the pool or in the dining room, as one wishes. Peter also offers to cook in the evening, but this of course comes at an additional cost. You will not be disappointed if you opt for this!

I could go on and on, but you really need to find out for yourself and I can assure you that you will want to go back again and again. Peter will make you feel so at home, you will want to visit him again. Thank you Peter for all the times you made my holiday unforgettable!

Room Tip: All the rooms are fantastic, go to the web site or read my review.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank LINDASKYE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter R, Owner at Phoenix Guest House - Wilderness, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Dear Linda,

WOW, what a review! You make me Blush!!! Thank you for your kind words.

You are actually one of only two people who have stayed at Phoenix on more than one occasion. I think I will have to get a ' frequent guest loyalty card' printed for you :-).

I decide to be selectively pet friendly and I am glad that I did this as it introduced me to you and your magnificent dog,and, despite the fact that she is the size of my dining table(!) it is always great to have you both to stay.
Just hope that Skye will be able to keep on managing the stairs with her hip problem if you come again, and I surely hope you will. Till then, take care and a big rub for skye. Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Starting off, there was NOT one thing we fault! As newly weds, stayed in the White Room at the Phoenix Guest House (in my opinion, is the best room)... It has the most amazing view!! Peter, the owner is so welcoming and helpful with advice on site-seeing, restaurants and local hot spots. The breakfasts are incredible as Peter is a trained chef. The White Room and guest house has large glass windows that allow you to be 'in nature' and enjoy fantastic views - sunny, rainy or overcast - all are amazing to experience. Our entire stay was truly amazing. The guest house and rooms are extraordinary! Thank you Peter!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chantel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhoenixGuestHouse, Owner at Phoenix Guest House - Wilderness, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Hi Chantel, Thanks you of your ' amazing' review ;-), especially considering the weather while you were here!! You really did experience the full range in the three days…. gorgeous sun/ wind and lashing rain and blanketed in thick fog one morning… really bizarre weather for those days, but it would seem that, despite that you enjoyed your time here which I am delighted about… especially as you spent ALL of your three day Honeymoon with me!! With regard to "guiding you" while you were here, I feel that as I know the area so well I like to impart suggestions to help plan or guide, from day trips out to the local restaurants ( and indeed the ones to be avoided!!), but generally I suss people out on arrival and there have been many occasions where people know exactly what they want to do etc, which is also fine. To you and Bren I would like to wish you all the very best for your future ahead…. It was such a pleasure hosting you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

My boyfriend and I were like kids in a sweetshop arriving at the Pheonix Guesthouse. We stayed in the amazing White Room with the most amazing view and loved meeting Peter who was so helpful and charming. I've travelled a lot, and stayed in a lot of places. This was the nicest I have ever been to. Read my full review: http://www.harrietconstable.com/?p=588

Room Tip: Go for the White Room, you'll wish you had if you don't.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HConstable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhoenixGuestHouse, Owner at Phoenix Guest House - Wilderness, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Dear Harriet, Thank you SO MUCH for such an amazing , well "editorial/write up article" on your own page. I followed the link that you placed in your initial review on my site. I have to say I blushed a little :-). When you work so hard on something like this establishment and you'r so close to all the details and finishes and it's there day to day one tends 'not to see' it after a while, so it is very VERY refreshing to see it through your eyes and photo's. Reminds me what a lucky and blessed man I am. I am also very envious of all your travels that i read about on your page… WOW, The antarctica trip looked truly awesome and is on my bucket list! I ticked one of those off last year….. went to ISTANBUL… if you haven't been then GO… AWESOME experience. Thank you again, and please come back sometime. It would be a pleasure to host you again. Kind regards Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Smug? Why? Because I found the White Room in Phoenix Guest House for Valentines Day and my lovely wife was very Happy (note the capital H!).

Phoenix Guest House is an eclectic fusion of chic modern styles with a big wow factor. The White Room is defined by the view, through walls of sliding glass, of the ocean and these are fabulous especially from the elevated bath.

At Phoenix Guest House one is surrounded by the creativity of Peter which on its own is lovely. The real star of the show, however, is Peter himself. He just makes you feel special and adds so many little touches to ones stay, one can't help but be impressed. The feeling of being looked after started via email when asked if i wanted a table booking for Valentines Day (lifesaver....thanks Peter); a casual mention of where we might eat on another evening turned into a note on the door saying 'hope you had a great day; you mentioned eating at XXXX tonight so I've booked you a table!"; suggestions of what to do with our time in Wilderness were spot on; coming 'home' to an empty house with chilled music, candles and burning incencse sticks were an automatic chill switch; home made muffins laid out for breakfast and decorated with flowers; fabulous fruit salad.....I could go on and on and on!

If you are still reading, you probably have worked out that we enjoyed our stay. Our only recommendation would be to stay for more than a single night......dashing in and out for a single night and charging down the Garden Route would be too much of a rush.

Payment via credit card or similar is a works in progress so I had to transfer cash the old fashioned way.....don't let this put you off if overseas!

Well that's the bit for the tripadvisor readers over and done with; Peter, if you read this I am quite happy to publicly say thanks for a wonderful couple of nights, we really loved staying with you.

Room Tip: It's got to be the White Room; a little more expensive but soooo worth it!
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Queenofthebow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Well it's going to be difficult not to be too gushy about The Phoenix Guest House, and it's delightful owner Peter.
We came across it by chance after having checked in and straight out of a guesthouse nearby which lets say was not up to scratch as part of our honeymoon experience.
Driving round Wilderness and up its hills and came across Pheonix which we called in on and luckily due to a very last minute cancellation (and a very funny story which you might be lucky enough to be privy too if Peter tells), Peter had The White Room available.
We met Peter outside the property, explained our predicament, feeling very nervous that we didn't have somewhere to stay that evening, and our standards are pretty high in terms of accommodation, especially for our honeymoon.
Peter showed us inside and said 'well lets see how this suits you'. The house on entering is impressive. A completely unique design which Peter spent 3 years designing. Very contemporary with tasteful touches of texture, art and beautiful furniture (his lounge sofa is so comfy), that it combines fabulous modern style yet feels interesting and homely.
The views are spectacular out of the seamless glass sliding doors which run across the whole front facade of the property.
Peter showed us up to The White Room. We were blown away. It is specious and light, set across two levels with a free standing bath, a bed facing out to 180 degrees of the best views of the coast.
Apart from the amazing house and room, Peter is one of those people you will never forget, and we will certainly be keeping in touch with him. A thoroughly interesting, humble, creative man, we enjoyed chatting with him during breakfast and over a glass of wine. He is also a very talented trained chef, and his breakfasts are probably the best we have had - first class. His fruit salad is no ordinary fruit salad! This man knows impeccable service from years of experience of traveling the world, he has honed everything down to a fine art.
To say we were sad to leave is an understatement. We never really return to anywhere twice but we feel its one of those places that we would love to go back to without hesitation. So yes Peter, this did suit us to say the least, and we will miss Phoenix and spending time with you. We'll be back!!

Room Tip: Go for the White Room
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IndyWillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter R, Owner at Phoenix Guest House - Wilderness, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

What a charming couple. You know, everything happens for a reason and I was so delighted that a, ahem, 'window of opportunity' opened up in such a unique way that facilitated your staying with me for your precious time on your honeymoon. It was so easy and great to chat to you both and wonderful to look through the 'window' into your very fascinating lives. I wish you all the best and hope that our paths cross again one day. :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews