We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place to Stay on the Garden Route”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Wallow Guest House
Chicago
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Place to Stay on the Garden Route”
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We have been traveling for some time and can say with certainty that The Wallow Guest House in Wilderness South Africa has been the best accomdations to date. In addition to the spectacular views and tidy apartment like accommodations, Dave and Maureen are the most hospitable hosts you will come across. The only thing we regret is that we couldn't stay longer. If we ever make it back to South Africa, Wilderness and The Wallow Guest House will be our first stop. Thanks again Dave and Maureen for making our stay in Wilderness comfortable and memorable.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jblagrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen C, Owner at The Wallow Guest House, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Thank you for the compliments Briana and James, and hopefully Wilderness has stolen a small piece of your heart. Till next time.....and enjoy the rest of your world trip. Be safe. Dave and Maureen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 28 March 2012

The Wallow was a wonderful find. Set up above the village in a real country setting it offers awesome views and is peaceful and tranquil. The location is excellent in that it is a very short drive to local amenities, restaurants, shops, the beach etc, but set back from the busy N2, so you really feel like you are away from it all.
The apartments are beautifully appointed, fully equipped, huge, and provide a lovely relaxing environment to take time out from sight seeing.
Units are private and have lovely woodens decks with gorgeous views, perfect for enjoying an evening braai.
Very warm and welcoming hosts!
We had an amazing time and will definitely be back in the future.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen C, Owner at The Wallow Guest House, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Thank you for the positive feedback and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Stay well. The Wallow Guesthouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Set back from the "madding crowd", up in the outeniqua foothills above "wild"erness, this three star establishment offered us just what we were looking for!
The excellent value was attractive, but more importantly Dave and Maureen were wonderful hosts who parted with lots of local knowledge when required without being overbearing.
the Guest house is set adjacent an ancient elephant wallow where Dave has found bushman arrowheads while digging the foundations. We saw small game in the gardens with plenty of birdlife. This all a short hop to the village and beach!
All in all just where we wanted to be and will visit again! Thank you!

Room Tip: We were in "swartberg" but have a feeling they are all nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
0.6 mi away
Mont Fleur - Wilderness
Mont Fleur - Wilderness
#29 of 57 in Wilderness
90 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
1.9 mi away
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Wilderness
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
668 reviews
0.9 mi away
Beach Villa Wilderness
Beach Villa Wilderness
#3 of 57 in Wilderness
287 reviews
1.1 mi away
On the Beach Wilderness
On the Beach Wilderness
#2 of 57 in Wilderness
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wallow Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wallow Guest House

Property: The Wallow Guest House
Address: 80 Whites Road, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 37 Speciality Lodging in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wallow Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We then pamper you in luxury with 1 or 2 bedroom self-catering apartments fully furnished, extra length beds with percale linen, bath towels (bring own beach towels), kitchenettes, dining & lounge area, private entrance & deck. Bathroom with shower / wc and basin. All units have stunning views. Units are serviced daily except Sundays. Self catering. (Breakfast can be arranged on request). We are nestled atop the mountain, above the Wilderness Village, on a 3ha private estate. Enjoy 360 deg sea and mountain/forest views, surrounded by tranquil countryside and indigenous forest. Nature at her best. Experience awesome sunrises and sunsets with only the sound of the ocean and bird life to lull you into total relaxation. Be pampered in luxury 1 or 2 bedroom self-catering apartments fully equipped, extra length beds with percale linen, bath towels (bring own beach towels), kitchenette, dining/lounge area, private entrance & deck. Bathroom with shower / WC and basin. All units have sunning views. Serviced daily except Sundays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your The Wallow Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing