We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home from Home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wallow Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Wallow Guest House
Welkom, Free State, South Africa
2 reviews
“Home from Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

We were so happy to return to the Wallow for the second year in a row.
We just knew that we would be getting a home from home stay at Maureen and Dave's guesthouse.
Everything was as we expected. From the friendly reception, the neatness, the comfort, the views, the peace and quiet right down to the walk through the bushes down to the riverbed.
We once again could not have asked for more.
Thanks Maureen and Dave for keeping up the hospitality and making us feel at home again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yolandi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

We stayed here for one night during our trip from Cape Town to Jo'burg. The Wallow is not close to the centre of Wilderness, but it is in Wilderness Heights. The view from the guesthouse is fantastic.
The owner of the place gave us a warm welcome and we booked 2 apartments for 2 persons each. The apartments were huge, clean and had a great balcony.
Unfortunately we could only stay for one night, but I would recommend this guesthouse to everyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jochem D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
109 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2013

We stayed here for just one night but were very impressed with the location and the unit itself. The owners are incredibly friendly and happy to chat especially about local wildlife. The apartment was very big and totally self contained. The outside seating area has a great view of the sea and Wilderness beach below. There are 2 routes up to the guesthouse. The longer route is where we ended up first time and although a bit of a trek it gave superb views. The shorter route is more convenient but not so pretty.
The owners are happy to search the unit for rain spiders for you :-)

Room Tip: Honeymoon Room with outdoor seating looking out to the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SFayers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013

We felt completely at home and were happy to have a couple of nights at Maureen and Dave's place. Our two bedroom mini apartment was spacious, clean, and well-equipped with everything we needed. The delicious breakfast was personally served by the owners and we enjoyed the conversation/tips as well. The location on the hill is secluded with nice views overlooking the ocean. We know where to stay if we come back to Wilderness.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BDeF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2012

Wow - we were passing through Wilderness at about the time to find somewhere to spend the night and got very luck with finding the Wallow. A chance phone call for a one night stay turned into 3 nights and we wished we could have stayed longer... What a beautiful place, and Maureen and Dave made it a very special stay for us - couldn't have been better! The rooms are spacious, clean, and we just felt relaxed and at home from the minute we arrived....would thoroughly recommend it to anyone passing through that area.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scubacat2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

I cannot recommend The Wallow Guest House more highly. We had family in George which couldn't accommodate us on this trip so we needed somewhere to stay.

As we have to small children (6 ans 1) we needed something which was child friendly.

Very well equipped, very clean and very quiet.

Dave and Maureen were fantastic and accommodating.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

I first discovered The Wallow Guest House on my travels through the Garden Route, having stopped over at a few places i finally came apon this little gem of a place. I tell you what, the hosts are awesome, two little packages of dynamite. I honestly could not have asked for a better stay, the room was spacious,clean and the deck was just the place to relax with a castle, overlooking what i think was JUST BEAUTIFUL.

I would recommend The Wallow to anyone, oh yes and if your a walker or runner, this is the place to do it. MAN THE VIEWS

Room Tip: Fynbos was the room i enjoyed the most. HONEYMOON SUITE
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacques216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
1.0 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
1.1 mi away
On the Beach Wilderness
On the Beach Wilderness
#2 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dune Guest Lodge
Dune Guest Lodge
#4 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Wilderness Manor Guest House
Wilderness Manor Guest House
#1 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
2.3 mi away
Wilderness Beach Resort & Apartments
0.9 mi away
Beach Villa Wilderness
Beach Villa Wilderness
#3 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wallow Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wallow Guest House

Property: The Wallow Guest House
Address: 80 Whites Road, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wallow Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We then pamper you in luxury with 1 or 2 bedroom self-catering apartments fully furnished, extra length beds with percale linen, bath towels (bring own beach towels), kitchenettes, dining & lounge area, private entrance & deck. Bathroom with shower / wc and basin. All units have stunning views. Units are serviced daily except Sundays. Self catering. (Breakfast can be arranged on request). We are nestled atop the mountain, above the Wilderness Village, on a 3ha private estate. Enjoy 360 deg sea and mountain/forest views, surrounded by tranquil countryside and indigenous forest. Nature at her best. Experience awesome sunrises and sunsets with only the sound of the ocean and bird life to lull you into total relaxation. Be pampered in luxury 1 or 2 bedroom self-catering apartments fully equipped, extra length beds with percale linen, bath towels (bring own beach towels), kitchenette, dining/lounge area, private entrance & deck. Bathroom with shower / WC and basin. All units have sunning views. Serviced daily except Sundays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your The Wallow Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing