We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 Night stay”
Review of Clairewood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Clairewood
Ranked #28 of 58 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We arrived at Clairewood on Monday 14 April 2014 and ended up staying for 3 nights in total. We stayed in the Knysna Loerie. The chalets are situated in the middle of beautiful surroundings with treetop walking trails and a swimming pool. It is in Wildernis which is very convenient when wanting to visit surrounding places like George and Knysna. We went on a walking trail in the mountains, down to the river and were guided by two dogs, Zut and Zorro. They were so friendly and excited to show us the way and protect us from baboons. The chalet was perfect for 2 people and would definitely see us returning. I would highly recommend staying at Clairewood Chalets.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ruan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2014

we had a very nice peacefull stay at the knysna loeries self catering unit at clairewood. it is a central point to stay, near to all attractions and there is definitely alot to see. will definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jamine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

This place was sensational. I am actually reluctant to say this as I don't want to jeopardise my chances of being able to rent it again. Great service from the manager Sylvia, nice finishings on the chalets and great location. Already lining up my next holiday there.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank johnsan99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lelanieschwartz, Owner at Clairewood, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Thank you for the great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

The apartment is beautiful & very spacious, set in a huge garden in the middle of the forest, the smells & sounds are just amazing. Unfortunately we didn't stay long enough to really explore Clairewood, so we will have to go back, it really is a special place.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Lona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lelanieschwartz, Owner at Clairewood, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Thank you for the great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We had a wonderful stay at this very unique venue in the bush. Most beautiful garden and ponds. Spacious rooms, good linen, beautiful kitchen with all the facilities to make your stay feel home away from home.
Although it rained for three days we could still have a braai under the verandha .
Clairwood .. we will be back soon!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Louise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lelanieschwartz, Owner at Clairewood, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Thank you for the great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Thank you, our stay was wonderful, the place is amazing we will be back. The ease of booking in was lovely, everything was ready for us, and on leaving we just left the keys in the door, it was so user friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lelanieschwartz, Owner at Clairewood, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Thank you for the great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I would definitely recommend anyone to stay at Clairewood. Thank you for very helpful, friendly service and a quiet peaceful setting to relax in. Very private and the space provides for a further country feel out of the city. The chalet/cabin is beautiful and very well equipped! Wonderful place!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank KarienvanderSandt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lelanieschwartz, Owner at Clairewood, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Thank you for the great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
2.2 mi away
Cloverleigh Guest House
Cloverleigh Guest House
#23 of 58 in Wilderness
68 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Pink Lodge on the Beach
The Pink Lodge on the Beach
#15 of 58 in Wilderness
238 reviews
2.1 mi away
Moontide Guest House
Moontide Guest House
#5 of 58 in Wilderness
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Haus am Strand - On the Beach
1.8 mi away
Boardwalk Lodge
Boardwalk Lodge
#2 of 40 in Wilderness
253 reviews
1.9 mi away
Wilderness on Sea B&B and Self Catering
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clairewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clairewood

Address: Silver River Street, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range: £44 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clairewood 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Self-catering accommodation with beautiful views of the nearby Outeniqua Mountains. A private walking trail winds through the indigenous forest and along the Silver River, affording you the opportunity to encounter rare birds like the brilliantly coloured Knysna Loerie or paradise flycatcher. You may also take a refreshing swim in the river's natural pools. Beautiful views from elevated wooden treetop decks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Clairewood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing