We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Utopia is near Wilderness”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wilderness
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Beside Still Waters B&B and Self Catering
Ranked #22 of 56 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape town
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Utopia is near Wilderness”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Of all the stops along the Garden Route, one would be hard presed to find somewhere as beautiful and restful as beside Still Waters.
The accomodation is superb, as is the hospitality of the McDades.
This will be on my must stop itinerary for my next trip.
Keith and Rosemary Gough

Room Tip: I stayed in the loft room, which is a comfortable 3 bedroom flatlet that can accomodate 6 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rod M, Owner at Beside Still Waters B&B and Self Catering, responded to this review, 27 July 2013
Keith & Rosemary
Thank you for this glowing, heartening response to your Beside Still Waters experience ! We are very touched by your praise for this beautiful place & your gracious complements. We really look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
51
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kimberley, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We so enjoyed our stay in the peaceful, quiet cottage in which every
little detail has been taken care of by the McDades. The cottage beautifully decorated and very well equipped. The fireplace in winter is a real treat. The wonderful
surrounding Wilderness setting makes going out just as good as staying in.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank obo91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rod M, Owner at Beside Still Waters B&B and Self Catering, responded to this review, 27 July 2013
Thank you for your delightful reflections on your stay at Beside Still Waters. Your kind thoughts are very encouraging & we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

We are so thankful that we found this gem through Groupon!
Rod and Hydie went out of their way to make our stay memorable. We desperately needed a break and Beside Still Waters where just what we needed. The beautiful surroundings, well equipped accommodation and warm hospitality all contributed to our great stay.
These Groupies will definitely recommend and return!
Thank you!

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tersia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rod M, Owner at Beside Still Waters B&B and Self Catering, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Dear Tersia & Jaco.

Thanks for your visit to & gracious review of Beside Still Waters. Comments like yours not only bring pleasure at the fulfillment of OUR goal, but also send out a message to other travellers that they can entrust their time & hard earned cash to a holiday here.

We hope that your recent time here convinced you that your few days in this beauty & fun packed area were too short & that a return trip is already being planned !

Pleasel "keep us on your radar" for a future holiday & pass the word around.

Warm regards

Rod & Hydie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 25 April 2013

We loved our brief stay here. Beautiful location, gorgeous rooms-amazing!!! The McDades have done a fabulous job of decorating the house - it feels like a real luxury to stay here. Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jmacki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rod M, Owner at Beside Still Waters B&B and Self Catering, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Thank you so much for this generous review. It gives us great pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay & we would love to see you again.
Kind regards
Rod & Hydie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeddah
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

The house felt like stepping into Home Décor magazine. It’s as welcoming and well kept as the hosts. Hydie and Rod love everything about owning a bed and breakfast and it shows. My girl friend and I felt the need to brush our hair and massage the creases out of our shirts in the morning. By 7am (or earlier) Hydie looks like she is ready for Sunday brunch at the country club. Her breakfast is delicious. OMG the fresh plums, grapes, and Apples from the Garden! Even the bath towels were a luxurious wallow in fluffy cotton heaven. The setting is a fantastic place to relax but it’s not a particularly interesting town. However Rod and Hydie are a South African experience in themselves. If you linger to hang out they have plenty of anecdotes, books, and wild life snap shots to share. They are kind and educated and very gracious. Rod is Medical Doctor who must be twice my 30 years - and he offered to help me with my luggage. After we left Hydie texted us to check that we made the drive to Capetown ok. Gentleman , you will not leave without your girl friend saying, “I want us to be like Rod and Hydie and to own a bed breakfast”. Yes, stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ziad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rod M, Owner at Beside Still Waters B&B and Self Catering, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Thank you so much for your very enthusisatic & gracious review of Beside Still Waters. We have the rare privilege of living in a fulfilled dream & would encourage you two to persue YOUR dreams
We look forward to our next meeting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, Bequia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Thanks a million times to the McDade's for an unforgettable breakaway. Our accommodation was private, beautiful and the view breathtaking. The hospitality of our hosts were wonderful... Even the fish eagle came to say hallo!!! Peaceful, serene, just what the doctor ordered!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarietaCronje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rod M, Owner at Beside Still Waters B&B and Self Catering, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Dear Marieta
We were absolutely delighted that you so enjoyed your stay at Beside Still waters & had such a fine appreciation for the natural beauty & birdlife. We look forward to welcoming you all back.
Many, many thanks for your kind review.
Regards
Rod & Hydie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fish Hoek, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

We had a wonderful 3 days there and wished we'd spent a whole week! Peaceful, central to so much, beautiful views, lotsof lovely birds etc etc. Excellant accommodation, very comfortable beds, beautiful linen, beautiful garden and surroundings . We went to Natures Valley and Porcupine pottery, which was such a lovely shop in the Mill shop at The Crags. Worth a look! Went up the Montagu Pass, a trip not to be missed on the old pass/

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ferg48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rod M, Owner at Beside Still Waters B&B and Self Catering, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
You left Cape Town with no specific agenda & we were fortunate enough to be the ones to host you in Wilderness !.There is no better commendation for the owner of a guesthouse than visitors saying " we wish we had stayed longer". Thank you so much for your generous praise & enthusiasim.
Next year's garden promises to be even more beautiful. Take that week's break & see for yourself !
Kind regards. Rod & Hydie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
0.7 mi away
The Old Trading Post
The Old Trading Post
#21 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
3.7 mi away
Porcupine Pie Boutique Lodge
Porcupine Pie Boutique Lodge
#12 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
4.2 mi away
Xanadu Guest Villa
Xanadu Guest Villa
#7 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Beach Villa Wilderness
Beach Villa Wilderness
#3 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hildesheim Guest House
Hildesheim Guest House
#9 of 56 in Wilderness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
2.5 mi away
Reflections Eco Reserve
Reflections Eco Reserve
#24 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beside Still Waters B&B and Self Catering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beside Still Waters B&B and Self Catering

Property: Beside Still Waters B&B and Self Catering
Address: 84 192 Kleinkrantz Farm, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beside Still Waters' is located in the heart of South Africa's magnificent Garden Route and offers bed & breakfast and self catering accommodation for families, couples, individuals or groups. Visitors from all corners of the globe travel to this lakeland treasure, part of the Wilderness National Park, to experience the natural beauty, and bird and animal life. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing