We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coming home...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wilderness
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Beside Still Waters B&B and Self Catering
Ranked #27 of 59 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend enjoyed the loft room with kitchen in Feb 14. We met Rob as a very nice owner, who told us interesting storys about his life as a GP. Sadly we didn't meet the wife, but could taste the really good muffins, thanks again. We really can recommend this quiet, beautiful place, perfect if you want to do some hiking or paragliding in wilderness as we did. We would come again!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank mbuess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2014

Thanks Rod for a lovely welcome. We arrived late and were warmly welcomed into a beautiful self-catering cottage. It had everything we needed. We woke in the morning to the most brilliant sunrise over the lake and endless sounds of birdcall. And before we headed off again, we sat on the wrap-around balcony being treated to breakfast. It was very well priced, friendly, comfortable and I'd highly recommend it. Annie and Rebecca

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

what a pleasant surprise to stop on your road trip and find such a stunning spot to relax for the night! we knew nothing about wilderness before this holiday and will now definitely come back. the village and beaches were divine, but mostly we found a beautiful house with two BEAUTIFULL persons hosting every detail to make it so nice! thank you rod and hydie for your spoiling. we definitely reccomend this place and hope to come back again soon!! merry xmas!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bausilic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Beside Still Waters is the place to be if you need to revive your soul, enjoy the quiet of nature, enjoy birdsong, or just need to get away from the hustle and bustle of city life. The self-catering facilities are excellent and every small need is catered for. The hosts are wonderful and even organized some yummy treats for us on Sunday morning. The facilities have quality bedding, crockery, etc, and is spacious. We stayed in the cottage (4 people) and had abundant space, even a small fenced garden where we could enjoy the view of the beautiful garden. There were chairs on the stoep and I must admit, we spent most of our weekend sitting on the stoep and enjoying the view. I would suggest you ask for the Cottage if you go to Beside Still Waters. To get to the B&B, you have to travel along a short gravel road. At the time of our visit, there was roadworks and a stop-and-go system on the N2 through Wilderness, which was quite inconvenient as the turn-off for Beside Still Waters is exactly in the middle of the stop-and-go. All in all we had a great time and will definitely return.

Room Tip: The cottage provides you with abundant space, the best view as well as a small garden. However, The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarietaDP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

What a stunning place! Thanks for a wonderful long weekend. The view over the lake is beautiful. I cannot forget the fragrance of the flowers and roses. Thanks Rod and Heidi for making us feel welcome. I would definitely recommend Beside Still Waters to my family and friends. We will be back. Ivan and Christolene.

Room Tip: The cottage are my favourite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivan de Klerk d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We enjoyed a midweek break here and had a fabulous time. Our accommodation was really special and the setting is just so peaceful and slightly removed from the maddening crowd. It was a good base to explore the area from. Usually we just whizz through on our way to Cape Town or back to PE. Beside Still Waters is a real little hidden Gem and Hydie's famous muffins spoke for themselves. We will definitely be back

Room Tip: We had the cottage which was really lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanessa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

The accomodation, exellent, very well appointed and stocked with everything needed in a selfcatering unit. Sqeaky clean in all respects.

Thank u Rod and Heidy for your personal attention.

Heidy your muffins were out of this world, tnx

Johann and Denice

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rod M, Owner at Beside Still Waters B&B and Self Catering, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Dear Johan & Denice
It was such a breath of fresh air to have you staying for your 2 nights. We were delighted to see your enjoyment & very grateful for your affirmation. We hope to see you again. Kind regards. R&H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
2.9 mi away
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
386 reviews
5.1 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
4.9 mi away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#3 of 5 in Wilderness
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Beach Villa Wilderness
Beach Villa Wilderness
#3 of 59 in Wilderness
327 reviews
5.1 mi away
On the Beach Wilderness
On the Beach Wilderness
#2 of 59 in Wilderness
282 reviews
4.1 mi away
Cloverleigh Guest House
Cloverleigh Guest House
#23 of 59 in Wilderness
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beside Still Waters B&B and Self Catering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beside Still Waters B&B and Self Catering

Address: 84 192 Kleinkrantz Farm, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range: £26 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beside Still Waters' is located in the heart of South Africa's magnificent Garden Route and offers bed & breakfast and self catering accommodation for families, couples, individuals or groups. Visitors from all corners of the globe travel to this lakeland treasure, part of the Wilderness National Park, to experience the natural beauty, and bird and animal life. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing