We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food but felt rushed.”

Royal Siam Thai @Wilderness
Ranked #18 of 30 Restaurants in Wilderness
Price range: US$2 - US$12
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: A Traditonal Thai dining experience like no other...The Royal Siam Thai Restaurant is nestled amongst large Milkwood trees in the quaint Milkwood Village in Wilderness, Garden Route. Our traditional Thai cuisine will touch all your senses with freshly prepared Sushi and exotic Thai dishes from spicy red/green curries to decadent chocolate desserts and more. Come join us for lunch, dinner or simply enjoy a cocktail on our sunny deck while the kiddies play in our garden park.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
219 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Nice food but felt rushed.”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We visited this very nice Thai restaurant whilst on holiday in Wilderness.
The service was friendly and the food was wonderful. We felt that we were being rushed out however. Admittedly it was quite late when we arrived but nobody let us know when they were due to close.
As a result, as soon as our food was served, we felt that we were being watched to see when we would leave. We felt almost pushed out of the door at 11pm.
Despite this, I would still return for the amazing authentic Thai food.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cranbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    56
    21
    13
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Authentic Thai Taste Experience!”
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

What a delightful experience! Delicious food and friendly staff. The menu has a good variety Thai dishes and a separate sushi menu. All the food have Reasonable prices and definitely great value for money. Do order a pinna-colada! (The cocktails are expensive but worth the taste!).
We'll be back for more delicious, authentic Thai cuisine!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bennie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knysna, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Our first visit to this Thai restaurant. We had understood it was closed at lunchtimes but recently heard this was no longer the case so stopped off for lunch on way back from George airport. Past reviewers seem to indicate some inconsistency in service and food quality. Well we experienced excellent service and to my mind genuine and delicious authentic Thai food. Could not fault the "Beef Thai green curry" or the "Crazy Thai beef stir-fry". As authentic as I have previously eaten in Thai restaurants in Durban and Sandton and closely comparable to Thai meals eaten in Thailand especially considering the difficulty in getting original Thai ingredients in this part of the world. Will definitely make this our lunch stop when returning from George in future, can't wait to try out other dishes on their menu. Hopefully the owners will open a branch in Knysna soon!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MalkieM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedgefield, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Awesome food”
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

Had a great dinner at Royal Siam, all of us ordered something different from the menu and shared with one another and each dish was cooked to perfection. We will be back for more

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank KingfisherWC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset West, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“SUSHI WITHOUT RICE”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We booked a place at the sushi section for 20H00. We arrived at 19H30 and the waiter took us to a romantic seating area in the restaurant . He gave us the wine, sushi and Thai menu to make our choice. When he came back we ordered wine and asked for a sushi platter. We were told that sushi was not available because they did not have rice and that we had to wait 1 to 2 hours for sushi. We had to wait for 1 hour for the sushi to arrive. The rice in the sushi was under cooked.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sias K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Royal Siam Thai @Wilderness also viewed

Wilderness, Western Cape
Wilderness, Western Cape
 

Been to Royal Siam Thai @Wilderness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing