We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Wilderness Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$218
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$194
US$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$71
US$69
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Pine Lodge George(George)(Great Value!)
US$67
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
StayWell Hotels(Gaborone)
US$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$95
US$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
US$73
Protea Hotels
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
US$88
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (792)
Filter reviews
792 results
Traveller rating
270
315
153
35
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
270
315
153
35
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsputt putttennis courtsreception stafffamily roomlovely hoteltable tennisgarden routewithin walking distancebusiness tripfamily holidaypleasant stayenjoyed our stayour honeymooncape townsquashspafacilities
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
720 - 725 of 792 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2014

What a special weekend my daughter and I had at the Wilderness hotel. Everyone was so welcoming and friendly. We loved our spotless room and the closeness of the restaurants to the hotel....so safe to walk to there and back late at night. Fell in love with Wilderness and the walks along the lake. Saw a buck in amongst the houses...al so peaceful. Even the pets we saw walking along the paths were real friendly! A piece of paradise!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Wendy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We arrived at The Wilderness Hotel, and were greeted by the friendly staff. They helped us settle in with smiles on their faces.

We had a great time. Thanks for attending to our requests promptly. Will definatly see you again.

The only advise would be to modernise the bathrooms and plumbing.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Gustav M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

This hotel is within walking distance from Wilderness and all the restaurants. The rooms were clean and the beds comfortable. Breakfast was okay - although I prefer fresh coffee. Overall not a bad choice if you want to be in Wilderness

Room Tip: all rooms are quiet and pretty similar
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank JulietteP_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed for two nights and wished we could lengthen our holiday but unfortunately had to go back to reality. We stayed in a pool facing room with a king size bed ans space for two small / teenage children which we do not have. Very comfortable but the tv was old fashioned; therefore they moved us to a lake facing room the sceond night of stay which was awesome. The staff and management were firendly and very helpful. They allowed me the groupon price as Groupon was closed for those offers already which was really great! Not much to do though and we went to George Ocean Basket for lunch, only 8 km away. The beach is not too safe to swim but great for walks, scenery and just exploring! I would like to visit this hotel again if granted the opportunity. I only missed a heated pool as it was winter time!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank 27SandraN2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

My wife and I were on our honeymoon travelling the Garden Route in South Africa and stopped over for a night in the Wilderness Hotel.
We first went there just for Sunday lunch which was superb. It was a buffet lunch with beef roast , chicken, delicious vegetebles . Their cream spinach is DIVINE!. We then decided to stay a night at the hotel and had breakfast the next morning. The hotel staff is SUPER FRIENDLY and very efficient. From the staff at the front desk,to the waiters in the dining hall are very friendly and made us feel like VIP's .
Especially the General Manager, Jonel Ackerman who made our stay very special by giving us a room with a breath-taking view over the lagoon. The room is very neat and tidy , with a small balcony.
The hotel is close to all the shops and can give good advice on attractions, places to visit, bicycles to rent. There is a spa inside the hotel , if you wish to treat your better half to a massage , or facial or a manicure or pedicure.
There is a putt-putt course also , as well as a pool.
Unfortunately the hotel does not have a liquor licence, so bring your own wine for lunch.
I would gladly stay at the hotel again in future, but for a longer period.

Room Tip: Tell Jonel, the GM about your needs, she will go out of her way to make sure you have a pleasant stay.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Johann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews