We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location but poor standard”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wilderness Beach Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Wilderness
Larbert, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful location but poor standard”
Reviewed 17 October 2012

This hotel was chosen for us by our tour operator - oops! 3 brilliant hotels and then this. The first room we had to refuse. The air conditioning unit in the corner was falling apart through an open hole in the wall and the room was musty. The second room was just ok, and as it was clean and the bed comfortable we decided not to waste any more holiday but avoided the hotel all day. They are up grading - but as the painter was painting the ceiling beams in the dining room whilst the tables below were set for the next day's breakfast I can't say I was impressed. Staff seemed to lack training. This is not a 4 star hotel by British standard, and an Irish pub is not what we were looking for in South Africa.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aileen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    24
    35
    29
    64
See reviews for
68
54
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Spent 3 nights in Wilderness and loved the beautiful beaches, and lovely views of the ocean from our room. Perfect beach holiday getaway in my opinion. Sure the hotel needs is a bit of tlc but overall, i thought the rooms were spacious and comfortable, the food was excellent and staff were a real delight. I would like to thank Sarah Scot and Hans the gm for being attentive and going the extra mile to please us. Will definitely stop over next time when im in the garden route.

Room Tip: Make sure you get an ocean view room like the ones in the pictures
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanman1541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

The place looks nothing like website. Rooms stink of Sewage. Taps fall off in Bathroom. Sliding door cant close so wind whistles in all the time. Lift out of order. Buffet Breakfast never available and no clean tables to sit at. I could not wait to leave.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Wilderness hotels

South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012 via mobile

The hotel is situated right on the beach, within 50 meters from the N2 highway running between Cape Town an Port Elizabeth, so getting there and away was easy. Given the location, the rates were excellent. Up to 4 people could stay and have breakfast for R 550 (about $70) a night. The rooms are large, and the en- suites offer bath and shower. There is ample parking. The decor is a bit old, but overall thid was good vslue for money.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hardus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

I read some average reviews of this hotel, and booked regardless. Yes the hotel is old, but currently undergoing renovations. The hotel is clean, the rooms are spotless and the view is breathtaking.
For the price, it is possibly the best valued hotel in South Africa.
I will certainly be back!

Room Tip: Try and get a room in the far wing, best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilminster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

We booked a 'handicapped room' from the UK via Hotelclub.

Tried to confirm that we would have a wheelchair friendly room with a rollin shower. Failed to get confirmation before we left. Tried again from Cape Town, failed again.

Our hotel receptionist in Caope Town tried and tried, kept being told there was no-one on duty to help. Then she was told we had stayed there the month before and had left.

I contacted Hotelclub and cancelled. Our hotel receptionist foung us a better hotel at better price.

A week later, we were in Wilderness and drove by. It was in a bad need of repair so we were pleased we were staying elsewhere.

Room Tip: if you are in a wheelchair, avoid
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rochesterhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bielefeld, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 28 August 2012

A wonderfull Hostel, five minutes walk from town, with an beautyfull view on the sea. In the Morning while breackfast you could see the dolphins passing by and playing with the waves,. A clean accomodation, very friendly staff and owner, and an homemade delicious breakfast. Nice fireplace for the evenings, one of those places you hate leaving...

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wiebke112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilderness
2.2 mi away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
667 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
0.9 mi away
Hilltop Country Lodge
Hilltop Country Lodge
#4 of 5 in Wilderness
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Oakhurst Hotel
Oakhurst Hotel
#7 of 9 in George
54 reviews
0.1 mi away
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Wilderness
341 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wilderness Beach Resort & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Beach Hotel

Property: Wilderness Beach Hotel
Address: N 2 Wilderness, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Wilderness Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Wilderness Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing