We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thumbs up”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wilderness Beach Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Wilderness
Reviewed 24 December 2012

I know this hotel from the days it was the holiday inn and was the grand hotel of this area. Obvoiusly it has aged but the current owners are underway with some big renovations and whilst this is underway things are a bit disorganized. However the levels of service have not been compromised and under the management of Vincent Hocking and his team our stay was most pleasant. I will not hesitate to stay again and look forward to the day when all renovations are completed.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
There are newer reviews for Wilderness Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2012

We were booked here because my husband was on a cricket tour.
The hotel looks nothing like the pictures on the net. I expected it to be comfortable at least but it was shockingly run down and neglected.They are under going renovations but to my surprise they even allowing people to stay at a hotel where the workmen are all over.
Our room was on the ground floor,every time the workmen walked past they peered into the room,also the pool has no safety equipment or lifeguards so its not safe with kids.

The room was dingy,the light didn't work,the curtains had holes,the TV wasn't working when we got there,the tea station had no milk sachets,the pillows were lumpy,the room had a horrible smell and so did the bath room,there was a vodka bottle in the cupboard from previous guests,there are no shelves in the cupboards,the bathroom was so small I had difficulty bathing my kids everyday.

The breakfast was pathetic there was nothing provided for vegetarian/halaal at breakfast or on the room service menu,which was even worse because it had nothing that the kids could eat.

When we booked we were charged R 1375 a night and when we got there it was advertised as R650 bed and breakfast when we left they had changed the name to The Pearl of the Wilderness Hotel and the rate was the R850 bed breakfast,their was absolutely no value for money,I hope their renovation is extensive.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank Nasmia Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Unfortunately there are no positive things to say about this hotel. Starting from the moment we arrived there, they asked us to pay for our room, although we already paid at our travel agency and we told them about this. Even after we spoke to our agency (which ensured us again that there is a mistake and we should not pay), they did not show common sense and verify their e-mail where they had our reservation and proof of payment. Our first room was horribly untidy: the window was so dirty that you could not see the sun through it. We asked for another one which had the same problem but we were so sick and tired of fighting with them that we gave up and took it. At breakfast: almost no food (and we were not the last), the staff did not care at all, they were just sitting and chattering all the time. We heard a lot of persons as we were there which complained about the services at this hotel. So please do not chose it!

Room Tip: no room! it's a pity because they do have an amazing ocean view but they are so dirty that no on...
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

This Hotel does not hold what it promises on their website. The rooms are old, the furniture is at least 30 years old and it smells like cigarette smoke everywhere.

We booked the Hotel online but canceled it when we saw the room. The Management did not refund for the deposit we had to Pay in advance although we did not use the room. So very bad service and not very customer friendly.

The Hotel should not be offered to tourists since it is less than youth hostel standard.

Room Tip: Dont book at all.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tifund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights during Knysna rally along with all the rally teams. I'm not sure where to begin to describe the experience. The hotel is undergoing renovations but that still does not give them any excuse for their incompetence. Firstly; my wife and I booked in at 13:00 (Check-in is at 12:00) and we wanted to take a nap but we couldn't because there was stIll cleanIng equIpment on the bed. We had to walk all the way back to receptIon to ask them to remove It and they sImply saId no It should be clean. They dId not do anythIng. While we were sleeping on of the staff members walked into our room without knocking, placed the remote on the TV and walked out without apologising. The staff left trays from room-service in the hallway for 18 hrs, we had to wait for clean towels and the breakfast was appalling. The room was old with holes in the curtains, cigarette burns on the carpet and it smelled dodgy. The list goes on and on...

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hermias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

The hotel is well looked after and provide in general needs. Easy access from all routes from Knysna to George if used for business purpose. Restaurant good, and excellent for conferences etc. Rooms provide in all the necessary.

Room Tip: If you like a view over the swimming pool area, ask for it.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AniaGauteng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

This hotel was chosen for us by our tour operator - oops! 3 brilliant hotels and then this. The first room we had to refuse. The air conditioning unit in the corner was falling apart through an open hole in the wall and the room was musty. The second room was just ok, and as it was clean and the bed comfortable we decided not to waste any more holiday but avoided the hotel all day. They are up grading - but as the painter was painting the ceiling beams in the dining room whilst the tables below were set for the next day's breakfast I can't say I was impressed. Staff seemed to lack training. This is not a 4 star hotel by British standard, and an Irish pub is not what we were looking for in South Africa.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aileen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilderness
2.2 mi away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#3 of 5 in Wilderness
680 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
12.2 mi away
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Oakhurst Hotel
Oakhurst Hotel
#7 of 9 in George
55 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilltop Country Lodge
Hilltop Country Lodge
#4 of 5 in Wilderness
42 reviews
0.1 mi away
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Beach Hotel

Address: N 2 Wilderness, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Wilderness
Price Range: £39 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wilderness Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Wilderness Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing