We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A piece of heaven on earth!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oakhurst Farm Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oakhurst Farm Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Suider Paarl, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A piece of heaven on earth!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

Our family had no option but to declare Oakhurst as our favorite place to holiday! As we opened the bright red door we entered a home away from home, that was beautifully and lovingly prepared for our family! The cottage was absolutely amazing! Sitting on the deck overlooking the forest with a hot cup of coffee, a fire burning in the fire place and the sounds of cows lowing in the distance, is exactly what perfect weekends away, are made of. Claire and the family are just wonderful people who make you feel right at home, their warmth and love of their home translates into every part of one's stay. We also really loved the rich history and story behind Oakhurst. From visiting the little church, watching the cows getting milked, to walking through the forest to the waterfall, we enjoyed every moment of our stay. Thank you Claire and family for allowing us to share in your little piece of "heaven on earth". We would highly recommend Oakhurst to anyone wanting to experience the perfect getaway!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QuentinVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    15
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
86
14
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

We needed to get away from our everyday hustle&bustle and stayed on Oakhurst farm for the weekend with some friends and all i can say is it was food for your soul!
the cottages are beautifully decorated, equipped with everything you might need! My personal highlight was a whole litre of fresh creamy milk straight from the dairy stalls mmmm!!
If you are a bird lover you will love it here - we saw brown hooded kingfishers, so many hoopoes and although we didnt see him, we got woken up by the call of a fish eagle every morning! Its a real pity we couldnt do the trail walk down to waterfall due to weather but DEF next time!
My husband and i will recommend Oakhurst farm cottages to everyone looking to escape to a tranquil getaway!
Thanks Claire, your hospitality makes the place even more special!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngieLuckman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince Albert, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

Dear Claire
Richard and I always like to find "unusual" places to stay and the Forge at Oakhurst Farm tops our list by far! ! Such creativity in keeping the original building and then the add on of the dining area, kitchen, bathroom and lounge area, which ensures that you still experience nature whilst being inside - which is stunning - well done. You have no idea of how much we needed this break away and what you provided did the trick. We were able to "just be' and enjoy the view, peace and quiet as well as the log fire which was the cherry on the top. So well equipped that we wanted for nothing and loved the visits of the dogs and kitty - a real home from home, including the Farm milk and freshly laid eggs.

We loved the forest walk and waterfall as well as exploring your lovely farm - even rode my mountain bike for the 1st time in years.

Wishing you and the family all the very best and may your business continue to grow.

We will definately be back to experience your great hospitality - just need to find the next gap.
Lots of love
Julie and Richard Waterston - Karoo View Cottages Prince Albert

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie53121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

Thanks Claire for a GREAT weekend out.
Definitely the place to go if one needs to get away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life!! i must complement you on how clean and tidy everything inside the cottage is, and how nicely kept the gardens were.

I will definitely come back!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anton W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

Oakhurst is the epitome of a farm getaway. The garden and the surroundings are peaceful and pretty and the cottages are so tastefully decorated with plenty of attention to detail. I actually couldn't find anything "wrong". You are also very close to the village and just a short drive away from the beaches in Wilderness. I would send any of my friends there in a heartbeat! Will be back soon!

Room Tip: The Forge is particularly special!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KellyUrban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

my friend and I stayed for 2 nights at the Oakhurst cottage and were welcomed like family by the Crowther family when we arrived. i wish i had stayed longer!!! the cows mooing in the morning reminded me so much of my home in Switzerland :-) Thanks Claire and Family for a wonderful stay!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Champagnole, France
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013

We stayed for 4 days in the cottage on the farm and we have just loved our stay. The location is perfect, quiet in the middle of a milk farm. You can walk or cycle just in the farm. It's very close to the George, The Wilderness NP and Knysa so pefect base to visit the Garden Route. The best of course is the family hosting you, Claire, Jake and their 3 girls are just fantastic. They will do everything they can to make your stay perfect. If you fancy mountain biking, this is the place for you as Claire & Jake are passionate about mountain biking and you have great trails starting from the farm.
The cottages are very well equipped and you can make fire both inside and outside.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Djmilien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
3.2 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
3.0 mi away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
3.0 mi away
Boardwalk Lodge
Boardwalk Lodge
#2 of 35 in Wilderness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
7 Passes Tented Camp
7 Passes Tented Camp
#4 of 35 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Old Trading Post
The Old Trading Post
#20 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
2.7 mi away
Beach Villa Wilderness
Beach Villa Wilderness
#3 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakhurst Farm Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakhurst Farm Cottages

Property: Oakhurst Farm Cottages
Address: Hoekwil, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Oakhurst Farm Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 150 year old stone cottage was one of the first building to be built at Oakhurst and today is the main bedroom, with thick stone walls and exposed timber beams. The living area wraps around the cottage and is made up of a dining area, equipped kitchen with gas stove and cosy lounge area. The entire side of the building can be opened up, by way of canvas roller blinds to maximise the spectacular forest views from here.The Forge sleeps two in a double bed, with two extra kiddies beds on a mezzanine in the loft. A central log fireplace takes the chill away during the Garden Route winters. The open-air shower and bathroom offer the same breathtaking views onto the forest fringe.Each cottage is privately positioned and fully set up for self-catering, with a well equipped kitchen and cozy living area with wooden floors. The living are in turn opens out onto a large wooden deck and braai area. This is the spot where you can either enjoy a good meal around the large wooden table or simply enjoy some of Oakhurst’s fine mountain air while getting stuck into a good book.Each cottage has three bedrooms (One double and two twins) and sleeps up to 6 people. There is a central bathroom with shower. Garden Route winters can be cold, and a fire roaring in the kitchen’s woodburning stove sets the perfect atmosphere for farm winters.Ideal for families, a group of friends or even larger groups ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Oakhurst Farm Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing