We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Oakhurst Farm Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We stayed at Oakhurst for 3 nights and enjoyed our time. Lovely cottages with a great veranda for nice evenings with braai and a wonderful starlit sky. The cottages are spacious and well equipped. We really loved the fresh farm milk and the homemade yoghurt.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank hereandthere2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2014

Had an amazing time at Oakhurst Cottages! My children hooked up with the next cottage's children and they explored the farm on their bikes all day. We made lovely memories and felt very safe to let our children go off on their own a little. Cottages are gorgeous with great attention to the finer details! Thank you Clare and family.

Room Tip: cottage no. 5 was on the end!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

This is one of those rare gems that you want to tell everyone about, but still scared to share as it is so special. Claire's attention to detail is amazing and to enjoy a early morning coffee with n book on the lovely stoep as been a highlight. Having seen many different cottages and hotels during my travels...this has been one of the best. Special thanks to the hosts for creating such an amazing getaway.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Antoinette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire C, Owner at Oakhurst Farm Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Thank you for all the positive feedback. I am so happy you enjoyed the stay and that you had some peace and quiet Antoinette. Being a hard working mom you deserved the peace that Oakhurst could offer . Glad you found some time to kick back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We are a typical suburban family and this is our ideal get-away from the everyday rush! The beautiful outdoors combined with homely accommodation with a lot of personal touches - such as a X-mas tree and home-made cookies and milk. Will be back!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MRitter_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire C, Owner at Oakhurst Farm Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Its not difficult to keep you four happy, you really enjoy what Oakhurst has to offer. You have been a few times and you love the place so much, lovely to see you all walking and the kids on their bikes...thats what makes my job so great!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

This was our second stay at Oakhurst Farm Cottages and what a special time we had. The cottages are beautifully decorated and fitted, and they are perfectly situated looking into the forest. Crisp white linen and comfy beds :) Our kids loved riding their bikes on the farm to the active dairy, picnicked in the forest, swam in the rock pool and played on the jungle gyms. And the fishing in the dam on their kayak was great for "boy bonding". Claire and her family's hospitality was great.....we got fresh milk and yoghurt everyday. The walk to the waterfall was also stunning. So much to do and yet we could also just enjoy the nature with a good book. Close enough to the hustle and bustle of Wilderness and the beaches etc but we could go back to the tranquility of the farm too :) We will definitely go again :)

Room Tip: All the cottages are great :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OdetteLambrechts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed 5 days at Oakhurst farm and was really disappointed that we did not make it for 10 days. The hosts, Claire and Jake, were a perfect combination of hospitality and efficiency and made the stay even more worth while. The cottages are well maintained and located in front of a natural bush with brilliant beauty. We were blessed with wonderful weather and took advantage of the copious wood supply and enjoyed glorious evenings outside.

Perfect place to experience the beauty of nature in the comfort of well maintained cottages and friendly people.

A must for all who need to get some proper rest, peace and quite.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riaan_Lombard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We had the most amazing time staying at the Oakhurst Cottages! It is beyond beautiful!
The interior in the cottages is well thought off, very functional and so tasteful!
We cycled, walked and picknicked in the forest. This was very special and my two boys got the change to milk a cow and watch how every worked on the farm. It was peaceful, beautiful and ... PERFECT!! Claire was so friendly and we felt at home from day one- will definately be back!

Room Tip: Cant go wrong - plenty space at the cottages sleeping 6 or the Forge that sleeps 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trienkie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
2.2 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
2.0 mi away
Boardwalk Lodge
Boardwalk Lodge
#4 of 40 in Wilderness
257 reviews
4.3 mi away
7 Passes Tented Camp
7 Passes Tented Camp
#5 of 40 in Wilderness
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
374 reviews
1.6 mi away
Beach Villa Wilderness
Beach Villa Wilderness
#3 of 59 in Wilderness
322 reviews
1.4 mi away
Moontide Guest House
Moontide Guest House
#5 of 59 in Wilderness
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakhurst Farm Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakhurst Farm Cottages

Address: Hoekwil, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 40 Speciality Lodging in Wilderness
Price Range: £54 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oakhurst Farm Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 150 year old stone cottage was one of the first building to be built at Oakhurst and today is the main bedroom, with thick stone walls and exposed timber beams. The living area wraps around the cottage and is made up of a dining area, equipped kitchen with gas stove and cosy lounge area. The entire side of the building can be opened up, by way of canvas roller blinds to maximise the spectacular forest views from here.The Forge sleeps two in a double bed, with two extra kiddies beds on a mezzanine in the loft. A central log fireplace takes the chill away during the Garden Route winters. The open-air shower and bathroom offer the same breathtaking views onto the forest fringe.Each cottage is privately positioned and fully set up for self-catering, with a well equipped kitchen and cozy living area with wooden floors. The living are in turn opens out onto a large wooden deck and braai area. This is the spot where you can either enjoy a good meal around the large wooden table or simply enjoy some of Oakhurst’s fine mountain air while getting stuck into a good book.Each cottage has three bedrooms (One double and two twins) and sleeps up to 6 people. There is a central bathroom with shower. Garden Route winters can be cold, and a fire roaring in the kitchen’s woodburning stove sets the perfect atmosphere for farm winters.Ideal for families, a group of friends or even larger groups ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Oakhurst Farm Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing