We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!”
Review of Dune Guest Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dune Guest Lodge
Ranked #4 of 56 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed 29 January 2012

"Could our stay even be better then last times?" was the question on our mind. Well it was! We had a more than excellent time with Gary but also with the other guest during breakfast. We are memorizing great hospitality, humor and the oceanview.

Then we have not even started discussing the breakfast itself. We loved it, fresh fruits, pancakes and the homebaked bread. Then there are the rooms and the sound of the ocean, it is relaxing while sitting on the deck.

If you are into golf it is perfect, all championship courses are in the direct area (Pezula, Oubaai, Fancourt, Pinnacle Point and George). Scores can be shared at the breakfast table and Gary will coach you trough a bad day of play. In our case this was 'ofcourse' not needed as their where only winners these days...

If you are not into golf, then there is Wilderness with nature, farmers markets and really good restaurants. Ask Gary for excellent advise. All in all it is not a one day stop at the Dunes Guest lodge as you can see.

We regret leaving, but we'll be back!

Room Tip: All rooms are up to par. Can't go wrong whatever you choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monique_en_Arjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    355
    42
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
93
247
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

We had a great time here on our recent trip along the Garden Route. As others have said, the location of this guest house is amazing. It is literally on the beach and with fantastic panoramic views of the sea. Because it is on the dune, and not accessible directly from the main road, the beach you walk down to is very quiet and effecitvely your own.

Our room (Beach) was the best we stayed in for the whole of our holiday. Split level with deck, and those amazing views. It was tastefully furnished and very spacious.

So why not 5 stars? Well, although the location is great, the service for us didn't live up to some of the other places we stayed at. There were a few issues and Gary seemed a bit quiet and not as approachable or engaging as others we met on our trip. Nonetheless, we had a brilliant time here and would happily have stayed a lot longer.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bbtraveller23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

The setting is spectacular; perched on the dune running the length of the beach, from your comfortable sun lounger you can see miles of wild beach and dolphins surfing. In a word, this guest house is very cool. You'll receive the kind of attention to detail you'd expect from a boutique hotel, yet the prices are very reasonable. We really got our money's worth; what a pleasure.

Room Tip: Africa Room has a back garden as well as the patio looking onto the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HugelyHFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

we have stayed at Dune Guest Lodge twice and found the accommodation stunning, the rooms were really beautiful and exrtremely well appointed. The view from the bedroom was outstanding, we were able to whale watch from bed! Lovely breakfast and a warm welcome. Will definitely revisit.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We stayed for two nights and had one of the best stays of our great SA holiday. Gary is a great host in this quiet lodge. We enjoyed the magnificent breakfasts and had two rooms on ground floor level above the beach.

Impeccably clean, this place is somewhere we have got to go back to. Wilderness itself has a great feel, and we really loved our stay. I can still close my eyes and hear the crash of the waves, and the great show put on by whales playing in front of our balconies.

Room Tip: Got to be ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 394Peter_JD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

The Dune is in possibly the best location in Wildnerness, right on the beach. We couldn't get enough of the view of the ocean, it really is mesmorising! The guest lodge is beautifully decorated in a beach-house style with huge rooms (ours was more of a 1 bed flat than a hotel room with a kitchen/living room downstairs and a bedroom upstairs) kitted out with everything you could possibly need. The room led straight out onto a private deck area overlooking the beach and we took full advantage of walks on the sand after breakfast every morning. The breakfasts are delicious (and huge again) with platters of frest fruit, pancakes as well as cooked food. Gary (the owner) was very friendly and gave us plenty of tips for places to visit and where to eat in Wilderness in the evening (we went out of season but still had a great time, try the Pomodoro in the village for yummy pizzas). This really must be one of the best guest lodges in the whole of South Africa!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2011

Wilderness itself is a wonderful place and we were lucky to choose a perfect guest house there. The owners were very friendly and helpful , breakfast was delicious and big (pancakes, fruits, yogurts , eggs , sausages) and was very good decorated, our room was beautiful with a huge bathroom! We really enjoyed our stay and were very sorry to leave it.
Ocean in Wilderness was warmer than in Knysna and we spent the hole day swimming ! ( don't know why, these places are really close to each other). We saw a lot of dolphins from our balcony-terrace.
Definitely will stay in "Die Dune" again and longer!!!
And one more advise - visit for dinner "The Girls" ( or girls). Don't be afraid of it's location, food and atmosphere is fantastic!!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Olga_M0sc0w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
0.8 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
0.8 mi away
On the Beach Wilderness
On the Beach Wilderness
#3 of 56 in Wilderness
236 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wilderness Manor Guest House
Wilderness Manor Guest House
#1 of 56 in Wilderness
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Haus am Strand - On the Beach
0.3 mi away
Beach Villa Wilderness
Beach Villa Wilderness
#2 of 56 in Wilderness
280 reviews
0.1 mi away
Xanadu Guest Villa
Xanadu Guest Villa
#8 of 56 in Wilderness
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dune Guest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dune Guest Lodge

Property: Dune Guest Lodge
Address: 31 Die Duin, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dune Guest Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Wilderness Beach, one of the world's most beautiful beaches, with spectacular views of the Indian Ocean, the Dune Guest Lodge provides a rare taste of paradise. Our guest lodge is a refreshingly informal beach house, with direct access to the endless Wilderness Beach. Whales and dolphins can be viewed directly from your private sundeck, or from the deck at the poolside where our private swimming pool sparkles invitingly in the warm sunshine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Dune Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dune Guest Hotel Wilderness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing